We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$320
US$228
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotels.com
View Deal
Hotels.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
3
20
19
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
20
19
17
16
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2017

We took our 8th graders to Cuba this year, and when I was reading the Trip Advisor reviews of this place, I was worried — I shouldn't have been! The bungalow-style rooms are clean and comfortable, with working AC and a mini-fridge. I'm not sure what people are expecting — you won't get luxury, and the linens etc. might be old, but they are clean and functional, which is all you need. There was plenty of room to roam — the kids picked star fruit and coconuts from the trees and were able to eat them — and it's safe, too. The breakfast buffet is extensive and very good. The staff were kind and accommodating.

It's the Caribbean — you are going to see things like lizards and spiders and other bugs. That's just par for the course. I was well impressed with Finca Ma' Dolores.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank phillytravelersaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCHTC, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Finca Ma' Dolores, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Customer phillytravelersaj

We thank you for taking your valuable time in leaving your opinion about the services received in our hotel on Tripadvisor,
Thank you for leaving us your considerations, which we thank you very much and more if they are positive, we will take them into account to improve our work and make your stay an unbeatable positive experience.
In advance, we urge you to return to our facility because you felt so comfortable.
Sincerely
Jessika Ma Echemendia Zuniga
Public Relations Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

spent two nights here, in a 'deluxe' cabin. we were greeted by a couple of small lizards in the room. no big deal, I was able to get one out of the room, but the other two hid behind some of the furniture. on the first morning we found a frog or a toad in the bathroom, which was less pleasant. i asked one of the groundkeepers to get it out, and his solution was to squish it under his boot. that's one way of solving it I guess, which is rather ironic when you see big signs all over the place of preserving nature etc. the shower had no pressure at all, it reminded me of a dripping faucet. only had breakfast here, which was pretty basic. trinidad itself is a very short taxi ride away, circa 2KM.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ruudv100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCHTC, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Finca Ma' Dolores, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017
Google Translation

Estimado cliente:

Ante todo agradecemos que tomara su tiempo en dejar su opinión acerca de nuestro hotel en el Tripadvisor, sírvase de retroalimentación y medidor de nuestros servicios.

Lamentamos los incidentes con los animalitos en su habitación como lagartijas y sapos, el lugar donde se encuentra el hotel es totalmente campestre y muy cerca a las márgenes del río Guaurabo por ende es propicio a que algunos convivan en las habitaciones pero son totalmente inofensivos para la salud. Se han tomado notas de las deficiencias para discutirlas con el personal específicamente la manera de echar esos animalitos de su habitación, no es correcta en adsoluto. Buscamos la manera que no ocurra este tipo de incidente.

Espero pueda darnos una segunda oportunidad para que pueda cambiar de parecer y así poder fidelizar su estancia.

Un saludo afectuoso,

Yatkima M. Cosme
Especialista de Relaciones Públicas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

This is simply one of the worst places I have ever stayed . We arrived here after a 5 day jungle trek and it was hugely disappointing. The place is filthy and the standard rooms incredibly basic . Some of the rooms had no running water or flushing toilets . The food is tolerable but basic . Some members of staff were frankly quite rude whilst others did try harder to be helpful . The pool and poolside area was in a very poor state . This is not somewhere for anyone other than back packers used to such basic conditions .

Stayed: November 2016
Thank alisongeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCHTC, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Finca Ma' Dolores, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016
Google Translation

Estimada cliente:

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, para nosotros su opinión es importantísima, sírvase de retroalimentación; no dude que la tendremos en consideración.

Cada comentario es de gran ayuda para tomar acciones necesarias y poder mejorar nuestros servicios. Se analizará con los departamentos involucrados los servicios deficientes que nos cuenta.

Desearíamos contar con su confianza otra vez y darle nuevamente la bienvenida en el Hotel Horizontes Ma Dolores en Trinidad. A la espera de esta ocasión aprovechamos para mandarle un cordial saludo,

Atentamente,

Yatkima M. Cosme
Especialista de Relaciones Públicas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

The layout of this place is nice if you prefer to stay in separate bungalow style rooms. If you are interested in a rustic setting, it can hold some appeal. But that is soon lost.
The rooms were very large and at first glance seemed impressive. Closer inspection of the room showed stained sheets and towels that have seen better days and now look old and dingy. I really didn't want to touch anything as it all felt dirty. The bathroom was near to difficult to get into as the tub has high sides, no skid-proofing and the shower head had to be held in the hand while taking a shower.
The A/c unit in the room was near to the ground, blocked by one of the beds, and made the most awful racket. It also didn't blow cool air for more than an hour at a time. Consequently the room was HOT!! Especially in the afternoon.
Breakfast was buffet style in the open-style dining room and had the most pitiful looking dogs. Not good for early morning digestion. At all.
I ventured out to the pool on the last day to see what it was like.....not inviting in the least. *ugh*
Luckily my group stayed there for only two night. But I feel like it was two night too many.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCHTC, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Finca Ma' Dolores, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016
Google Translation

Estimada Sra Beverly G:

Ante todo nos disculpamos por responder a su opinión con días de retraso y agradecemos tomara su tiempo para escribirnos su opinión que para nosotros es de gran valor, este es un espacio de retroalimentación para conocer que afecta a nuestros clientes y trabajar en base a mejorar los servicios y/o saber que le gusta y perfeccionar estos. Nos hace feliz que le agradara el entorno, la idea es que nuestros clientes se familiaricen con la vida campestre, la naturaleza, la fauna ... y lograr un espacio de relajamiento.
Lamentamos que tuviera problemas en su habitación, con el avituallamiento,
la unidad de aire acondicionado...le pedimos nuestra más sincera disculpa por las molestia ocasionadas, se está trabajando en nuevas mejoras y el equipo de servicios técnicos garantizará el mantenimiento adecuado en las habitaciones.

Esperamos que si vuelve a Trinidad repita su visita y poder fidelizar su estancia como cliente repitente.

Saludos afectuosos,

Yatkima M. Cosme
Especialista de Relaciones Públicas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016

The accommodation at this hotel is in good sized cabins that are nicely decorated and well furnished. Poor maintenance is an issue here with almost every light switch and electric socket hanging off the wall, loose curtain rails and a sliding door to the balcony that was almost impossible to close. The room had twin beds which were poorly positioned, one right in front of the elderly air conditioning unit and the other partially blocking the bathroom door. The buffet breakfast and dinner were both OK rather than outstanding, and staff were very poor at replenishing the buffet. This must have been a very nice hotel when it opened but neglect has left it below average even by Cuban standards.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike-Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCHTC, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Finca Ma' Dolores, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016
Google Translation

Estimado Sr Mike-Bucks:

Ante todo nos disculpamos por responder a su opinión con tiempo de retraso y agradecemos tomara su tiempo para escribirnos su opinión de gran valor para nosotros, este es un espacio de retroalimentación para conocer que afecta a nuestros clientes y trabajar en base a mejorar los servicios y perfeccionarlos.
Hemos analizado cuidadosamente cada detalle que nos comenta que afectó su estancia y se han tomado medidas al respecto.
Lamentamos que tuviera problemas en su habitación, le pedimos nuestra más sincera disculpa por las molestia ocasionadas, se está trabajando en nuevas mejoras y el equipo de servicios técnicos garantizará el mantenimiento adecuado en las habitaciones.

Esperamos que si vuelve a Trinidad repita su visita y poder fidelizar su estancia como cliente repitente.

Saludos afectuosos,

Yatkima M. Cosme
Especialista de Relaciones Públicas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews