We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
30
36
11
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
36
11
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jazz theme the main railway station romantic weekend high ceilings cold cuts great location tea and coffee minute walk boutique hotel breakfast was excellent yogurt reception staff central location furniture noise ac europe
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2017

On arrival, was initially disappointed with room. In need of simple cosmetic touches (e.g. some bits of wallpaper coming away). We asked for a room change for next day, but after a nights sleep we cancelled changed. Reception staff more than made up for misgivings. Hotel kept spotlessly clean throughout. Breakfast room was lovely, as were staff. Food quality and range was top notch. Although the hotel was quite central, noise was never an issue.

Room Tip: Ask to see room first
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Alistair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cottonhousebudapest, Front Office Manager at Cotton House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear Ally,

thank you for your nice feedback.
We are truly pleased to hear that you have very much enjoyed your stay at Cotton House Budapest.
We hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.

Kind regards,
The Cotton Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

We try and choose quirky hotels over chains, and this quiet hotel off a main high street didn't disappoint, It has a warm charm that wins you over despite its occasional lack of modern facilities you might expect - such as air conditioning, or tea and coffee in the room. Our room was a good size, with old furniture and features such as an antique brass phone.
It definitely wasn't the best room we stayed in during our travels, but it was worth it for the charm. Big windows open out onto a quiet street, and keep out the noise of the busy city just round the corner.
Breakfast was in a really beautifully designed cellar, soft jazz playing in the background, and attentive staff. The buffet had plenty of choice and was constantly being cared for by the staff.
The Reception staff were young but very helpful and friendly.
A great choice of hotel if you're not obsessed with having all the mod cons.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cottonhousebudapest, Front Office Manager at Cotton House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Dear Lisa,

we would like to thank you for sharing your positive thoughts with us. It means a lot to us to know that you loved everything about our hotel.
We are glad that you were satisfied with our friendly staff and buffet breakfast and that you liked the hotel’s other services as well.
Thank you again for the positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
The Cotton Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

I really liked this hotel. It's small, intimate and the staff are very helpful and friendly.
The decor is brilliant - I loved the 20s theme.
It's situated very close to everything - I saved a lot of money not needing to take a taxi. I walked everywhere!

The only downside is the temperature of the room. There was no AC, so I felt a little stuffy in the night.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Adeola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cottonhousebudapest, Front Office Manager at Cotton House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Dear Adeola,

thank you for sharing such nice comments. We do have AC and the staff is always happy to show you how it works. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our product and our services and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
The Cotton Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

The Cotton House is situated only about 200 metres from the main railway station in Budapest. Many of the main attractions of Budapest are within an easy 10-15 minute walk and there's good access to the metro and tram system. The hotel is a new renovation using the theme of the famous old "The Cotton Club" jazz concert venue of New York. The rooms are decorated right out of the 1930's and are compact rather than small. Breakfast is one of the better ones in a boutique hotel... full buffet of cereals, continental pastries, cheeses and meats, eggs and bacon. There was even champagne for those willing! We found the hotel staff helpful and courteous. They are planning to host jazz concerts in the future. There are many cafes, bars and restaurants in the vicinity as well.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

We were delighted on first arriving at this location. Everything was clean and tidy and the staff very helpful. The room was comfortable and the bathroom excellent. The ambiance of the twenties and thirties decor was most interesting and relaxing. The breakfast could have been a little more varied but in fairness there weren't too many guests whilst we were there. It was not far to stroll to some interesting venues which helps when you get older! We're looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews