We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hungarian food and service! ”

Soul Cafe and Restaurant
Ranked #233 of 3,658 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

A must visit restaurant if you want a traditional Hungarian meal in the heart of the city. I would recommend the glouash and chicken paprika, which were both value for money and very filling. Overall the food was delicious.
The waiter was attentive and answered any questions we had about Hungarian cuisine. He was also happy to help my friend with her coin collection!

Thank Angela-Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PM_QualityManagement, Vezető at Soul Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Dear Angela-Maria C,

Thank you for visiting our Soul Café & Restaurant during your recent visit in Budapest.
It is wonderful that you had a nice experience in our lovely place and that you were impressed by the world-famous Hungarian cuisine, especially by the chicken paprikash and the goulash soup.
Furthermore, thank you for your compliments on the attentive service provided by our waiters, please be ensured that your nice words will be forwarded to them.
Overall, it was a pleasure to be at your service and we hope to see you again at our restaurant.

Best wishes,
Soul Café & Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2018

We visited during Jan 2018. The food was very fancy and overpriced in my book. We wanted to get up during the menu review but we decided to give it a try. It was as we expected too fancy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mograbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Soul Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Mograbi,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your remarkable opinion with us about Soul Café and Restaurant here, on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to read that you found our restaurant expensive, but we would like you to know that we always serve the highest quality of everything, so that’s why the prices a little bit higher than the average.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you give us another chance one day to impress you.

All the best,
Soul Café Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

My partner and I ate here based on previous reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed.

To start, my partner had foie gras and I had the Camembert, both of which were delicious and portion sizes were very generous. For mains, we had the knuckle of pork and due to other reviewers recommendations, the beef cheeks with gnocchi- again, absolutely delicious. I also had a couple of mojitos which were very nice. Unfortunately, we were too stuffed to order dessert but they too looked amazing!
Service was very good and the waiters were polite and efficient. Food was slightly more expensive than other places nearby but the quality made up for it and it was still very good value for what we had.

We were lucky enough to walk in and get one of the few remaining tables. We saw other couples come in and be turned away so I would recommend booking in advance. We would definitely return here when next in Budapest.

Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Soul Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Mel C,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us so kindly. We are beyond happy to receive the maximum rating from such an experienced guest. Reading your precise review is a outstanding, and extremely helpful to our team.

We are absolutely pleased to read that you were satisfied with the food we served. We would like you to know that our chefs prepare every dish with passion and attention and it is not surprising that they only work with qualitative ingredients. Moreover, we are happy you were so satisfied with our service. Our team is always kind and helpful to our guests. There is no request which can’t be solved. We work for our guest’s absolute satisfaction.

All in all, it was really heart-warming to read your kind words, also for that you recommend us. Whenever you decide to visit our city again, don’t hesitate to come back to us for the same quality dishes and service, we will wait for you!

Kind regards,
Soul Café Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

Just stopped for a glas of red but realized that price level was in the high end when I was going to order, first and last time.

Thank Anders R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Soul Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Dear Anders R,

First and foremost, we would like to express our most sincere gratitude towards you for not regretting your precious time to write down your opinion about us.

We are sorry to read that you found our restaurant expensive, but we would like you to know that we always serve the highest quality of everything, so that’s why the prices a little bit higher than the average.

We would be truly honoured if you gave us a second chance, we will commit everything to provide your perfect comfort.

Kind regards,
Soul Café Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

A very warm welcome,the food and service could not be faulted.This was more than I had expected from having read the trip advisor reviews which although good,in my opinion did not fully do justice to this restaurant,the ambience was excellent,the menu comprehensive and has stated before the food and service were excellent.

Thank maddensk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Soul Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear maddensk,

For a start, allow us to express our most sincere gratitude to you for not regretting your time to write down and share your kind words with us on TripAdvisor. It is always great to receive such positive feedbacks like yours!

It pleases us greatly that our restaurant could measure up to you. It is nice to see that we could pleasantly surprise you with the quality of the food we served as well as our service that our wonderful staff provided.Moreover, it is an absolutely outstanding feeling to receive a compliment of our meals and the staff’s work at the same time.

Thank you once again for your kind words and high rating. We would be thrilled if you chose us again in the nearest future, we cannot wait to see you soon!

Kind regards,
Soul Café Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soul Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Soul Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing