We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorite museums in DC!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Portrait Gallery

National Portrait Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$73.75*
and up
Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight...
Ranked #16 of 418 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Visitors can view the portraits of all the U.S. presidents.
Aldie, Virginia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“One of my favorite museums in DC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Reasons I love it:

*The presidential portraits are great, especially Lincoln and Eisenhower. And it is interesting to see how the styles of paintings changed (the painting of Carter is very 1980s, and James Polk kind of looks like Mel Gibson--who would have thought?)

*The Courtyard Cafe is a good place to stop and rest--it is an indoor courtyard with a glass ceiling and the food is great (especially the coffee and the hot chocolate).

*The HUGE Bierstadt painting "Among the Sierra Nevada." Make it a point to find it.

*The museum is off the beaten path and not as crowded.

*It is within easy walking distance to good restaurants (Jaleo, Zola, Oyamel, Cafe Atlantico).

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank SwissMiss24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,687
    558
    85
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
180 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Love the two museum combo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is an easy museum to just roam. For this weekend trip we actually went twice. I like flowing through two connected museums.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ManyMilesStill2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really neat -guided tours are even better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

If you can snag a tour with a curator (on occasion), these are totally worth making a special trip. The curator tour I attended gave some background to the modern portraits that was interesting and provided depth I didn't realize from a casual perusal.

Helpful?
Thank cgflea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwestern New Jersey
Level Contributor
111 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“favorite national museum after visiting all of them over many years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

The National Portrait Gallery and American Art Museum is off the Mall, at Gallery Place, large and easily accessible. When we are in town for the weekend and looking for a place to spend the afternoon, this is our default choice. Both the permanent collections and the special exhibits are excellent. The building itself is wonderful. And the neighborhood has many excellent choices for lunch to accompany your visit - our favorite is Gordon Biersch in an old impressive-looking bank right across the street.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EmptyNesterMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A favorite museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Great size, always inspirational. My favorite museum!

Helpful?
1 Thank ama_4327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Portrait Gallery also viewed

 

Been to National Portrait Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing