We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat "home" away from home”
Review of DuPont Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
DuPont Place
Ranked #23 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 February 2015

DuPont Place is a three floor building with eight "boutique-style studio" rooms. It is very conveniently located in/near the Dupont Circle neighborhood. This is not a hotel because there is no on-site staff and no dining room, etc. Once you have made a reservation (I did it through < Airbnb.com > but there is also a < DuPont PlaceDC.com > web site.) you are provided a code to gain access to the building and another code to gain access to your room. My room (#4) was very comfortable with a good bed, couch, table for two, bathroom, and a kitchenette with small fridge, microwave, coffer maker, coffee/tea, sink, etc. My room had three large windows as well. The building is at the corner of 19th Street and Florida Avenue, NW and I was concerned about the possibility of traffic noise. However, I did not find this to be a problem and the noise was effectively muted (not silent). I was there during a bitter cold spell but my room was well heated. Unlike some heating/air conditioning units in many hotels, this one was quiet, not noisy even though it was running constantly. There was plenty of resource material in the room for Washington newcomers/tourists. While there is a flat screen TV, there are no directions for how to operate it and I tried various combinations on the remote without ever getting the TV to work. The room comes with free wi-fi and while it seemed slow to me, maybe it was me (using Chromebook). The bathroom is small but modern and quite adequate, though I wondered why there was no soap dish in the shower and no clothes hook in the bathroom. There is no closet in the room, but there is a small sort of chifferobe (only four hangers) and a strange apparatus in the corner with various pegs where clothes can be hung. If you are going to bring a lot of clothes, you'll probably be living out of your suitcase. Would I choose to stay here again? Yes. I liked the privacy, the ability to come and go as I liked without having to deal with housekeeping or other staff, and the general comfort of the room. It didn't bother me that there was no maid service each day and in fact for three days I never made up the bed. DuPont Place is only about a block from a very large Hilton and I treated myself by walking there each morning for a sumptuous breakfast (but there are many dining options in the area).

Room Tip: I don't know about other rooms. I can only promise a room as good as the one I stayed in if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Hayes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte P, General Manager at DuPont Place, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Dear M Hayes,

Thank you for staying at DuPont Place, we appreciate you taking the time to write a long and thoughtful review of your home-away-from-home in Washington DC.

Your feedback is valuable to us. Thanks to your comments we are ordering a large supply of coat hangers, and installing hooks on the backs of the bathroom doors. I apologize that housekeeping missed placing soap in the shower, that is standard procedure. We have recently ordered a large supply of luxe lemon verbena soap to always have on hand.

The rooms have a compact wardrobe with hangers and drawers plus (thanks to the comments from another guest) a versatile coat rack with adjustable pegs for longer items. All rooms also have a luggage rack for those who prefer to live out of their suitcase. :-)

We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the Spring and Summer. We have a private back patio where you can read or work at our bistro tables while enjoying a mug of your in-room Keurig coffee. We also have a lovely patio on the side of the Inn where you can soak up some rays while watching the residents of DuPont Circle going about their day. Next week a hair salon will be opening on the ground level, be sure to ask about discounts for our DuPont Place guests.

With kind regards,
Charlotte Perry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2014

Customer service was not high on the list of activities the owner chose to demonstrate during my recent visit. We arrived late, as prearranged and mutually agreed. The room was a shambles! As we learned the next day, the owner had made a few extra dollars by accepting a last minute, one night booking for the night prior to our arrival. We called the owner upon making discovery of the dirty room, with linens scattered about and musty odor in the air. While he lives only a short distance away, he would not be bothered to come and tend to his responsibilities. Instead, he insisted the only way to get through the night was that we must find linens in the laundry room and make the bed. He sent flowers and refunded one night of our week long stay the next day. Inadequate performance, inadequate compensation and a generally poor demonstration of care and concern for guests.

Room Tip: Room #3 fronts the back alley, sports a mild mildew odor and is occasionally visited by very large c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank akjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte P, Manager at DuPont Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2014

Dear James,

We apologize that your colleague Cori arrived to find an apartment that was not clean at DuPont Place. This was a very rare occurrence, which happened simply because we veered from our 3 night minimum policy in order to help out a regular client. While making exceptions to assist regular clientele is good business, we were distressed to learn that when Cori arrived 2 days later, we had missed the post departure cleaning. In addition to disappointing your colleague Cori (and you) as a guest, we failed to meet our own standard of excellence. We take this very seriously and have thoroughly reexamined the way we coordinate guest departure cleanings and arrivals, and have taken multiple steps to ensure this does not happen again.
We thank Cori for being so gracious about the lapse at the time and offering to just change the sheets on her own that night. She was also very thankful for the flower arrangement and Starbucks gift card we delivered the following morning in addition to the professional cleaning and full night refund.

We would love to earn your business back and hope that you will try DuPont Place again.
All the Best,

Charlotte Perry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2014

This was our first experience at a VRBO lodging. Overall it was a good experience. The room though small was clean, comfortable and well appointed. The location was wonderful, a couple of blocks off of Connecticut Avenue north of Dupont Circle. An easy walk from the Dupont Circle Metro Station. The first night started rough, however, when the smoke detector began beeping at 4:00 am. Removing the bad battery did not stop it, a quick trip to the nearby Rite Aid and a new battery took care of the problem. City street noise and some noisy neighbors made for a restless night. The difficulties of staying in lodging without an on site manager became obvious. The hotel ran out of coffee, the message was that they were waiting for a shipment. Don't understand why they couldn't go the the store and get some more Keurig cups to supply the residents but not a big issue. Plenty of restaurants, clubs, and shops in the area. Overall a positive experience and one I would be willing to repeat.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mjb19532014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte P, General Manager at DuPont Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write, we really appreciate the feedback. You bring up good points and we will take steps to avoid these "hicups" in service in the future. All batteries in the building will be swapped out now every January so we do not have to worry about chirping alarms again. We will increase our onsite inventory for coffee capsules, we were busier than expected this October, and the shipment was delayed with Columbus Day. If it happens again, we'll pick up capsules at Safeway to tide us over.

We would be delighted to host you again on a future visit to Washington, come visit us again. A small but excellent restaurant will be going into our space on the ground floor this winter as an additional amenity to our guests.

Charlotte P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Everything about this stay was positive even prior to the trip. There was a very high of communication and booking was easy. I worked closely with Kevin and he is very professional. It was a great day overall and fantastic neighborhood. It took me approximately seven minutes to walk to the metro and I loved it because you walk through the heart of Dupont Circle.
It is also extremely close to Adams Morgan which is a fun neighborhood. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte P, General Manager at DuPont Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write. The reasons you cite for loving DuPont Place are the same reasons that convinced us to buy the building and convert it to short-stays for professionals traveling to Washington.
We would be delighted to host you again on a future visit to Washington. In the meantime let your friends and colleagues know about us. :-)
Charlotte P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This room was cozy and comfortable. The description was totally accurate and instructions provided before arrival were very helpful. Everything was clean and well stocked; access was easy. I would stay here again and can honestly recommend it to others.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank laineym13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte P, General Manager at DuPont Place, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you Lainey for sharing your experiences at DuPont Place. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in Washington, DC's Dupont Circle neighborhood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
3,288 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#42 of 142 in Washington DC
1,181 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#30 of 142 in Washington DC
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taft Bridge Inn
#12 of 35 in Washington DC
340 reviews
Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle
#17 of 35 in Washington DC
54 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DuPont Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DuPont Place

Address: 1905 19th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-1204 (Formerly Gallery Inn Hotel)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range: $183 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DuPont Place we pride ourselves in providing a positive guest experience that will ensure your visit to Washington is a memorable one. We have an inviting landscaped patio with tables and chairs where guests can plan their excursions or relax after a long day of sightseeing or business meetings. Above all, we want our guests to remember DuPont Place as a pleasant, comfortable home away from home while visiting with us. "Best kept secret in DC...It was wonderful." DuPont Place has 3 types of studios; we have 4 studios with a queen bed, 2 loft studios with a queen bed in the loft and and a convertible sofa in the living area, and 2 large studios with a queen bed and a convertible sofa. Our studios accommodate 1 to 2 guests in a queen bed, the larger units can accommodate an additional 1 to 2 guests on the convertible sofa. A. AMENITIES: They feature modern decor and thoughtful amenities throughout including granite-countered kitchenette with Keurig coffeemaker, microwave oven, and mini-refrigerator and a beautifully tiled bathroom with contemporary vanity. • Great DuPont Circle / Adams Morgan location • Stylishly furnished • Kitchenette (microwave oven/coffeemaker/mini-refrigerator/toaster) • High-speed WIFI • Wall-mounted TV with cable service • IPhone docking station/clock/radio • Linens, towels, place settings • Guest laundry facility • Key-less entry • Beautiful outdoor patio with seating • Limited private parking (additional fee) B. TRANSPORTATION: You won't need a car with the great access to public transit from this location, but if you do have one we have parking spots available for $20/night (please book in advance!). Car share and bike share programs parked around the neighborhood for your convenience in getting from point A to B. You can rent by the hour, for that trip to the grocery store, or by the day so you can venture out to see Monticello or Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your DuPont Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallery Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing