We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice state park, good trails.”

Chewacla State Park
Ranked #3 of 22 things to do in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Good trails (hike & bike), lake, waterfall, cabins, campground (full hookup & primitive), boats, canoes, paddle boats, etc.

My wife and I hiked some trails, saw the waterfall, drove through the campgrounds, saw the cabins, beach, and the swimming platform with diving board.

The park is pretty well maintained and the trails were great. The waterfall is nice although man made by the dam that created the lake.

Thank Toby1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda W, Front Office Manager at Chewacla State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thanks for your visit and support. The waterfall is man made to dam up the lake. It was built in the 1930s by the CCC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"hiking trails"
in 13 reviews
"diving board"
in 9 reviews
"swimming area"
in 8 reviews
"on the rocks"
in 5 reviews
"great waterfall"
in 4 reviews
"day trip"
in 5 reviews
"short hike"
in 3 reviews
"great place for families"
in 3 reviews
"get away"
in 5 reviews
"large lake"
in 2 reviews
"tree roots"
in 2 reviews
"trail map"
in 2 reviews
"only bad thing"
in 2 reviews
"mountain bikes"
in 2 reviews
"off road"
in 2 reviews
"construction project"
in 2 reviews
"paddle boarding"
in 2 reviews
Filter

21 - 25 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

Went to the park on a Sunday with children and grandchildren. We hiked, fished, played in the water, and did a little geo caching. Lots of hiking and mountain bike trails. Park also has a campground with cabins to rent or places for tents, campers or RVs. Next time we are going to pack a picnic lunch since we seen a lot of tables, and shelter areas. We spent most of our time at the waterfalls and stream below fishing, climbing and playing. There is also a large lake with a swimming area and playground.

Thank 130marlenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda W, Front Office Manager at Chewacla State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you so much for visiting! Come back and stay a while longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Chewacla is a great place for families to go enjoy a picnic lunch and some fun outdoors or if you're just looking for an easy hike. I loved seeing all the beautiful fall leaves. The waterfall is a great place to just sit and relax. Great place for a couple of hours or the whole day.

Thank EShep125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda W, Front Office Manager at Chewacla State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thank you for your visit to our local oasis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Sites were okay, but nothing extraordinary. The bathhouse was no up to par. Didn't seem to get cleaned the entire time we were there (3 nights/4 days).

1  Thank NursePenny67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda W, Front Office Manager at Chewacla State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thank you for your visit. We have more natural sites (not paved) as to limit the heat in the campground and the impact of campers and runoff. We have spoken to staff about bathroom cleaning policies.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

My family and dogs enjoy hiking to the water fall and kayaking in the lake. Lots of mountain biking trails, as well. Staff is friendly. Annual pass is a good purchase for us.

Thank thewolaneks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda W, Front Office Manager at Chewacla State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thanks for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chewacla State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing