We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Building, Positive Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Ranked #28 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed for three nights at the Boscolo with my partner this month and was, ultimately, satisfied that our booking was money well spent.

The building is striking and the internal architecture is astonishingly opulent, with gilded furnishings and period features throughout. It features a central courtyard, with a bar and the New York Cafe at the bottom, alongside reception and the concierge. Accommodation is situated on upper floors, leading towards a vaunted glass ceiling, which provides fantastic natural light.

The hotel is near Andrassy Utca and is located in a busy shopping and drinking area. Although not slap bang in the middle of the Inner City, and perhaps a 25 minute walk from Parliament and St. Istvan's Basillca, the proximity to Andrassy means you are well connected, and the Jewish quarter with its ruin pubs are nearby too.

Our classic room was spacious, well lit and tastefully decorated. The duvan bed features two very large single mattresses pushed together, creating a very large bed, but also a central dip towards which one gravitates in the night. This isn't really a problem, but worth noting. It was nevertheless very comfortable, and the linen was high quality, clean and warm.

The rest of the room was very clean and pleasantly put together, with an attractive, modern chandelier acting as the centre piece. The bathroom was sizeable, with a shower and a bath. The view left a little to be desired, but this is more indicative of the building location than poor planning - there really isn't much on the street worth staring at with starry eyes.

Service was usually prompt and friendly, and all staff were engaging, attentive and keen to help.

In terms of areas for improvement:

- The minibar is very well stocked, but very expensive, even accounting for the standard minibar markup. 5 Euro for a 250ml bottle of Coca Cola is very steep.

- The inclusion of service charges could be better advertised. Tipping is firmly part of the culture of Budapest, but there is no one consistent approach when it comes to bills across the city. In some places, it is fully discretionary (even if socially encouraged); others, the 12% and 15% tip rate is suggested at the bottom of the bill; others, service is automatically included. At Boscolo, bills come with an automatic and generous service charge. Not a huge problem, but when you are charging to your room and simply signing paperwork, it is easy to overlook. We tipped bar staff throughout our stay, but did not realise that we had effectively already tipped them as soon as paid our bill. Given the prices at the bar, this set us back more than we anticipated.

- Housekeeping is perhaps a little disorganised. Our housekeeper routinely arrived too early in the morning for us, and was demonstrably irritated that we weren't out of our room by 9:30am. Toilet paper was not replaced either, which was a little worrying towards the end.

All in all, it's a lovely hotel but with the odd little niggle.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoscoloResidence_GM, Direttore generale at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago


Dear Guest Tom M,

thank you very much for your stay at the Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, and your review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate very much your detailed feedback about your positive experience for your partner and you at the Boscolo Budapest.
We will share your concerns regarding the housekeeping service, the minibar prices and the service charge with our Executive Housekeeper and your F&B manager for further considerations and improvements. Thank you for the final conclusion to be a lovely hotel.

The Budapest Spring Festival from 30th March to 22nd April 2018, a cultural extravaganza, opens this long awaited season in Budapest . During the Budapest Spring Festival, more than 100 events await visitors across 40 of the city’s key cultural establishments with orchestra concerts, jazz performances, theater shows, exhibitions, family-friendly activities and more. The 2018 edition of the event highlights a duo of historic composers, Franz Liszt and Leonard Bernstein, a perfect reason to return to Budapest the pearl of the Danube.

We thank you again for your important feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you to the Boscolo Budapest soon again.

Kind regards,

Oliver Hutten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 3,666 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One of the most beautiful hotels and cafes I have ever been! Low prices!
Beautiful spacious room, quality cosmetics and mini bar!
The Michelin star saloon is perfect, small, elegant, profesional stuff and low prices! Dishes were amazing!
Cafe New York has live music and an imperial atmosphere! Great dishes and serving!
Breakfast was good!
Go to Boscolo Autograph Budapest even for architecture and art!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dana Elena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoscoloResidence_GM, Direttore generale at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest Dana Elena N,

thank you very much for your stay at the Boscolo Budapest and your review on TripAdvisor.

We love your comment, dream place, amazing dishes, architecture and art, imperial atmosphere, all this is
your Boscolo Budapest and we thank you a lot of your great feedback and will share your ourstanding feedback among
our staff.

The Budapest Spring Festival from 30th March to 22nd April 2018, a cultural extravaganza, opens this long awaited season in Budapest . During the Budapest Spring Festival, more than 100 events await visitors across 40 of the city’s key cultural establishments with orchestra concerts, jazz performances, theater shows, exhibitions, family-friendly activities and more. The 2018 edition of the event highlights a duo of historic composers, Franz Liszt and Leonard Bernstein, a perfect reason to return to Budapest the pearl of the Danube.

We thank you again for your important feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you to the Boscolo Budapest soon again.

Kind regards,

Oliver Hutten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here with friends. The reception area, hall is very impressive, elegant with a nice design. They offer very good service inc.spa. Breakfast was fantastic. Room and bed was very comfortable, but some parts might need to renovated soon.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Krisztian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoscoloResidence_GM, Direttore generale at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest Krisztian M,

thank you very much for your stay at the Boscolo Budapest and your review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your great feedback and are glad that you and your friends were pleased with our services and the unique beauty
of the former New York Palace. We will take your feedback in consideration for further improvements.

The Budapest Spring Festival from 30th March to 22nd April 2018, a cultural extravaganza, opens this long awaited season in Budapest . During the Budapest Spring Festival, more than 100 events await visitors across 40 of the city’s key cultural establishments with orchestra concerts, jazz performances, theater shows, exhibitions, family-friendly activities and more. The 2018 edition of the event highlights a duo of historic composers, Franz Liszt and Leonard Bernstein, a perfect reason to return to Budapest the pearl of the Danube.

We thank you again for your important feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you to the Boscolo Budapest soon again.

Kind regards,

Oliver Hutten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is grand and was beautifully decorated with Christmas decorations. Service was great and setting for breakfast was amazing. Only fault was the air con in our room couldn't be adjusted which meant dry throats and skin. Even with cold temperatures we had the window open.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Twhitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoscoloResidence_GM, Direttore generale at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest Twhitta,

thank you very much for your stay at the Boscolo Budapest and your review on TripAdvisor.

We apologize very much for the inconvience with our heating system. We informed the maintenance department to check and ensure a better quality service. We are glad to hear how much you were pleased with our Christmas decoration, the breakfast and our services.

The Budapest Spring Festival from 30th March to 22nd April 2018, a cultural extravaganza, opens this long awaited season in Budapest . During the Budapest Spring Festival, more than 100 events await visitors across 40 of the city’s key cultural establishments with orchestra concerts, jazz performances, theater shows, exhibitions, family-friendly activities and more. The 2018 edition of the event highlights a duo of historic composers, Franz Liszt and Leonard Bernstein, a perfect reason to return to Budapest the pearl of the Danube.

We thank you again for your important feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you to the Boscolo Budapest soon again.

Kind regards,

Oliver Hutten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel room very good big bed good size bathroom very clean the breakfast is very special But the spa is a bit of a letdown some of the things didn't work correctly staff was very helpful and tried to sort it out overall this is a very classy hotel and if you going today you won't be disappointed

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoscoloResidence_GM, Direttore generale at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Pickett,

thank you very much for your stay at the Boscolo Budapest and your review on TripAdvisor.

It is our great pleasure that you enjoyed the large bed room size, the bed comfort and the breakfast in the beautiful New York Cafe.
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our spa and will follow up with the spa manager.

The Budapest Spring Festival from 30th March to 22nd April 2018, a cultural extravaganza, opens this long awaited season in Budapest . During the Budapest Spring Festival, more than 100 events await visitors across 40 of the city’s key cultural establishments with orchestra concerts, jazz performances, theater shows, exhibitions, family-friendly activities and more. The 2018 edition of the event highlights a duo of historic composers, Franz Liszt and Leonard Bernstein, a perfect reason to return to Budapest the pearl of the Danube.

We thank you again for your important feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you to the Boscolo Budapest soon again.

Kind regards,

Oliver Hutten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#19 of 336 in Budapest
7,625 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
5,039 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#44 of 336 in Budapest
4,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Address: Erzsebet korut 9-11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#24 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: S$200 - S$511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 5-star luxury when staying in the gorgeous Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection. Our contemporary hotel is one of the most grand luxury hotels in Budapest, Hungary. It offers proximity to some of the Budapest area' best attractions, including Chain Bridge, Great Synagogue, and Vaci Utca. We invite you to stay with us and visit our serene indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, full service spa, and impeccable restaurants during your visit to Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection Hotel Budapest
Hotel Boscolo New York Palace
New York Palace Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing