We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Portage Resort Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Picton
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on our final night of walking the Queen Charlotte track.
Our arrival was not helped by the fact that our bags had not arrived by water taxi. The manager told us that it was our fault for not having them put out that morning, when in fact we had them out by 7am. Perhaps they could have sorted this out before we arrived, or offered us a cold beer while they tracked them down.
Room decor dated but ok, the entire place looked tired and run-down.
TV in our room didnt work, the shower was low pressure and on a stifling night the window didnt open.
Other guests close by, and above us, were very noisy.
Trip information offered early bar meals, but we were only offered fine dining. Menu didnt really make best use of local produce with a $38 butter chicken setting the scene for slightly disappointing value for money.
Breakfast was expensive but adequate.
Overall this place had a Fawlty Towers feel to it, though Basil and Manuel appear to try hard to provide pretty good service.
The offer of a van ride up the road to re-start our walk was much appreciated!
We wouldnt return or recommend unless this place was refreshed and revitalised.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MargAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2017

after walking too many kilometres in a day we came across the portage resort which was a great relief to be able to put our feet up and have a full rest day after the queen charlotte walk /trek day 3
the resort needs some work but we were so well looked after by the manager who was simply awesome
he fixed by boots which had lost their sole on the last part of the walk which plumber silicon and orange tape so successfully they ( the boots) made it for the last 21 kms without falling apart
he couldn't have done more for us and the food particularly the mussels were excellent
a days break there was exactly what we needed and the manager the irishman made it all happen ...he was a star and the highlight of all the great service we received in New Zealand
Australia should take lessons from their Kiwi brothers on how to look after tourists

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at The Portage Resort hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious, especially fish and chips and the quesadilla. Nice bay with a great view! Perfect spot to relax and very calm.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank travelbee1684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

There is not a lot of choice out here so beggars can't be choosers. This spot allowed us to drive some of the sounds and take in the sights. It's also about 700 m off the Queen Charlotte trail so we walked a portion of the trail (out and back for us) and we were able to get a water tour, too. We enjoyed our time but don't be fooled by "resort" in the name of the hotel.

We ate in the dining room one night and found the food to be pretty tasteless.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank drjandthemissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Myself & my husband have had a meal here & tonight did not disapoint. I had the lamb which just melted im my mouth, hubby had the delicious pasta. Dessert just topped it off. Mike & Ram are the most friendly hosts & do an amazing job of running this very busy restaurant & resort. Although we have never stayed we highly reccommend a meal it never disappoints.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
7.8 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
10.4 km away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
10.4 km away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
340 reviews
10.5 km away
Harbour View Motel Picton
12.4 km away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portage Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portage Resort Hotel

Address: 2923 Kenepuru Road | Picton, Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Peppers Portage)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Picton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range: $182 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portage Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base yourself at THE PORTAGE and experience the best Marlborough has to offer. We are an ideal 2 or 3 night stay so that you can enjoy winery tours in and around Blenheim and Picton, cruising the Marlborough Sounds, walking New Zealand's famous Queen Charlotte Track, wildlife eco tours, or sea kayaking , fishing and sailing on Kenepuru Sound. Let us know your favourite adventure activity when you book and we'll arrange it for you. Food options range from quality restaurant dining featuring seafood to a cafe overlooking the spectacular Sounds view. Located 10 minutes walk from the acclaimed Queen Charlotte Track, THE PORTAGE offers a selection of accommodation from our premium Kowhai suites to two story villas and hillside sea view rooms as well as a few budget rooms. THE PORTAGE RESORT HOTEL's central location in Marlborough makes it easy to reach from all over New Zealand. Access is easy - its only 15 minutes from Picton by boat or 1.25 hours by road. Blenheim Airport has multiple flights from the major cities of Auckland, Wellington or Christchurch, every day. THE PORTAGE is your Marlborough accommodation base to explore the magic of the Marlborough Sounds on the south island of New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Portage Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portage Hotel Picton
Portage Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing