We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$364
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
One Washington Circle Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$211
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hamilton Hotel Washington DC(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$141
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$240
US$191
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Georgetown Suites(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$173
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,129)
Filter reviews
2,129 results
Traveller rating
1,351
464
174
95
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,351
464
174
95
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjefferson memorialtidal basinempress loungemuze restaurantroom servicesteam roomclub leveltrain tracksturn down servicebeautiful hotelluxury hotelnational mallcity viewpotomac riverfour seasonssmithsonian museumslobby bar
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 2,129 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Two nights for business.
The location is outstanding; walking distance to the National Mall. It is near the center of the Mall and the Mall is long...keep that in mind. But if you're after the Smithsonian it's perfect.
"Waterview" room was comfortable. Bathroom very nice. Bed comfy. This is more of a "resort" hotel, so there wasn't really a desk to work at (a round table with sitting room chairs). Universal AC jacks are available for non-US visitors. USB charging jacks bedside (nice). Room safe in a drawer (that seems odd to me).
Breakfast at Muse is nice, a little pricey but the service was outstanding. I would have spent some time at the lounge but they had little in the way of Italian wine ;-)
Spa was nice, fully equipped but smaller than some resorts I've visited (but I don't have a lot of data points).
ProTip: best place to catch a taxi in this part of town.
Overall I'd stay again, either business or vacation.

Room Tip: Not much view from the 3rd floor--go higher
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Scott T,

Thank you very much for your very kind comments about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC. Some people do like to think of us as an "urban resort" thanks to our spa and our location on the water.

However, I think that if you equate "resort" with "comfort" and attention to body and wellness, you will note that this description with fit most MOs. We are famous for our immersive and rejuvenating Spa experiences. Small things like replacing the work desk in our rooms with a more relaxed table and chairs was in response to our guests' desire to feel a "home away from home" at MO and work in the way that they've become more accustomed. As you note, we've enhanced productivity with universal outlets and USB charging ports. Plus, our entertainment systems allow for the streaming of media from your personal devices–one need not any longer rely on a tiny alarm clock on the bed stand for music or news. Now, you can use the television to stream movies, shows, music, or your local radio station to tailor your experience to your personal tastes.

When will we have a chance to welcome you back? Thank you for being a fan.

Kind regards,
Dave Walsh
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

The Mandarin Oriental Washington, DC is a comfortable hotel with nicely appointed rooms. The entrance to the room has tile that looks like hardwood floors, followed by tasteful carpet and furnishings. The room was immaculate and included turn down service each evening. The king bed was comfortable with luxurious sheets. There was a spacious table with two nice chairs. The room had plenty of outlets and usb ports. I appreciated the one-touch button to turn all of the lights on and off. The marble bathroom was spacious and the shower had good water pressure. The hotel toiletries were also very nice. The room service was very fast, though the food was just okay. I experienced the club lounge for one evening and one morning. It has views of the Washington Monument and an okay assortment of food and beverages. The only complaint about the hotel is that it is one of the few in my travels throughout the world that still charges for wifi, and outrageous charges at that. On a final positive note, I'd like to recognize Felipe the bellman and Melissa at the front desk for their outstanding customer service.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank essenceofcapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear essenceofcapri,

Felipe and Melissa are proud to have delighted you during your recent visit to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC. Your comments about our newly refurbished guest rooms are also most appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed the new décor style and the technological enhancements that were designed to elevate our guest experience.

I do understand and appreciate your comments about wifi. We have recognized that and are pleased to let you know that guests who complete a profile at MandarinOriental.com and book directly through our easy-to-use site, will receive complimentary wifi during their stay. Please also check back to the site regularly as we will shortly be sharing news about enhancements to our guest recognition program.

Please do enjoy all of your future travels and come back to visit us, again, soon.

Kind regards,
Dave Walsh
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Good hotel with room overlooking the Washington monument and great river views.
The room was well appointed and very neat.
Room service was a feast with plenty attention to detail.
Very friendly staff throughout.
Will likely return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank jollofmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear jollofmaster,

When you're comfortable in a well-appointed luxury guest room with a great view, in-room dining is a feast, indeed.

We are glad you are a fan. Please enjoy all of your future travels.

Kind regards,
Dave Walsh
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

I loved the Mandarin Oriental. It was really high on my wish list. I was not disappointed Walking distance to the mall. Love the fact that staff adress you by surname. This is the one hotel where you feel at home.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank desparatehousewife07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear despartehousewife07,

We want you to feel that Mandarin Oriental is your home away from home.

Thank you for being a fan.

Kind regards,
Dave Walsh
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Overall, the hotel is great. Staff is incredibly kind, great breakfast at the Muze, and incredible views. Rooms are very nice. Only negative was our room did not get clean the first night, and we discovered too late that if you want to have afternoon tea you have to give 24 hours. Not a big deal but the tea and biscuits really looked good!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank tbank1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear tbank1,

We were glad to have you with us at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC and thank you for your five star review.

I do apologize for our failing to service your guest room the first night of your stay. I have asked our Housekeeping team to investigate this matter. I also apologize that you weren't able to join us for Afternoon Tea. We do require 24 hours notice on reservations for Afternoon Tea as our pasty chef puts a great deal of care into the treats that are served with it and we want to ensure that we have enough for our guests.

I do hope that you will return to visit us again soon and will enjoy all of your future travels.

Kind regards,
Dave Walsh
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews