We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University
Nearby Hotels
US$155
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Arcata Inn(Arcata)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Lake Casino Hotel(Blue Lake)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
4
13
17
16
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
13
17
16
22
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Stayed here 2 nights ago and it was horrible. It was dirty, the bedspreads had stains on them, there were what looked like cigarette burns in the blankets and sheets, the furniture looked pretty beat up. I stayed here a year ago and it was clean...but it has really gone downhill. Filthy!

Room Tip: Stay some place else.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moomooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Moomooey, Thank you for your feedback. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure during your recent stay. Please know the conditions you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize for the inconveniences you describe. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We were disappointed with our room. It was listed as a non-smoking room but it smelled of stale smoke. The bed covers had holes in them which looked like cigarette burns. There was no fridge and no facial tissues. The room was clean enough but the whole room looked tired.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Arthur, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We do accommodate our smoking guests with assigned smoking rooms and are sorry you experienced dissatisfaction with the concerns you describe. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues you experienced. Please know the issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Close to highway 101, lots of food choices across the street. Clean room, very basic amenities. No facial tissues, one wash cloth, no refrigerator, or coffee in room. Pay $3/day for Wifi. Had a vending machine area and pay laundry. Much better food and drink choices across the street in a strip mall. Not bad place to sleep, but very basic, which for about $70 per night is average.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank chicogardenguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, C at Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Chico Garden Guy, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues you describe. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Motel 6 in Arcata and Fort Bragg CA. Both hotels had updated rooms. At first sight the rooms do look better than before. More modern. A big change is carpeting has been replaced with wood looking floor.
We took our 4 year old grandson on vacation with us. After giving him shower he walked barefoot in the room. Within minutes the bottom of his feet ended up filthy dirty! This is no exaggeration! This happened at both locations. Very disgusting. Cleaning staff badly needs to improve floor cleaning routine. If you stay there, wear slippers!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank 237kathiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Laura, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our customer service, but with your experience we have fallen short and would like to apologize for the service issues you experienced. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. We would like to make sure you spoke with our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to have a record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

When we checked in we were told that Motel 6 charges for wifi: $3 for slower speed and $6 for faster speed...and that only one device could be online at a time. What? Come on Motel 6, get caught up with the times. We ended up getting the $3 wifi because my son and I both needed to use the internet but the speed was terrible and, true to their word, we could not both be online at the same time.

As far as the room goes, I was pleased with the appearance and cleanliness. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, the furniture was nice, and the bathroom was clean. There were no frills but it was more than adequate for our needs. The one exception to that was the shower: the stall was small and the shower head was immovable and mounted rather low so we had to contort a bit to get our hair washed. We're not tall people by any means--anyone over 5'7" or so might really be uncomfortable.

The staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. I will consider staying at another Motel 6 in the future...as long as they have updated their wifi policy.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Laura, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are glad to be able to provide Wi-Fi to our guests and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with our policy. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews