We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #19 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2017

The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. The staff were very good. They helped us with everything from beach suggestions, car rentals, printing tickets, hiring taxis and more. The thing our family of 12 enjoyed best was the location. We were about an 8 min walk to Disneyland.

Room Tip: If you get a room in building 1 facing East (I think) you will be able to see the fireworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla T, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words, Niki. We're delighted to hear that you found our location convenient, but we're most pleased that our staff made your stay memorable. We're happy to hear you received the kind of hospitality we pride ourselves on providing and hope to welcome you back for another five-star stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 189 of 7,729 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Y8731WGkarenb
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carla T, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 August 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank raymonda61
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carla T, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 August 2017

The location is really good and a short walk to Disneyland. It is about an eight to ten minute walk to the main gate and a short distance. The on-site water park, Pirates Cove, is really fun and a highlight of this property. The water park is for younger children and has a wading pool, splash pads, slides, and a jacuzzi for parents to relax in while watching their children at play. There were no elevators in the area we stayed in, and it was difficult carrying luggage up the stairs. At check-in, we were not given enough waterpark wristbands for all of us and had to go back to get another one. Both of our room keys were deactivated after the first night, and that was inconvenient. There was a large dead sewer roach stuck in the bathroom light fixtures, but the staff responded quickly and removed it; however, they did not wipe down the bathroom counter tops, and we had to request fresh towels. No one offered any incentives for the inconvenience of that. Overall, I would say our stay was average. The room itself was clean and comfortable. However, the wifi/internet was intermittent and it was difficult to get a signal or stay connected to wifi. The on-site parking was easy and stress free. The room was quiet but it becomes loud when Disney starts their fireworks show. A positive note, you can watch the fireworks from the hotel property, which is really nice. This property has a smoking section, which is is bothersome if your room is near that area and you are a non-smoker with young children. The hotel rates are very reasonable given the close proximity to Disneyland. There are restaurants nearby and within walking distance, including Mimi's Cafe and McDonald's.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank N4246LIlauram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla T, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for sharing all of your positive and constructive feedback. We're glad you loved our location and our water playground. Thank you for all of your constructive input as well. We do apologize for the trouble with your room and we appreciate you letting us know. We hope to provide you with a seamless stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Love everything about this place! The location, the rooms, the staff and great value for money! If you have small children they will love the pool area. I wouldn't stay anywhere else while in Anaheim.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank MegWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla T, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're truly honored to be your hotel of choice in Anaheim. From our location to our staff, we're glad you love it all. We'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 km away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
1.2 km away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 119 in Anaheim
2,954 reviews
0.2 km away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
1.4 km away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#48 of 119 in Anaheim
4,449 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $237 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing