We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Ranked #62 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Marquis for 4 days for a meeting. Room was just fine, daily maid service was good. Never left the hotel the entire time. Attended meetings which included lunches & dinners-all fabulous! Grab & Go was overpriced-$3.50 for a Chobabi?!?!
Starbucks in the lobby. Recommend staying here highly for meetings.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Lpallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 57 of 1,777 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

One of my worst experiences in a Hotel. I visited because of a conference in the Convention Centre next door and booked a room a day early and paid in advance so I could come and checkin in the morning. When I arrived they said my room had been given to someone else and I had to wait until after midday and people had checked out. Finally they gave me a room with queen beds when I had booked a king. There was no apology throughout.

The cleaning of the room was poor every day - glasses were not washed, coffee cups not thrown away.

After staying several nights, the day I was leaving I called to ask for a 45 minute extension of my checkout time so I could complete my sessions at the convention. They flatly refused. When I rushed back between my sessions to check out on time they took 25 minutes to come and take my luggage. I called to ask if they could be quicker and they said no. Again no apologies at all.

I expect a hotel of this brand and level to provide better service and if they cannot do something at least apologize. It seems the staff have been trained in just saying no and being rude.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank supermojomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Manager at Marriott Marquis Washington, DC, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review the property. I'm sorry to hear that your experiences were less than enjoyable. The issues you've described are certainly concerning and something that is atypical for our property. We frequently are housing large groups in connection with the convention center, so this should be nothing new for our staff members. Again, I'm terribly sorry that this was not displayed throughout your stay.

I have also shared your comments with our Housekeeping Leadership team to ensure situations like this do not occur in the future.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope that you'd consider doing so in the future. Please contact me directly if you'd like to discuss this further or if you plan on staying again. I'll personally make sure that everything operates flawlessly.

Kind Regards,

Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

The service was gracious from the moment I arrived. They quickly checked me in and accommodated all of my needs. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and inviting at the end of a long day. There are several internal restaurants, Starbucks, and parking onsite, and a hi-speed internet access.

Must stay location especially if attending a conference next store.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Mylove2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Everyone at this hotel was helpful. Front desk folks checked customers in quickly nd efficiently. The hotel was very clean. Only ate breakfast here and it was fine. The hotel is close to the Metro and a good location.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerilw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Great hotel. Not in love with the rooms--the interior rooms are a bit awkward, but the rooms are comfortable. Lots of lobby space for meeting. Best part is the service. Our flights were cancelled, and the hotel gave us great rooms for another night with M Club access to "ease our pain." Super nice.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with interior view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDumont821984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
3,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
5,079 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis Washington, DC

Address: 901 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $228 - $875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 807
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the city in style from Marriott Marquis Washington, D.C. Our CityCenterDC hotel is conveniently located near Penn Quarter, CityCenterDC, and the Verizon Center, making it easy to explore the city's best attractions. Guests enjoy direct access to the Convention Center via an underground concourse connection. With more than 105,000 square feet of event space offering 54 breakout rooms, a grand lobby with an atrium skylight, and five retail and restaurant outlets on the ground floor, our Washington, DC convention center hotel is poised to be the city's next great social hub. Be among the first to experience vibrant Marriott Marquis Washington, DC, a distinctive addition to the Nation's Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marriott Marquis Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing