We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Studio was spacious and central”
Review of DuPont Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
DuPont Place
Ranked #23 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 September 2015

The room was exactly as advertised, it was exactly what we needed. We had access to laundry facilities at no extra charge and parking as a small additional fee. They were very well organized and stayed in contact with us - solving any issues we had very quickly. It was in walking distance of several subway lines and great restaurants were nearby. I would definitely stay there again. I even got my hair done at the salon in the building :)

Room Tip: I had the basement / ground floor unit - it was quiet and tucked away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank rmmc07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte P, Manager at DuPont Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2016

Dear RMMC,

Thank you for your stay at DuPont Place and thank you for taking the time to write a glowing review. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in our Nation's Capitol.

All the best,
Charlotte P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2015

Studio 4 met all our needs perfectly - the very nice appointed kitchenette was especially surprising.The furniture and bed were very comfortable. Enjoyed the outdoor patio for coffee/drinks - felt a part of the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank 430franh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte P, Manager at DuPont Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Dear Duluthians,
Thank you for staying with us at DuPont Place and for taking the time to leave a review. I am very glad to hear that you took full advantage of our well-appointed kitchenette, we did our best to anticipate guest needs for simple meals.

Our lovely tree-shaded patio is a welcome bonus this time of year. It is indeed a great place to relax in the shade with a coffee/tea and watch the neighbors pass by.

We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again at DuPont Place, in the meantime we would be delighted to welcome your visiting friends and family.
Best,
Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2015

The apartment is located on a fairly quiet, mostly residential street, and yet within 7 minutes (walking), you are at the metro station or can find a plethora of great cafes, restaurants, bars, etc. It is a studio apartment with a modest kitchenette, good-sized bathroom, and 2nd floor loft space with queen size bed. The couch/futon folds out to a comfortable bed as well. There is even a small table and chairs. While it's a compact space, the 3 of us didn't feel crowded. It was great for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte P, Manager at DuPont Place, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2015

Karen,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience staying at DuPont Place, we are delighted to hear that it was a 5* experience all the way around.
We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you and your fellow travelers again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

We liked the convience of the location, which is near Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan. We would not recommend the place, because of the street noise and the need to keep shades drawn for privacy. Perhaps unity above street level would be an improvement.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank N8150MJdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte P, Manager at DuPont Place, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2015

Hello MJDavid,
Thank you for your stay at DuPont Place and for leaving a review.

For future reference the studios facing the back of the building are indeed quieter, these would be studios 3, 6 and 9. As for the blinds, the units facing Florida Avenue have new shades that open both bottom up and top down. Lowering from the top allows light in while affording you privacy. We swapped out our existing blinds based on guest feedback similar to yours. It seems that we need to take the additional step of informing our guest that the blinds open top down as well.

Again, we appreciate the feedback, it is always helpful in fine-tuning our guest services.
Charlotte
Manager, DuPont Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2015

DuPont Place is a three floor building with eight "boutique-style studio" rooms. It is very conveniently located in/near the Dupont Circle neighborhood. This is not a hotel because there is no on-site staff and no dining room, etc. Once you have made a reservation (I did it through < Airbnb.com > but there is also a < DuPont PlaceDC.com > web site.) you are provided a code to gain access to the building and another code to gain access to your room. My room (#4) was very comfortable with a good bed, couch, table for two, bathroom, and a kitchenette with small fridge, microwave, coffer maker, coffee/tea, sink, etc. My room had three large windows as well. The building is at the corner of 19th Street and Florida Avenue, NW and I was concerned about the possibility of traffic noise. However, I did not find this to be a problem and the noise was effectively muted (not silent). I was there during a bitter cold spell but my room was well heated. Unlike some heating/air conditioning units in many hotels, this one was quiet, not noisy even though it was running constantly. There was plenty of resource material in the room for Washington newcomers/tourists. While there is a flat screen TV, there are no directions for how to operate it and I tried various combinations on the remote without ever getting the TV to work. The room comes with free wi-fi and while it seemed slow to me, maybe it was me (using Chromebook). The bathroom is small but modern and quite adequate, though I wondered why there was no soap dish in the shower and no clothes hook in the bathroom. There is no closet in the room, but there is a small sort of chifferobe (only four hangers) and a strange apparatus in the corner with various pegs where clothes can be hung. If you are going to bring a lot of clothes, you'll probably be living out of your suitcase. Would I choose to stay here again? Yes. I liked the privacy, the ability to come and go as I liked without having to deal with housekeeping or other staff, and the general comfort of the room. It didn't bother me that there was no maid service each day and in fact for three days I never made up the bed. DuPont Place is only about a block from a very large Hilton and I treated myself by walking there each morning for a sumptuous breakfast (but there are many dining options in the area).

Room Tip: I don't know about other rooms. I can only promise a room as good as the one I stayed in if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Hayes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte P, General Manager at DuPont Place, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Dear M Hayes,

Thank you for staying at DuPont Place, we appreciate you taking the time to write a long and thoughtful review of your home-away-from-home in Washington DC.

Your feedback is valuable to us. Thanks to your comments we are ordering a large supply of coat hangers, and installing hooks on the backs of the bathroom doors. I apologize that housekeeping missed placing soap in the shower, that is standard procedure. We have recently ordered a large supply of luxe lemon verbena soap to always have on hand.

The rooms have a compact wardrobe with hangers and drawers plus (thanks to the comments from another guest) a versatile coat rack with adjustable pegs for longer items. All rooms also have a luggage rack for those who prefer to live out of their suitcase. :-)

We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the Spring and Summer. We have a private back patio where you can read or work at our bistro tables while enjoying a mug of your in-room Keurig coffee. We also have a lovely patio on the side of the Inn where you can soak up some rays while watching the residents of DuPont Circle going about their day. Next week a hair salon will be opening on the ground level, be sure to ask about discounts for our DuPont Place guests.

With kind regards,
Charlotte Perry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,290 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#42 of 142 in Washington DC
1,182 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#33 of 142 in Washington DC
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taft Bridge Inn
#12 of 35 in Washington DC
340 reviews
Adams Morgan
Adam's Inn
Adam's Inn
#8 of 35 in Washington DC
677 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#9 of 142 in Washington DC
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DuPont Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DuPont Place

Address: 1905 19th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-1204 (Formerly Gallery Inn Hotel)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range: $183 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DuPont Place we pride ourselves in providing a positive guest experience that will ensure your visit to Washington is a memorable one. We have an inviting landscaped patio with tables and chairs where guests can plan their excursions or relax after a long day of sightseeing or business meetings. Above all, we want our guests to remember DuPont Place as a pleasant, comfortable home away from home while visiting with us. "Best kept secret in DC...It was wonderful." DuPont Place has 3 types of studios; we have 4 studios with a queen bed, 2 loft studios with a queen bed in the loft and and a convertible sofa in the living area, and 2 large studios with a queen bed and a convertible sofa. Our studios accommodate 1 to 2 guests in a queen bed, the larger units can accommodate an additional 1 to 2 guests on the convertible sofa. A. AMENITIES: They feature modern decor and thoughtful amenities throughout including granite-countered kitchenette with Keurig coffeemaker, microwave oven, and mini-refrigerator and a beautifully tiled bathroom with contemporary vanity. • Great DuPont Circle / Adams Morgan location • Stylishly furnished • Kitchenette (microwave oven/coffeemaker/mini-refrigerator/toaster) • High-speed WIFI • Wall-mounted TV with cable service • IPhone docking station/clock/radio • Linens, towels, place settings • Guest laundry facility • Key-less entry • Beautiful outdoor patio with seating • Limited private parking (additional fee) B. TRANSPORTATION: You won't need a car with the great access to public transit from this location, but if you do have one we have parking spots available for $20/night (please book in advance!). Car share and bike share programs parked around the neighborhood for your convenience in getting from point A to B. You can rent by the hour, for that trip to the grocery store, or by the day so you can venture out to see Monticello or Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your DuPont Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallery Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing