We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
0
1
5
2
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
1
5
2
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2010

The location is the WONDERFUL part of this hotel. We parked the car and walked everywhere including the stadium! GREAT! Its right downtown and steps away from Toomers corner! Other than that it has hot water and it was basically clean enough. If you plan to stay in Auburn for a weekend and don't plan on being in the room that much..this hotel will be great.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shorteyjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Checked in to discover the rooms were worse than the exterior - old, not renovated, poor condition and extremely unclean. The owners should be ashamed to put guests in their rooms. The bathroom was 50-60 years old, hairs and bugs in the dirty tub, worse than a port-o-potty, the light fixture over the sink (outside of the bathroom) was broken - no light. sink dirty. Bedding was dirty. We complained to the mgt/owner on duty and he finally sent housekeeping. I had to clean bathroom myself and they only gave us a mildew cleaner - we needed BLEACH. By this time it was after midnight & all other hotels were booked so we were doomed. Had to get sandals to take shower - we were petrified of bed bugs, carpet was gross - room and furnishings were horrible. They showed us 2 more rooms, each was dirty and just as terrible. Didn't sleep well - we were too grossed out. Owner would NOT give us a discount. I plan on calling the better business bureau. The University Inn should be closed down and should not be recommended by Auburn Tourism Bureau. Please note that we have never had such an unfortunate experience in our lives & we have traveled extensively all over the world - this is our 1st negative review and can only compare the University Inn to a slum room or a 3rd world hotel. Beware!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catgirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

I stay at the University Inn with my fiancé in March while he was looking at their PhD programs. I found the location very central; it’s at the heart of downtown Auburn and you can walk everywhere you need to – even the University! The rooms were reasonably priced for the location and the staff was very friendly. It was our first trip to Auburn and they gave us helpful tips on where to dine. If you’re looking for a comfortable place to stay for a short visit then University Inn will certainly fit the bill.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
Thank ScienceofSleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2007

It's not fair to call this place a dump, a dump would be better!
Shrek would feel right at home here.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Dongab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2003

This place is absolutely horrible! My fiance and I stayed here when I went to interview for Auburn University. We didn't know where else to stay. Its bad enough that the place looks pretty disgusting from the outside; but, the rooms are worse. The room had broken lamps without light bulbs, the bathroom was extremely dirty (worse than a gas station). There were used pieces of soap in the shower! Everything was so gross! We went back to the office to get our money back so that we could go somewhere else....but the people (who barely spoke English) only gave us half of our money. Don't stay here!!! We were so disgusted that we took pictures of the room and sent them to the Super 8 headquarters along with a letter of complaint.

21  Thank Curious16530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews