We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly clean Motel 6 in a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Reviewed 24 July 2017

All Motel 6's have had an upgrade to look more clean, sleek and modern; laminate floors, the bedding and decor is updated and the bathrooms have new showers and sleek vessel sinks and black counter-tops. Your accommodations here are the bare minimum for the low price: beds, desk, TV, luggage rack. The rooms are also REALLY small, but that's ok. There is no continental breakfast or coffee offered, but there are some vending machines for snacks and soft drinks next to the lobby.

This particular Motel 6 was OK and quiet even though it was next to the freeway and it had a nice, clean looking outdoor pool (that we didn't use). The unit we were in had no bugs, and the sheets and pillow-cases were very clean and the non-smoking room smelled good. The shower was nice and the beds were very firm and I thought they were comfortable (though spouse thought they were way too firm and had the "worst nights of sleep ever")

Even though the room was clean, it did have a couple cosmetic and house-keeping issues: the wall paint had been scuffed off in places, part of the counter had not been wiped down and the comforters had some stains on them, and a light was burned out.

Things you should know: you get one wash-cloth even in a double room and there is a fee for the wi-fi. In an era when even really cheap motels have free wi-fi, that was a bit of surprise. We had good cell phone coverage here so that wasn't an issue.

Room Tip: some rooms up steep stairs; if your party has accessibility issues ask for ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abeaumonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017

Stayed here 2 nights ago and it was horrible. It was dirty, the bedspreads had stains on them, there were what looked like cigarette burns in the blankets and sheets, the furniture looked pretty beat up. I stayed here a year ago and it was clean...but it has really gone downhill. Filthy!

Room Tip: Stay some place else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moomooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Moomooey, Thank you for your feedback. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure during your recent stay. Please know the conditions you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize for the inconveniences you describe. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We were disappointed with our room. It was listed as a non-smoking room but it smelled of stale smoke. The bed covers had holes in them which looked like cigarette burns. There was no fridge and no facial tissues. The room was clean enough but the whole room looked tired.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Arthur, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We do accommodate our smoking guests with assigned smoking rooms and are sorry you experienced dissatisfaction with the concerns you describe. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues you experienced. Please know the issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Close to highway 101, lots of food choices across the street. Clean room, very basic amenities. No facial tissues, one wash cloth, no refrigerator, or coffee in room. Pay $3/day for Wifi. Had a vending machine area and pay laundry. Much better food and drink choices across the street in a strip mall. Not bad place to sleep, but very basic, which for about $70 per night is average.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank chicogardenguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, C at Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Chico Garden Guy, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues you describe. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Motel 6 in Arcata and Fort Bragg CA. Both hotels had updated rooms. At first sight the rooms do look better than before. More modern. A big change is carpeting has been replaced with wood looking floor.
We took our 4 year old grandson on vacation with us. After giving him shower he walked barefoot in the room. Within minutes the bottom of his feet ended up filthy dirty! This is no exaggeration! This happened at both locations. Very disgusting. Cleaning staff badly needs to improve floor cleaning routine. If you stay there, wear slippers!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank 237kathiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Laura, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our customer service, but with your experience we have fallen short and would like to apologize for the service issues you experienced. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. We would like to make sure you spoke with our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to have a record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.5 km away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#8 of 10 in Arcata
255 reviews
0.0 km away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
12.1 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#11 of 21 in Eureka
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
3.6 km away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
139 reviews
0.1 km away
Super 8 Arcata
Super 8 Arcata
#6 of 10 in Arcata
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University

Address: 4755 Valley West Blvd, US 101/Redwood Highway at Giuntoli Lane, Arcata, CA 95521-4637
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range: $91 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University Hotel Arcata
Motel Six Arcata
Arcata Motel Six
Arcata Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing