We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
53
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmiguelcenturyestatedetailsfurniturebedlimahouse
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2018

As the title suggests, i found home from home when i am in Portugal.We have been traveling here for 5 months straight and for the past 3 months we have stayed at this beautiful Hotel! It is completely new and built on a family property, the name of the hotel (Vitorino) is in fact the family! There is so much history here and so glad the family who owns the land decided to recuperate what was just ruins and made it in this beautiful house. The house is a Manor with wonderfully kept and sometimes created features. So there are really modern elements (like bathrooms and elevator) and more classic details. a lot of the furniture is also part of the family history and what was recuperated by the family themselves. The rooms are cosy and the beds are extremely comfortable! The hotel is spotless and love the shower! I have stayed in two kind of rooms, the rooms in the house , which revery classic and the ones outside the manor which are converted horse stables! They have been done so well, completely delightful!

The grounds are awesome and very big and there is a pool with a new restaurant /bar, on the pool being opened , which i have not tried as it has been cold , so looking forward to the summer splash!
The grounds are magnificent , quiet and green all around and you just occasionally hear a cow or a horse; imagine waking up with the sounds of nature? The garden is beautiful and well manicured though i had no time to really enjoy it as i spent most of the time inside because of the weather.

The best part of the hotel however is its staff! The people are are the kindest ever! Not only have they made us feel completely welcome and looked after all the time, we have honestly created a relationship with them. They also accommodate my dietary requirements as vegan and i am so grateful because the food is always amazing!

I traveled the world and stayed in many places that were pretty cool, but honesty, none felt so wonderful! I would recommend it hands down. So if you visit Ponte de Lima treat yourself to a true experience!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chant13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPVitorino2016, Gerente at Hotel Paco de Vitorino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you so much for the kind words.
We know you'll be back soon ..
See you later ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

A great place to stay. The staff is very friendly and hellpfull.
The rooms are large but allthough cosy.We enjoyed every minute!!!
We stayed in a very quiet area but yet close to Ponte de
Lima and other places to visit.
Thanks for having us!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ala do Campo rooms.Very nice, clean, the beds are from a high quality.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sabien1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPVitorino2016, Gerente at Hotel Paco de Vitorino, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words.
It was a pleasure to have you here and look forward to your next visit ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

The hotel preserves the history of the family who lived in it for generations, since the Portuguese age of discoveries, with stories of an Inca princess married by an ancestor and brought back to Portugal, and a fire that burned most of it during a revolution. The lower floor of the house is nothing short of a museum, with an elevated pathway over the building's early 13(?)th century roots, ancient olive and wine presses, and tapestries. It sits on the banks of the Lima river, 15 minutes from beautiful Ponte de Lima, and the rooms are gorgeous. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: In the main house, only one room has an original (free standing) bathtub from the building
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yoav2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPVitorino2016, Gerente at Hotel Paco de Vitorino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words.
We sincerely hope you come back with more time.
See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

How does it feel to visit paradise? I know after four days at the Hotel Paço de Vitorino. In my 70 years, I have stayed in hotels around the world ranging from no stars (fifty cents a night in Peru in the 1970s) to five (more than $750 a night in Riyadh), but never in a place as charming and unique as this historic property in Ponte de Lima in northern Portugal. You should visit their excellent website, but you really won't understand unless you go there and experience firsthand the warm hospitality provided by the dedicated team of talented people (Many thanks to Miguel, Rosario, Paula, and Filipe!) that Clara Coutinho has recruited to her team there. Do you know anyone who wants to plan a destination wedding? I can't imagine a better location? Want to escape the maddening crowds? You'll be able to forget all your worries as you sit poolside after a lovely walk along the Lima River or an exploration of the gardens and fountains of this amazing estate first built in the 16th century. Like me, you may not wish to leave the hotel, but there are so many wonderful places to visit nearby such as Braga, Guimarães, Viana do Castelo. You can even zip into Spain within an hour's drive. Everything about this hotel is wonderful, and I was reluctant to depart. I am already planning to return to this paradise next year with my wife. She'll love it as I do.

Room Tip: All the rooms are splendid, but I enjoyed staying in the Main House.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DawgOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPVitorino2016, Gerente at Hotel Paco de Vitorino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thank you very much for your words and especially for the kindness you have shown us during your stay. See you soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

This is a manor house hotel, set in a rural location. You cannot be anything but at peace with the world whilst staying here.
The staff are second to none and they are genuinely warm, friendly and welcoming and they want you to have a good stay.
The rooms are large and very comfortable, plus you can retire to one of the lounges to sink into the furniture with a great glass of wine.
Breakfast comprises of ham, cheeses, fresh breads, cereals, fruit, pastries and much, much more, again in wonderful surroundings.
Whatever I say will not do this hotel justice, so book in and enjoy! Then you will understand where I'm coming from.

I will be going back and I have been telling my friends to go as well.

Room Tip: No need they are all good
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews