We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Level 9”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #26 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at Level Nine of the Dupont Circle Hotel for New Year 2011.

The hotel is well located on Dupont Circle, with easy access to the red metro line, or a fifteen minute walk to either historic Georgetown or the White House.

Definitely give Level Nine a go - we were warmly welcomed by Cole, the Guest Relations Manager who showed us to our room, and really couldn't have been more helpful, indeed all the staff we met were friendly and professional.

The room, located on the penthouse floor, had a comfortable bed - crisp white linens changed daily, flat screen TV, full complimentary mini bar, with large bottles of top brand alcohol, soft drinks, olives etc. The marble bathroom was fully equipped with aromatherapy toiletries, spa tub - with huge floor to ceiling window to bathe looking out on the DC cityscape or you could always watch the over bath flatscreen TV, walk in shower and a very welcome heated slate floor. The level of housekeeping was second to none - immaculately maintained and nightly turndown service.

Other reviews commented on inadequate shutters - level nine has blackout curtains in the bedroom.

Level Nine Lounge access, gives all thirteen suites on the penthouse floor, access to canapes, snacks, tea, coffee, and again complimentary wine, cocktails and champagne.

A real find for Washington DC - couldn't fault the room or the standard of service and one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in, in the US.

Thanks :-)

Room Tip: Go for Level Nine - you wont be disappointed. Personally, I'd forgo the Dupont Circle Facing roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glennharrold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,668 - 2,672 of 3,293 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

I loved the hotel. It was really modern and really nicely kept. The beds were super comfortable. Yes, like other reviews, the bathroom was a bit odd. But I had my own room and it didn't matter.
The surrounding area is prettty happening and it was great to walk around in the evening

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liosa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Stayed at the Dupont Circle Hotel for business the week of November 13, 2011.

The hotel itself is newly renovated and quite nice, and the location is first rate - right on Dupont Circle and steps to the Metro. The rooms are lovely, comfortable and clean. However, there are several things about my stay that prevent me from recommending the Dupont Circle Hotel:

There was no minibar in the room, even though the guest services guide indicates that there should be. It took 3 days before someone could explain why, the best answer I got was "Well, there should be one in the room"... that's not an answer. 3 days for an explanation is just ridiculous, but indicative of the attitude of staff at this hotel.

The guest services guide advised room service was available until midnight.o my surprise, that is not the case, and at 11:00 p.m. I was fending for myself at Kramer's across the street.

The fact that room service trays are left in the hallways for you to step over for up to 15 hours at a time is not only unsanitary, but also illustrates a lack of night patrols in the halls of the hotel. As a solo traveler for business much of the time, this didn't exactly make me feel secure - it made me uneasy, quite frankly.

These issues were pointed out to the hotel and a free meal in the restaurant was offered. Still, these experiences add up to "I won't be back."

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nh709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We spent six days at this hotel recently and it was execellent. The location is fantastic. It is right on the Metro and in nearby streets are lots of great shops and restaurants including a 24 hour pharmacy/supermarket. Du Pont Circle is a very pretty area with a nice vibe and a farmers market on a Sunday morning. The hotel was comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. There is free internet access for guests.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I booked this hotel for a business stay, but would certainly come for leisure as well. The hotel is located right on DuPont circle so a great location for walking to all the sights of DC as well as Georgetown. It is a little challenging to find if you a driving a car and don't know the layout of the city, so I would suggest doing a little pre-planning. Traffic downtown is very heavy and there a lot of one-way streets and circles. The rooms are beautiful (great bathrooms with heated floors) and the staff couldn't be nicer. The bar is great for happy hour cocktails and very reasonably priced. The gym is sparse, but is 24 hours a day and has TVs attached to the cardio machines. I booked through Hotels.com and got a great rate of $175 a night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exeter95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 142 in Washington DC
2,174 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#11 of 142 in Washington DC
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
431 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,231 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#9 of 142 in Washington DC
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $138 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Doyle Collection, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing