We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dupont Circle
Nearby Hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The River Inn(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$132
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

One Washington Circle Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$131
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Georgetown Suites(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$202
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,565)
Filter reviews
3,565 results
Traveller rating
2,112
994
289
105
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,112
994
289
105
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdupont circleheated floorsfrosted glass doorgreat locationtoilet and showersink areahotel barmetro stationmodern hoteldc arearooms are smallstreet noisewhite housevalet parkingshuttersprivacyaaron
Filter
Updating list...
1,136 - 1,141 of 3,565 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2016

The Dupont Circle hotel fills most of a block on a prominent site at the northern end of the traffic circle that gives the Dupont Circle neighborhood its name. It has been updated recently, and the rooms and public areas are sleek and modern, comfortable and pleasant. My room was quite small, so much so that there isn't even any kind of dresser or chest of drawers if you want to unpack your bag, and no surfaces in the tiny bathroom to arrange your razor and toothbrush. Still, if you don't mind being a bit cramped, there are no other faults here, with a hotel just a few steps from the Metro station, near dozens of restaurants and all the attractions of the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Basiluzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDupontCircleHotel, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Hello Basiluzzo,

Thank you for your review and staying with us on your recent trip to Washington DC. We do have the perfect location to explore Washington DC and see all the sights. We would like to apologize that your room was not to your liking. Being that we are a city Hotel and also a historic building, we were not able to change the size of our rooms but we were able to add nice closets with a very modern design. We would love to welcome you back during your next visit and please send me an email when you make your next trip, matthew_peschke@doylecollection.com. We want to make sure you have an amazing experience with us.

Best Regards,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

I so wanted this hotel to be good as being Irish I was delighted to be staying in a hotel with a little bit of familiarity of home about it. We were staying for the best part of a week long stay so got to know it fairly well. When I analysied why I wasn't giving it a higher rating, its mainly due to design and management, as the staff were all lovely and helpful, particularly the reception staff and cafe dupont staff.
Firstly the Pros:-
The bed and pillows were super comfortable and we slept well at night despite our room looking out on the street.
The food in the restaurant, particularly at Breakfast was great as was the service, and well priced. We also ate dinner there one night and enjoyed that too.
The staff were particularly helpful.
The location is great. Metro beside it, as were plenty of bars, cafe's and restaurants. The Irish bar on the other side of the circle is definitely worth a visit. The hotel is also within walking distance to the White House and I'm not a great walker.
The free WiFi worked well at all times.
The Cons:
The Design - well I'm not sure why any interior designer thinks its cool to have your bathroom in your bedroom, no matter how well you know your room companion. Having your washand basin in your bedroom and your loo and shower simply cordoned off by tinted glass is not my idea of good design, I don't particularly like seeing or hearing my partner on the loo. The window blinds are a bit of a disaster too, letting in too much light in the mornings, and not enough light during the day, making the room look dull and dark and not all stayed open. The windows also needed a good cleaning, but as we were located over the slanting roof of the restaurant, I guess its difficult to get up to our bedroom windows. In genearl the interior of the hotel once out of the general main public ground floor area, is dull and dark and in some places looking a bit tired. Our coffee table was chipped and the dark wood table/desk area was stained. There is unusual wallpaper on the corridors, a type of brushed leather, which looks damaged from bags brushing up against it. There were meeting rooms on our floor and the first impressions when the lift opened were very poor.
The other area we were not impressed with was the bar. They have a happy hour most evenings and the noice level is very high. Its obviously a popular bar with regulars as it was busy most evenings. We found the service to be particularly poor here, having to wait 18 minutes for a beer and martini. We had a drink there 3 evenings and on each occasion we had to request our drinks a few times. While there were plenty of wait staff, there appeared to be only one barman, who was tied up making cocktails. Also the table was not wiped down on 2 occasions and crumbs from the previous customers were still on the table, the bar also serves bar food, which i hear was good. There was evidence of management walking about (at least those I presumed they were as they were in suits), while polite and friendly, they didn't seem to see the service issues around them.
In general, this is a nice hotel, in a great location, and while there were a few issue with service, in general all staff were pleasant, helpful and efficient. It is clean and comfortable. The only reason I'd be hesitant to return to this hotel is purely because of the glass walled bathroom!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBF.Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDupontCircleHotel, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Hello SBF.Dublin,

Thank you for your review and sharing your feedback about your experience. We want all of our guests to feel at home with us and love our Hotel as much as we do. We would like to apologize for the experience you had with us. We take pride in our customer service and would like to speak with you more in regards to your stay. Please email me at your convenience at matthew_peschke@doylecollection.com.

Best Regards,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

This is a beautifully renovated modern hotel. The location is great with easy access to the city sites. I enjoyed the friendly service, and lovely rooms. The fitness room is open 24/7 and is well equipped. The rooms do not routinely come equipped with a coffee maker but one can be requested. A Starbucks is located across the street and opens early.
My one complaint is that the modern décor and materials makes the lobby area noisy.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDupontCircleHotel, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Hello Alan J,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We love hearing from our guests and so happy you stayed with us. We do have a great location to enjoy the city and see the sights. We do offer freshly brewed coffee and hot tea in our Lobby area every morning for our guests also. We hope to welcome you back and please let us know if you need anything.

Best Regards,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Things that went wrong:
-The hotel would not honor our booking through Hotels.com
-Manager claimed that this hotel did not accept such bookings
-The hotel then charged my account via Hotels.com reservation for the entire stay, and then charged us on the credit card that they took at front desk.

3 days since the stay and I'm still trying to get back my double charge. No one at that hotel has the decency to want to help or acknowledge this humongous error.


Things that were good.
-Front desk did everything in their power to honor the reservation and rate, management was not for customer satisfacton/acknowledgment.
-Great location
-Plenty to do in DC-you can't be bored
-Decent room
-Countless restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Chose another place-there are several in the area.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kavitab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDupontCircleHotel, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Hello kavitab,

First we want to apologize for the service you received from our Team. We take our service culture very series and will make sure this is handled right away. I would like to speak with you about your experience and the issue you had with the charges to your credit card. We want to make sure this is expedited right away. Please email me at matthew_peschke@doylecollection.com and I will be sure to handle this personally for you.

Best Regards,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We stayed at the DuPont Circle hotel last weekend. The location was excellent, and we were accessible to the restaurants that we had booked. The hotel staff is excellent and very attentive. The room was a little small, and their goal was to go boutique, however I think they tried to hard (room cluttered). The bar was great in terms of the staff, be prepared for a $15 draft! Overall a very good stay. I would recommend Kramers Bookstore across the street as well as the bakery right around the corner. All good

Room Tip: better rooms on top floors. If you ask for an upgrade they will give it if they have it.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDupontCircleHotel, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Hello JJ-Westborough,

Thank you for your review and staying with us on your recent trip to Washington DC. We are so glad our Team was able to take good care of you and make you feel at home while staying with us. We hope you come back to visit us again soon and be sure to try Bar Dupont's Happy Hour from 3-6 daily.

Best Regards,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews