We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good for $5” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Picton Museum

Picton Museum
Ranked #14 of 31 things to do in Picton
Attraction details
Northland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good for $5”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Cool history of the area. I am a Kiwi and thought it was ok. We had time to kill before the ferry. Overseas visitors might think it quaint :o) Some great maori pieces on display.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pachewychomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    21
    6
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
308 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Interesting escape from the rain.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

This is a well-maintained and comprehensive museum. The staff-member on duty was most welcoming and well-informed. As it was pouring rain, we spent over an hour inside learning about Picton.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst museum i have ever been to”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

The Worst museum and also the most expensive museum we have ever been to, it resembled a garage sale. The staff were also very rude.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great local history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Having spent holidays in Picton with my grandparents from 1946 until about 1958, I was able to see photographs of my great great grandparents who were early settlers here. Peter is a great historian and knew almost everyone I had known there as a child. Thank you for your time. Your museum just gets better and better.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shantung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Not enough information about all the people in the photographs e.g. the kind of lives they had led.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lindyfarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Picton Museum also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Picton Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing