We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hojos Was Fun for Teens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #19 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2008

Stayed at the Hojo Anaheim on a Friday night during the Mickey's Not So Scary Halloween party time at the Disneyland resort. There was myself and 4 teenagers (16-17 yo) during the stay. We were in building 6, one of the 2 story buildings on property. Although this room was not considered as having a view of the fireworks, we saw them with no problem from the parking lot just outside the main door to the hotel rooms. (Be warned, the fireworks going off are extremely loud! How the folks who live in the area stand it, is beyond me). There was also a small patio or balcony off of the rooms. The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable. There was also a rollaway bed already made up and in the closet, which was great for our goup of 5 folks. The bathroom has a tub/shower combo with toilet and sink. The bathroom is very quiet. In some hotels the bathroom sounds just carry, whether it is your room or someone elses. With the bathroom door closed, I couldn't even hear the water in the shower, and I was on the bed next to the shower wall. Never heard the bathroom upstairs either. Excellent sound proofing all around. Just outside of the bathroom there is another single sink. Loads of storage space and hanging space. There was also a small fridge which we didn't use. All of the teen girls went at played at the waterpark Friday night. They had a blast with the different items and the water slide. They thought it was much more fun than the regular pool on the property. Again, ymmv depending on your kids. We walked to Disneyland from the hotel and did not think it was far. However, if you have small children and no stroller, you may think it was much farther, especially at the end of a long day in the parks. I would definately recommend this hotel for any length of stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Immebsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,885 - 6,889 of 7,730 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2008

I like this hotel, the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and the grounds are well kept.

However, I do not like the new Castaway Cove kiddie area. They replaced the main pool with a waterslide and splashy area, but there is no longer a swimming pool. This area is only fun for smaller children. It's too bad there is not a pool at the end of the waterslide, then kids (and adults) of all ages could enjoy it. The jacuzzi is in this area, so now the small children use it as a pool (can you cannon ball into a jacuzzi-- YES-- if you are at the HOJO!)

There is a second 'garden' pool, but it is small and shady and now it gets very crowded with bigger kids.

I used to really like that they had two pools here -and one was large so there was always a sunny spot to sit.

I will probably won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

HoJo Anaheim.
date; 12 sep,2008
trip adviser member, London uk.
we have just returned from the Howard Johnson Hotel. the Hotel is a lovely place, beds are so clean and comfortably, the only problem I found the rooms themselves need painting and updating and some new carpet would be good. not far to walk to the parks.Nice places to eat on your door step, Garden walk not to far away you can walk there. We stayed for five nights and I think that was long enough in Anaheim worth going to see the parks. lovely water play area for small children at this Hotel.
would Would we stay there again yes I think we would, for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sara038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Walking Distance!!!
Yes, I know a ton of hotels claim you can walk to Disneyland. But I promise you can from here. We stayed four night in Feb, 2008. Two rooms, my parents, late 40's-50 & the other room as my 4yr old, self & spouse. we are all in good physical health & had no issue w/ the walk.
Check-in & parking , the parking lot fills up quickly. Check in , I love their lobby. We checked in on a very busy night. There was a small line, but it went smoothly.
Rooms, tasteful retro 70's, if you stayed @ a HOJO ya know what i'm talking about. Though don't let it turn you off. Both rooms were VERY clean. I did my white sock test & the socks stayed white.A+++
Overall, get place to stay. Close to park 7 during the Disney high season, HOJO stays w/ in the budget.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katsonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

Stayed here 2 nights first time. Last few visits we stayed next door at Fairfeld. I decided to stay here since need a place within walking distance to avoid the parking fee and wanted convenience of going back to room for nap/refresher.
Got a good rate for one night using entertainment card. Otherwise, reall would not pay the rack rate of $139. Since most of the hotel on harbor st are motel looking, this hotel has the new water play area. I was looking forward for my young toddlers to use the cove adventure/pirate ship but it was closed for repairs on the night of arrival. I was alright with that since we arrived late at night anyhow. But, the next day, after returning from disneyland, the slide and pirate ship was closed due to an incident. Apparently a child threw up on the ship. So, basically another day of it being close. Really was disappointed since we were checking out early the following day for a drive to San diego Sea world.
The rooms were decent and beds were comfortable but not as nice of course as a 4 star bed we had at the hilton in san diego.
But, the price of the rooms are similar to the sheraton but they don't nickel and dime you like the higher star hotel. That is just my opinion.

Pros:
1. located across from disneyland entrance, but this hotel is the last one on the strip. It took a good 15 min walk with stroller. Best Western, Tropicana and carousel are closer. It made a difference when you are carrying a child asleep in the evening.

2. Queens beds and not double.
3. Microvwave and fridge. The Fairfield inn did not have microwave just fridge, so that was a plus
4. Pool plus a new water cove area for young kids
5. They do sell 2 day, 3 day, etc hopper passes. I think it came out cheaper than at the gate.

Cons:
1. No free breakfast
2. Elevator was out of service so had to use the maintenance employee elevatore.
3. Hotel hallway looked good in general
4. The price is kind of expensive if you don't have any promotion code
5. The check in lobby was not connection to the building where our rooms were, we had to drive to the rooms.
6. Mimi's cafe is next door. It had pretty code breakfast. Try the low fat blueberry muffin. Buy some to go and save on breakfast/ Someone mentioned calling ahead and pick up to go.

So, if you want to walk to the theme park, free parking, microwave and fridge and don't mind that is a motel setup, then this may meet your needs. But, if you are going to pay the publish price, then consider the other ones as well since they are a lot closer. This would be good if you have young toddlers who would like a water play area.
Feel free to email with questions.

Stayed: September 2008
3  Thank bananaDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 km away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
1.2 km away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#21 of 119 in Anaheim
2,955 reviews
0.2 km away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
1.4 km away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#48 of 119 in Anaheim
4,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $236 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing