We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful park!”

Chewacla State Park
Ranked #3 of 21 things to do in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

This is a fantastic park to visit for the day or to camp for the weekend. Lots of things to see and do...especially for the ! Cabins are neat and the primitive grounds are fun too.

Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda W, Front Office Manager at Chewacla State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you so much for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"mountain biking"
in 9 reviews
"swimming area"
in 8 reviews
"diving board"
in 8 reviews
"on the rocks"
in 5 reviews
"great waterfall"
in 4 reviews
"day trip"
in 5 reviews
"short hike"
in 3 reviews
"annual pass"
in 3 reviews
"great place for families"
in 3 reviews
"camping spots"
in 2 reviews
"get away"
in 5 reviews
"large lake"
in 2 reviews
"tree roots"
in 2 reviews
"only bad thing"
in 2 reviews
"picnic pavilions"
in 2 reviews
"decent shape"
in 2 reviews
"hook ups"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

Nice park for overnight although our pull through gravel site was a bit tight, probably normal for a state park. Lots of great trees. We walked toward the lake and found that it was closed with no explanation as to why. We heard the waterfall but couldn't figure out how to get there. There was a cool bench that had a solar panel on top that apparently charged cell phones, neat! Would have liked to stay longer but we were just passing through.

Thank SATraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda W, Front Office Manager at Chewacla State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

We thank you for your short visit. Please come back to stay a bit longer and we can show you where the waterfall is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

My husband and I visited Auburn for a football game and decided to visit this park to canoe as a Sunday excursion before we headed home.

First and most importantly this park is four dollars per person to enter the park. Not four dollars to park your car. Not four dollars per car. Four dollars per person to even enter. I am not from Alabama, so maybe this is a standard rate for this area, but in the state I am from there are rarely park fees, and if there are, they are simply parking fees. On top of that park fee you have to pay per hour to use the canoes, paddleboats, or kayaks. This is extremely expensive for a park that clearly has not been updated in any way since the 1950s.

The staff was extremely disorganized and couldn't seem to come to a conclusion about how we should pay for the canoes. The first person we spoke to suggested we had to pay at the booth, but when we came to the booth to pay, a very disgruntled State Park Law Enforcement officer acted like we were crazy to suggest paying there and made it clear he was inconvenienced by us.

The staff were having a birthday party for a coworker when we came, so they were all busy having cake and singing, which I understand, it's a casual working environment - but you should still make an effort to serve paying park visitors. It would seem to me that a small park such as this one would value tourist dollars more than they did.

The people visiting the park honestly were not much friendlier. There were so many people smoking and cursing, I do not feel this would be a great place for families.

The positives are that the person renting the boats was very friendly, and once you actually get out on the lake it is very pretty.

I guess it's something to do if you want to extend your time in Auburn, but there are probably better ways to spend your time. We had such a great experience in Auburn with this one exception.

Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda W, Front Office Manager at Chewacla State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

We appreciate you supporting our park and apologize for your inconveniences. Your entrance fees and boat rental fees are standard at most parks and are actually how we generate most of our revenue. We are one of the oldest parks in the system which has been plagued with budgets cuts for several years until this very year. Fortunately we have been making new improvements such as new trails and new boat rental options. We do love birthdays and love when everyone celebrates with us. We truly hope you give us another chance and bring any future problems to our attention while you are here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Good trails (hike & bike), lake, waterfall, cabins, campground (full hookup & primitive), boats, canoes, paddle boats, etc.

My wife and I hiked some trails, saw the waterfall, drove through the campgrounds, saw the cabins, beach, and the swimming platform with diving board.

The park is pretty well maintained and the trails were great. The waterfall is nice although man made by the dam that created the lake.

Thank Toby1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda W, Front Office Manager at Chewacla State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thanks for your visit and support. The waterfall is man made to dam up the lake. It was built in the 1930s by the CCC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Went to the park on a Sunday with children and grandchildren. We hiked, fished, played in the water, and did a little geo caching. Lots of hiking and mountain bike trails. Park also has a campground with cabins to rent or places for tents, campers or RVs. Next time we are going to pack a picnic lunch since we seen a lot of tables, and shelter areas. We spent most of our time at the waterfalls and stream below fishing, climbing and playing. There is also a large lake with a swimming area and playground.

Thank 130marlenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda W, Front Office Manager at Chewacla State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you so much for visiting! Come back and stay a while longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chewacla State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing