We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
232
97
17
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
97
17
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor third floor undercover parking rooms are large square supermarket one night no lift helpful owners superb location would definitely stay here again great view king bed comfortable room within walking distance friendly welcome shops and restaurants new zealand
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

The only thing I regret about the Criterion is that I just booked a single night - there's so much more the hotel and this area can offer. A stunning view of a beautiful bay, 50m to the quay, a selection of shops and restaurants just a stone's throw away... I could go on. However my favourite was the fact we were downstairs; other rooms may have a slightly better view, but we had direct access via the patio door to the front - a millionaire's veranda at a fraction of the price! Many thanks to the informed and friendly staff too....

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank IanGBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelicityandMurray, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hi Ian
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Our ground floor sea view room is terrific in that it offers a great view of the harbor, disabled access and you are not having to carry heavy bags upstairs.
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Felicity

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our visit here. Pleasant host showed us to our room which was on top floor with a harbour view. Would recommend asking for sea view therefore when you book, as we did. There were no vacancies on the two nights we were there so it’s obviously popular. Large room with comfortable bed, settee and armchair facing the view from window and even extra patio chairs and table to put on balcony. Several cafes very close...right next door to popular bakery/cafe and the I site. Would certainly recommend!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank traveller2148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelicityandMurray, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hi
Thank you for taking the time review your stay with us and we are glad your stay was pleasurable.
We have a very busy holiday season from December through to April and it does pay to book ahead.
I love showing people to their rooms as they are so spacious and it does give you a chance to really relax and enjoy all that Akaroa has to offer.
Thanks again.
Kind regards
Felicity

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

Superb location. Friendly hosts. Very clean and presentable accommodation.Great size rooms with a fantastic balcony looking out at the spectacular 'million dollar views".Cannot recommend more highly.We have stayed a number of times and the quality remains consistently high.

Room tip: Avoid the Council bin collection morning (Monday's) as you will be subject to three visits starting in the very early hours of the morning.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tigersChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelicityandMurray, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We really appreciate your return visits and are very pleased that again you had an enjoyable stay.
Look forward to seeing you again in the not to distant future.
Kind regards
Felicity and Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

Very warm welcome. Spacious room with thoughtful details added. Our room was at the side but we still had a beautiful view across Akaroa harbour. Walking distance to the lovely centre. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MICHAEL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelicityandMurray, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to meeting you again should you return to Akaroa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

We had such an amazing stay at the Criterion. The owners were so helpful and made us feel like locals, offering advise of what to do and where to go. We had to switch rooms with our booking which was done with ease so we didn't have to leave our bags anywhere. They made sure our new room was cleaned first so we could easily transfer and get on with our day. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gladssr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelicityandMurray, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are please you enjoyed your stay with us and we take pride ensuring that you have a great experience. We look forward to meeting you again should you ever return to Akaroa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews