We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic hotel with character, but not as good as previously” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #60 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Historic hotel with character, but not as good as previously”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed here for two nights over Presidents' Day weekend and have been a guest here at least half a dozen times over the past ten years. I have always loved the fact that the rooms aren't cookie cutter in size or decor. This visit I had a comfortable room with two double beds, a bathroom with two sinks (great for two female friends sharing the room), and thick robes. When entering into the room there was a good-sized hallway so you didn't see inside the room from the corridor.
Front desk personnel were pleasant upon check-in, and other employees greeted you in a friendly way when you passed them. The concierge was very helpful when I asked for a "sticky note." He kindly went to another area to get me a couple of them.
What was disappointing is the following:
-very loud construction noise in the lobby upon arrival and as early as 7 AM on Monday (a holiday).
-newspaper not delivered to the room , even for elite members. You need to go to lobby and ask for one.
-the modernization? of coffee service. A cheap one-cup coffeemaker is your morning java, no complimentary AM coffee in the lobby, and long-gone is the coffee service that used to deliver to the room (no room service charge).
-housekeeping that needs improvement. The bottom sheet on my bed had a right-angle shaped tear in it that was about three inches long. When I saw it, it was late and I was ready for bed after a long, busy day. I figured the sheet would be replaced when the bed was made the next day. Again, I returned to the room late and was dismayed that the same ripped sheet was on the bed! Earlier in the day, we had requested a refrigerator, which is supposed to be supplied at no charge. The refrigerator was never delivered. There was freshen up service in the evening, which is nice, but just one candy for two guests? Is one person supposed to take a bite and then pass the rest to the other?
-the charming lobby bar has closed and has been replaced? by a mezzanine bar with terrible service and an overpriced wine selection (average price of a glass - $15). About 6 of us sat down Sun. evening. It took ten minutes for the waiter to come over. When the drinks arrived they were put down very unceremoniously, no napkins or coasters, no little dishes of the pretzel snack that we had seen on other tables. When the waiter finally returned and was asked to bring this things, he handed one of us a pile of napkins, not bothering to place them down for each of us. The snack dishes were dropped at the table carelessly, with some of the contents slipping out of the dishes. We were never asked if we wanted to order any food to accompany the drinks.
Upon check out, the billing was incorrectly done. The front desk was asked twice to bill separately, which they did not. The revised bill reflected separate credit cards, but the same one addresses was listed on both bills. I mentioned these issues. Cursory apologies were given with the comment that they would leave a note about this for a supervisor.
In spite of this, the Mayflower has a charming atmosphere, stately decor, and overall pleasant ambiance. There is a good location, too, right near the Metro. If I could give 3 1/2 circles, I would. I guess I rated it four circles for old-times sake.

Room Tip: Tell them you know there are many different types and sizes of rooms and ask for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denisec65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    993
    814
    329
    139
    88
See reviews for
530
556
111
826
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I recently spent four days at the hotel on a quick business trip. The hotel is centrally located to many attractions in the city and is a short ten minute taxi ride to Reagan. The lobby is well appointed and more importantly well staffed. I arrived on an extraordinarily rainy evening and there were two staff members in the lobby handing out umbrellas to the guests. These small details enhance the experience of staying at this hotel. Check in was quick and hassle free. The rooms are small, but very comfortable. There are better values in the city, but if you do go, you'll be comfortable and well cared for.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Va.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

No the rooms arent huge, but our king room was very comfortable and very clean. The staff was helpful and very friendly. The lounge on the mezzanine was very relaxing and cozy and we were bummed that we didnt check it out until our last night. The best part was the location. Within walking distance of Dupont Circle and numerous great eats/drinks. The metro is on the same block..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank News2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Lovely Hotel! Friendly and helpful staff - particularly the Consierge.
Lovely Rooms! Fresh towels every day!
No continental breakfast, no free Wi Fi, and no hairdryer in the room. All these are included free at Super 8! Wi Fi is in the lobby. In spite of this, I had a great time at this hotel located not too far from the White House and from a metro stop that will get you everywhere else. Parking here is expensive but there is a reasonable spot just around the corner as long as you can give up the use of your car during your visit!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We went for a short break to Washington and stayed here for four nights. It was a great location and the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy and while not huge was a comfortable place to stay. The conceirges were very helpful and had great reccomendations for places to eat. Would stay there again when we visit Washington again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tara580419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Dupont Circle
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at The Mayflower
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at ...
#108 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,798 reviews
Loews Madison Hotel
#74 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-4301
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): $280 - $976
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing