We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
US$320
US$228
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
78
11
0
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
11
0
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmango treestudying spanishwonderful hostslobsterhome away from homelocation is greatthree nightsroof terracesoncookcentrecasacuba
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2016

I stayed with Mario and Damaris during my 2012 backpacking trip with my two friends Omar and Guillermo and it was the highlight of our vacation. Mario and Damaris's casa particular was very clean, comfortable and well kept. They offered us exquisite breakfast and dinner everyday and helped us with our laundry for a small and reasonable fee. Since my stay I always recomend people visit Trinidad and stay with Mario and Damaris, you should too.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quasad, Public Relations Manager at Casa Mario y Damaris, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Thank very much for you review about us, the best for you and we hope you can come back to Cuba soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015

Room is excellent, the bathroom is very small special the shower but everything functions properly and we had warm water. Everything is clean. The owners are very kind and for a small fee they wash your laundry. Gerrit en Wilma (via Djoser)

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank anoniem870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quasad, Public Relations Manager at Casa Mario y Damaris, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2015

thank you very much for your comment back soon and best for you and your family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Mario is the funniest, kindest and great-to-know Host in Trinidad. We not only got a room, but we also got to chat with a very interesting local Cuban, Mario and Damaris will provide every need you need and do it with a good mood and a kind attitude. Mario, un gran saludo de Hernan y Maria :-)

Room Tip: Get a room near the Terrace, it is Great!
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hernan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quasad, Public Relations Manager at Casa Mario y Damaris, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2015

thank you very much for your comment, it is a pleasure to read how are you things about us, I wish to come back and stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

I spent a week in June at Casa Mario Y Damaris while I was in Trinidad studying Spanish. Mario and Damaris are wonderful hosts and very special people. They make you feel totally at home in their beautiful casa. The house has a beautiful gardens and the pleasure of eating a magnificent (and slightly over the top) breakfast under the mango trees while hummingbirds float by is immense. Mario is a great cook and makes the best Lobster dinners in Trinidad. They are both a great source of information about Trinidad and can set up tours, spanish lessons, bicycles--almost anything. The casa is located away from the Tourist centre (Plaza Mayor) of Trinidad and near to the square that is the heart of the everyday life of Trinidad. I would strongly recommend a stay here if you are going to Trinidad.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spbsfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quasad, Public Relations Manager at Casa Mario y Damaris, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2015

Thank you very much for your comments, we are pleased to know that you have a good time with us in your vacation in Trinidad, I hope it you will return again your visit as soon as possible. Thanks for everything

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2015

Stayed for two nights in Casa Mario y Damaris and it was our first stop on our Cuban journey. It proved to be a great first stop and I recommend this casa highly. In terms of Cuban Casas it's definitely one of the good ones. Also excellent value for money when you eat and drink in this casa.

The location is great, the building itself is a nice casa with a roof terrace and outdoor eating which was very nice. The room we stayed in was ok, beds provided good enough sleep, bathroom small but functional. Overall the room did its job, only down side was the noisy air conditioning unit.

The real highlight of this casa is Mario (the owner), his personality and great cooking. His cooking was probably some of the best we had in Cuba.
Our Spanish was limited to what is contained in the back of a lonely planet guide book but this did not stop Mario engaging with us and we plenty of craic with him through broken English and Spanish.

Overall Casa Mario y Damaris is a great place, and our experience was made by Mario who is a great host and a great character.

Stay here and if you've a bit of Spanish to talk with Mario your stay will be even better.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ciarán Ó
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quasad, Public Relations Manager at Casa Mario y Damaris, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2015

Thank you very much for your comment, thanks for everything, it is true that we should do something to rave at least English but Mario and Damaris are too old to learn, but still have someone to help as an interpreter when necessary while Mario will remain a real character to serve them when you come

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews