We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our new home away-from-home in DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #6 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our new home away-from-home in DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Last minute pleasure trip to DC: Booked the Ritz, near Georgetown, through Amex. I wasn't sure at booking of the location but IT WAS PERFECT. Quiet area, short stroll to Georgetown, quiet and relaxed. Beautiful, spotless room, WONDERFUL staff, complimentary car service, close to BEST restaurants, nice bar. Maybe we'll try the Four Seasons, but we loved the Ritz, will be a hard sell to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgio6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    80
    26
    9
    7
See reviews for
148
111
23
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed here with a group of family and friends right before Christmas and they really do a great job creating a great family experience at this time of the year. They did a scavenger hunt during the day for the kids and made smores by the fire in the evening (of course they were on a crustini).
The lobby is very intimate with a real wood roaring fire and a Christmas tree.
The rooms were large and very nice.
This is blocks from the heart of Georgetown so it was nice to walk around and explore the shops and to get a bite to eat.
I plan on coming back next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1foodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
384 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

This hotel was quite different from what I had expected, but in a good way. The decor is very understated and perfectly fitting with its quaint Georgetown location. It is perfectly located from the main shopping street and, by car, we were downtown and near the museums in 10 minutes. The staff was friendly and rooms nice, especially the elegant bathrooms. One tiny complaint is the fact that the breakfast is not a buffet, which would have been expected at such an establishment, and the menu is not that expansive. Further, we were given a room in a part of the building accessible only by crossing an outdoor courtyard, which felt a bit weird. One more thing, but this could just have been me, the pillows were awful! We got plenty of them, but they were so flat, I had real trouble sleeping. Other than that, it really was a nice stay and I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calypso007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Upon entering the door, we were greeted warmly and seated at a wonderful desk, served champagne with raspberries, and "checked in" to the hotel. The ambiance is really warm and unique since the building was actually once a city incinerator (sounds wierd, but Ritz plays it up throughout and even maintains a room in the old "smokestack", passes out "fireballs" instead of mints, and maintained much of the original brickwork and style) and the lobby area is incredibly cozy with a real fireplace and big cushy chairs. Down the brick hallway to our room, I noticed the artwork which I later found out was all original and depicts "heat" (again, the historic theme played up). Our room was fantastic. Had 1.5 bathrooms, huge living area and wonderful king size bed. Even had an ample dressing area and great amenities in the main bath. Staff was great. Very friendly, helpful and accomodating. Really enjoyed the bar too. Great spot. Also enjoyed breakfast, although it was pricey, but to be expected at the Ritz. I had a fantastic Egg Benedict with crabcake (delicious and original). And finally, awesome location in Georgetown. Waterfront, M Street, Wisconsin Ave., great bars, restaurants and shopping all just a block or 2 away. I loved this place and would go back for sure!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

I enjoyed my stay here. It is walkable to many restaurants and shops, and the room was huge. The staff was helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel
The Watergate Hotel
#8 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Address: 3100 South St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-4418 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): $716 - $1,709
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along quiet South Street resides one of the most recognizable luxury hotels in Georgetown, The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. Housed in a converted industrial building rooted in history, one of the few boutique hotels in the world to feature a soaring brick smokestack may be truly unique, but it is the experience that awaits within that makes it even more captivating. Explore the nation’s capital from its true heart and soul — Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Georgetown
Ritz Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing