We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Flying Fish tour was amazing!”

Afishinados Charters
Book In Advance
More Info
US$48.15*
and up
Catallac Cocktail Cruise
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: You have seen Avalon, now experience Catalina Island aboard Catallac, our 50' power catamaran, purpose-built to tour the waters surrounding Catalina Island. Our Flying Fish Tour is our most popular tour for families, and the adults enjoy our Catallac Cocktail Cruise. Do you prefer private charters? Catallac is available for sightseeing parties, weddings, family reunions and corporate events (up to 49 passengers). If you prefer a more personal setting our 40' Afishinado and our 30' Gusto are set up for smaller groups (6 max) for private charters to tour and fish Catalina Island. Charter us and enjoy the isle in style.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed 15 June 2017

My husband, daughter and I booked the Flying Fish tour during our recent vacation on Catalina Island. We were not sure what we could expect during the evening out as we had never witnessed a flying fish. Well, the tour exceeded every expectation that we had. We saw hundreds of Flying Fish, seals, cranes and the beautiful sites around the island with an amazing sunset for added beauty. The Captain offered some great history and information on the island as we were looking for the fish. What an amazing evening. This will be permanently on our agenda when visiting the island. Thank you Afishinados!!!!!!!

2  Thank Loralee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 June 2017

It was a pleasure to have you out on the water with us, Loralee! Thanks so much for joining us -- I had a great time serving you. Next time you're looking to go to Catalina, come and see us again.
-Captain John, Owner/ Captain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"flying fish tour"
in 38 reviews
"captain john"
in 56 reviews
"sea lions"
in 18 reviews
"white sea bass"
in 2 reviews
"great fishing trip"
in 2 reviews
"two harbors"
in 8 reviews
"catalina island"
in 17 reviews
"spiny lobster"
in 2 reviews
"smaller fish"
in 2 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 2 reviews
"lobster trap"
in 2 reviews
"crew"
in 19 reviews
"boat"
in 61 reviews
"bonita"
in 3 reviews
"hoop"
in 2 reviews
"seas"
in 3 reviews
"herons"
in 2 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Our 4 hrs on the Afishinados was a beautiful experience. The Captain and 1st mate arrived on time, were very professional and very informative about Catalina. We would highly recommend the Afishinados to see Catalina Island from a different prospective, through the eyes of islanders...and their love for this beautiful place. We are looking forward to returning and going on a fishing adventure with The Afishinados and it's wonderful crew!

Thank islandluvrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 June 2017

It was a pleasure to have you out on the water with us! We strive to exceed expectations on every outing. Thanks for recognizing our efforts. Serving great folks like you makes our job so fun. I hope you'll join us for another adventure soon.
-Captain John, Owner/ Captain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We contacted Afishinados for a celebration of life service for our father. They were professional, kind, warm and most importantly reliable! They arrived on time with a clean boat piloted by a captain who was knowledgable and friendly. I highly recommend them!

Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capt-JFK, Owner at Afishinados Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to offer such services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and I wanted to go deep sea fishing while out on Catalina. We booked Afishinados because of the really good reviews. My wife enjoyed her time even though she didn't fish, I on the other hand had been on deep sea fishing adventures before and this was not one of them. When I have gone before we always go so far out that you can't even see land anymore. And never had a problem catching fish. Here, we were right up next to the island surrounded by every other boat from other fishing charters. There were lines getting crossed, birds and even a sea lion stealing our bait.
We were out there a little over 4 hours and we only caught two fish. One we decided to throw back because it was barely legal limit and the other was a Bonito (tuna family)(picture). It was fun reeling him in, a fighter. Out captain told us that a lot of people don't think it is a good fish to eat but it is. People just don't know how to store or prepare it. We didn't weigh it but it did easily fed three grown adults. We took it to the BlueWater Grille that they prepared for us. They called it "bronzed". Oh my word... It was the best fish I had ever eaten(picture).
Now back to the boat. For the most part it was a decent trip. Maybe it was part my fault for not asking where we were going. In my other trips we always went for Kingfish, Tuna, Shark, Redfish, or Marlin (deep sea). All of the other boats had snacks and drinks. Nothing on this one. In fact the captain brought his own thermos of coffee and what looked like was leftovers from the night before. Make sure you get up early enough to get something to eat or prepare and take on the boat. Our captain was very knowledgeable about the island and it's history. He also knew the fish when they would bite and they way they would take off with it. Also no need to worry about taking the bait or the fish off the hook, he will do it for you. At the end of the trip he would clean and package it all up for you.
I'm not trying to give Afishinados a bad review. I am just telling my experience and helping other people to be better prepared. All in all we had a good time and a great catch. That's all it took was ONE. We got the experience we wanted. Caught and restaurant prepared equals for a great night sitting outside on the the water of the restaurant (picture).

Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afishinado, Owner at Afishinados Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Well I cannot say I like the 3 stars, but this is a pretty good review; good boat, good captain, good experience and good information for others planning a trip to Catalina.

We love going off-shore (deep sea), and do those kinds of trips, however not on a 4 hour charter. Going off-shore requires travel time. If you want to book a 'deep sea' charter, please plan for an 8 - 10 hour charter. Most boats leave the night before for such a trip.

However, your best value is to book us to fish Catalina Island (4 - 6 hours is enough time since we do not have very far to go). We have fished this island for many years and know the challenges and opportunities. We cannot guarantee you a trophy fish any more than you could expect a hole-in-one on your first golf outing...but, it could happen and it does happen on a regular basis. That's fishin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Fishing with the Afishnados Charter was a great time. Everyone caught fish. We even got a shark. It was small but it was a shark nonetheless. The guys were quite knowledgeable about boats, fish population, and the fishing industry. It was established early that they liked the movie, Sharknado. This is an all around great company who will bring soon expand their fishing expertise to Florida. This was s great charter for our family and we would like to fish with y'all again in VA Beach or farther south!

Thanks and have a great season!
-Robert Koziol

Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capt-JFK, Owner at Afishinados Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

We are located in Avalon Harbor, on Catalina Island. Not sure how you heard we are expanding to VA, but that is not true. We do own the trademark for the name Afishinados, but there are other versions of the name that you might be getting confused over. Sorry. We are experts at fishing Catalina and plan to stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Afishinados Charters also viewed

 

Been to Afishinados Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing