We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, within walking distance to mall area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #16 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Very nice hotel close to mall area. Short taxi rides to most popular DC area attractions. We enjoyed the indoor pool and view from our room. Would recommend this hotel to the most distinguished traveler.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ellioj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear ellioj,

As the weather gets colder, our heated indoor pool becomes even more inviting. Whether its to swim laps for your workout in the morning or to splash around a bit with your family after a day of sightseeing, our pool is a little extra benefit to staying at MO.

Thank you very much for your endorsement! We will look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Dave Walsh
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 80 of 2,011 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017

Two nights for business.
The location is outstanding; walking distance to the National Mall. It is near the center of the Mall and the Mall is long...keep that in mind. But if you're after the Smithsonian it's perfect.
"Waterview" room was comfortable. Bathroom very nice. Bed comfy. This is more of a "resort" hotel, so there wasn't really a desk to work at (a round table with sitting room chairs). Universal AC jacks are available for non-US visitors. USB charging jacks bedside (nice). Room safe in a drawer (that seems odd to me).
Breakfast at Muse is nice, a little pricey but the service was outstanding. I would have spent some time at the lounge but they had little in the way of Italian wine ;-)
Spa was nice, fully equipped but smaller than some resorts I've visited (but I don't have a lot of data points).
ProTip: best place to catch a taxi in this part of town.
Overall I'd stay again, either business or vacation.

Room Tip: Not much view from the 3rd floor--go higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Scott T,

Thank you very much for your very kind comments about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC. Some people do like to think of us as an "urban resort" thanks to our spa and our location on the water.

However, I think that if you equate "resort" with "comfort" and attention to body and wellness, you will note that this description with fit most MOs. We are famous for our immersive and rejuvenating Spa experiences. Small things like replacing the work desk in our rooms with a more relaxed table and chairs was in response to our guests' desire to feel a "home away from home" at MO and work in the way that they've become more accustomed. As you note, we've enhanced productivity with universal outlets and USB charging ports. Plus, our entertainment systems allow for the streaming of media from your personal devices–one need not any longer rely on a tiny alarm clock on the bed stand for music or news. Now, you can use the television to stream movies, shows, music, or your local radio station to tailor your experience to your personal tastes.

When will we have a chance to welcome you back? Thank you for being a fan.

Kind regards,
Dave Walsh
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

The Mandarin Oriental Washington, DC is a comfortable hotel with nicely appointed rooms. The entrance to the room has tile that looks like hardwood floors, followed by tasteful carpet and furnishings. The room was immaculate and included turn down service each evening. The king bed was comfortable with luxurious sheets. There was a spacious table with two nice chairs. The room had plenty of outlets and usb ports. I appreciated the one-touch button to turn all of the lights on and off. The marble bathroom was spacious and the shower had good water pressure. The hotel toiletries were also very nice. The room service was very fast, though the food was just okay. I experienced the club lounge for one evening and one morning. It has views of the Washington Monument and an okay assortment of food and beverages. The only complaint about the hotel is that it is one of the few in my travels throughout the world that still charges for wifi, and outrageous charges at that. On a final positive note, I'd like to recognize Felipe the bellman and Melissa at the front desk for their outstanding customer service.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank essenceofcapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear essenceofcapri,

Felipe and Melissa are proud to have delighted you during your recent visit to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC. Your comments about our newly refurbished guest rooms are also most appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed the new décor style and the technological enhancements that were designed to elevate our guest experience.

I do understand and appreciate your comments about wifi. We have recognized that and are pleased to let you know that guests who complete a profile at MandarinOriental.com and book directly through our easy-to-use site, will receive complimentary wifi during their stay. Please also check back to the site regularly as we will shortly be sharing news about enhancements to our guest recognition program.

Please do enjoy all of your future travels and come back to visit us, again, soon.

Kind regards,
Dave Walsh
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Good hotel with room overlooking the Washington monument and great river views.
The room was well appointed and very neat.
Room service was a feast with plenty attention to detail.
Very friendly staff throughout.
Will likely return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank jollofmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear jollofmaster,

When you're comfortable in a well-appointed luxury guest room with a great view, in-room dining is a feast, indeed.

We are glad you are a fan. Please enjoy all of your future travels.

Kind regards,
Dave Walsh
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

I loved the Mandarin Oriental. It was really high on my wish list. I was not disappointed Walking distance to the mall. Love the fact that staff adress you by surname. This is the one hotel where you feel at home.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank desparatehousewife07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear despartehousewife07,

We want you to feel that Mandarin Oriental is your home away from home.

Thank you for being a fan.

Kind regards,
Dave Walsh
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,186 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,292 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#43 of 141 in Washington DC
519 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
1,346 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: S$430 - S$879 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Happy Lunar New Year from Mandarin Oriental! As we celebrate the Year of the Dog, MO is also celebrating the grand opening of District Wharf: DC’s hottest new waterfront neighborhood featuring exciting restaurants, live music venues, thrilling nightspots, eclectic shopping, three public piers, and invigorating street life. It’s all an easy walk out of our back door and down the street. With our newly renovated guest rooms, immersive spa, acclaimed guest service, and expansive views of the monuments and the water, Mandarin Oriental is DC’s internationally sophisticated luxury hotel. We offer privileged access to the globally-minded, enthusiast travelers who are our guests. Whether you stroll to the National Mall and Tidal Basin or never leave the hotel, you’ll get the best of DC and feel a home away from home. Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group is famous the world over for providing intuitive service, elevated dining, arresting design, and restorative wellness. Are you a fan? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing