We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Sometimes it has a concerts

It is a good place to visit when the place has music concerts. We been there in moment like this... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2018
ivankhoooo
,
St. Petersburg, Russia
via mobile
Danse Macabre!!!

Even if the museum was totally empty and possessed only a single item on display - Danse Macabre by... read more

Reviewed 2 October 2018
tal-elmar
,
Ukraine
Read all 343 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Tallinn
from US$28.90
More Info
from US$80.00
More Info
from US$90.00
More Info
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
165
124
45
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
124
45
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews religious art danse macabre former church st nicholas church altar piece on display silver collection reflective glass alter pieces nice gift shop bombing raids outstanding collection religious services no flash concert hall organ music lovely church
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2017

On approach we had a terrific vista of the white tower soaring heavenwards. The former St Nicholas Church, believed to have its origins in the early 13th century, was restored in the 1980s after its destruction in the second world war.

The exhibitions of religious art are very good, having numerous priceless materials and artifacts. These include exquisite altarpieces, gorgeous chandeliers and superlative silver works.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank permia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

I visited various churches while I was in Tallinn, and the Niguliste Church was easily my favourite, very beautiful, and was very well presented for tourists. I would definitely recommend it! The altarpieces are excellent, and the Danse Macabre is an absolute must-see!

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank emilyce32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

There are 2 structures that carry the same name: the Russian Orthodox church by this same name is located at the other end of Old Town from this St. Nicholas church which is now a museum. The Russian church is kind of a pink color and was built in the 1800's.

The differences are more pronounced. The "other" St. Nicholas began its life as a medieval church built in the 1200's and it is located in south Old Town (opposite side from the Russian church). Melting lead and pouring it into the locks to the church stopped marauding Protestant hordes from destroying the church's venerated treasures during the 1500's. It was the only church to escape the fate all others suffered.

Between 1944 (WWII) damage and a fire in 1882, the church (post-restoration) began life as a museum when, in 1984, it was "inaugerated" (read that to mean "repurposed") as something other than a consecrated church. It is a museum and a concert hall. The museum displays (mostly medieval) religious art and related historical memorabilia.

There is a fee for entry but there is a lot to see before going into the museum. Time is a hard taskmaster and we tourists never seem to have enough of it.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank on_the_go_98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This church puts many important elemensts of Estonian history into perspective. Established on the 13th century. I recommend to do a quick search with google about this place before the visit. Today you will see, on top of the great building, a comprehensive collection of religious art from the 15th and 16th century. The church is today a museum and a venue for e.g. concerts. Most importantly, this church is an evidence of the persistency of the people who have lived and live in Estonia. The church was destroyed in 1944 by the Russians but the Estonian people re-built it. To get into the mood to face the medieval history of Estonia and Tallinn, I recomment to read a masterpiece. Jaan Kross: "Das Leben des Balthasar Rüssow".

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank seppoilmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

I have no words to describe this incredible church - museum! We went there by accident and it turned to be the best thing we did in Tallinn. I was absolutely in love with this beautiful medieval church! It's a must see in town! Strongly recommend place for all the history and architecture lovers! The entry ticket is not expensive, it is only 2 euros. But the impression after the visit is really good!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank maktub0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews