We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Nearby Hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$248
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$207
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$221
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
One Washington Circle Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$182
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The River Inn(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$159
US$136
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,104)
Filter reviews
2,104 results
Traveller rating
1,336
459
171
94
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,336
459
171
94
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjefferson memorialtidal basinempress loungemuze restaurantroom servicesteam roomtrain tracksturn down serviceclub levelbeautiful hotellobby barluxury hotelcity viewnational mallpotomac riverfour seasonssmithsonian museums
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 2,104 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2017

What a beautiful hotel with a friendly staff. We loved our bathroom and the view and the location. The pillows are not as comfy as you would expect but otherwise the room is lovely. The Staff of Muze is friendly and talented and served delicious food. We appreciated the beautiful Christmas Tree that popped up in the Lobby on the Friday after Thanksgiving!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeannie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear Jeannie C,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your Thanksgiving holiday visit with us at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC.

Pillows are sometimes a very personal choice and what is comfortable to one guest may not be to another. That's why we make other pillow choices available than the standard (but, excellent, I think) ones that are provided in our rooms. The next time you stay, let us know what you like and we will do our best to make sure you get what you need for a restful night's sleep.

Please enjoy all of your future travels!

Kind regards,
Dave Walsh
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Just stayed here on the club level-8th floor; Room was very comfortable and nice-great beds and nice sized bathroom-tub and separate shower. The location is not ideal in some ways--close enough to the White House but somewhat out of the way to a lot of things. Not a lot of restaurants, etc., that are in direct proximity. Suggest if possible, staying on the club floor, b/c the food there-especially breakfast is great and saves quite a lot of money, as food prices at the hotel are typically high. Service was very good throughout the hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank doberman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear doberman32,

Thank you very much for allowing us to host you at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC.

Our location is not always ideal for every guest. Some guests may like to be closer to one location or another. It sounds like you may not have been alerted to the emergence of the very popular new District Wharf development which is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel. The Wharf has revitalized our waterfront with over 20+ excellent new restaurants (like Mike Isabella's Requin and its inspired take on French cuisine), high-energy night spots and concert venues (The Anthem is the nation's hottest new live music hall), DC-only shopping (the famous Politics & Prose bookstore has just opened only its second location here), and its fun public piers and lively street scene (which includes an ice rink and daily bonfire to sit around).

I am glad that you would stay with us again. When you do, let us be your guide to our amazing new neighborhood!

Please enjoy all of your future travels!

Kind regards,
Dave Walsh
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

From the time I was greeted on the front drive by the bellmen, to the front desk, the lobby lounge servers - every single person I encountered was friendlier than the last! Genuine, helpful the people are what make this a special hotel. Beautiful rooms - of course. Stellar amenities - naturally. But the staff are the reason I will return time and again to Mandarin Oriental, DC. Job well done!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CADC52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear CADC52,

All great hotels are great because of the genuine care and concern provided by their staffs. No grand lobby or well-decorated guest room can overcome an indifferent staff.

Our colleagues make all of the difference at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC. I am proud to work alongside them every day. We are absolutely dedicated to delighting all of our guests. I am so happy to read your comments and know that we succeeded during your most recent visit!

We will look forward to welcoming you back. Please enjoy all of your future travels.

Kind regards,
Dave Walsh
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

I love this hotel. I have stayed here several times. It is located outside the core but not far from everything - decent walking distance to the various monuments and downtown. Exceptional service, grat roomservice, extremely comfortable beds, just terrific!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank miyuki88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear miyuki88,

We love having you as a loyal fan!

Thank you very much for sharing your very kind impressions of Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC with TripAdvisor users. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Please enjoy all of your future travels.

Kind regards,
Dave Walsh
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Stayed one night on the weekend - the room was a large junior suite with 1.5 baths and a lot of space. The rooms was very well decorated but a bit boring. To be perfectly honest that was my reaction to the rest of the hotel - it was a comfortable, well serviced, fairly dull hotel. It could easily have been a Marriott or a Hyatt and it didn’t have the feeling of exclusivity that most MO’s offer. The service was fine but it didn’t stand out in any way and didn’t feel personal. We had a good time, but it just didn’t excel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Chuck A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Chuck A,

Thank you very much for allowing us to host you during your recent visit to Washington DC.

At Mandarin Oriental, we pride ourselves on guest-centered design that brings in the most current technology and décor to allow our fans a true home-away-from-home experience. We have received a lot of very positive reactions on the results of the $20m renovation that we completed earlier this year. Guests are enjoying the tasteful updates to the rooms and the inclusion of enhanced lighting and temperature controls plus the ability to stream their personal media on the new 55' 4K UHD televisions in the rooms.

While we are glad that you enjoyed your visit, we are certainly disappointed that you weren't wowed by the design or the personal interactions you had with our colleagues. We are glad that you are a fan of other MOs and hope that you will continue to come back to our Hotel and visit our sister hotels around the world.

Kind regards,
Dave Walsh
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews