We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favorite place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our new favorite place to stay.”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We regularly visit Avalon and have stayed at many of the hotels and most were quite nice but after our last stay at another hotel we were a little wary. That apprehension passed as soon I we entered our room. The room was large and spacious with wood floors, very clean and beautiful. A huge comfortable bed and there is plenty of drawer and closet space. I'm not easily impressed with fixtures since most are very basic and plain but I fell in love with the bathroom sink. The most beautiful sea-foam green sparkly iridescent sink combined with their choice of faucet fixture is a nice elegant touch.

The area is quiet and peaceful and the hotel staff, everyone, is helpful, courteous and so friendly and they're accessible at almost any given time of day or evening.

Our small group used three rooms on two different floors and all of us enjoyed the peaceful comfort of Casa Mariquita. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2SeaRnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    69
    31
    13
    9
See reviews for
51
103
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We went over to Catalina Island for 2 days from Hollywood.
The hotel was pre booked for us and we weren't sure what to expect. Looking from the outside of the hotel it didn't look as nice but once we saw our room we were amazed at how beautiful it was.
Our bed was massive with a TV, the bathroom was lovely, our living room was very comfortable with a sofa, armchair and a large TV. We also had a balcony with an amazing view. We were very happy that we got to stay at this hotel as we loved it.
The staff at the front desk were very friendly letting us leave our luggage there upon checkout.
Catalina Island isn't very big and the hotel was situated in the perfect place to get around.
I would recommend hiring a golf buggy to get around. Search around around for the best service first though as some are cheaper than others, and with some companies you have to be 25 or 21 to drive one!
There were lots of restaurants near by with all different types of food. I would recommend the fish and chip shop at the end of the pier. I would also recommend Olaf's ice cream which is gorgeous.
2 days is enough to stay here for as there is only so much to do.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJH92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

If you are looking for an affordable option in Avalon, I would highly recommend this hotel. Rates (at least for mid-week when we stayed) were very affordable for Catalina Island for what you get - it is NOT a dump. There are many more hotels in Avalon that are much more money and not as nice. From the reservation process thru our stay (only 1 night), everyone was very friendly. I think it was probably a former apartment living area prior to becoming a hotel the way all the rooms are situated. It is slightly uphill, easy walkability with a short way up the hill. This provides the benefit of being very close to the main area but still quiet at night. The rooms are very nice - we stayed in 2 adjoining rooms (one with a king bed and one with 2 queen beds). The bathroom vanity area was very nice, the beds were very comfortable and the TVs in the rooms were very large flat screen TVs. There are 2 public decks located in the hotel with beautiful views off the sides of them for happy hour, etc. They also have a locked storage area for luggage before checkin and towels you can use on the beach for $1 each rental. Breakfast is included in the room; I think it is served near the checkin area. However, there is no place to sit down there; it is a takeaway service. We did not experience the breakfast as we left too early. I understand it is very basic continental - cereal, muffins, etc. I would definitely stay there if I was looking for that price range.

Also, we rented 2 chaise lounge chairs in the front row for the day at Descanso Beach Club for $50 for both. Perfect place to spend the day with a home base. Luxurious chairs with food/beverage service, umbrellas, etc. Nice restrooms, massage tent nearby, rental of SUP, kayak and snorkel equipment nearby, etc. I would definitely choose the front row of chairs if it is available. The rows behind obviously have encumbered views of those ahead of them and the rows behind are very tight.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dcwoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The hotel is very nice looking with good patios. Our room was on the second floor and met our needs for two queen beds. They have a continental breakfast but we didn't bother with it. Overall great hospitality and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council Bluffs, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This was our first time to Avalon so we weren't sure what to expect. The staff went above and beyond to help us. The patio had great views. The room was nice. The hallways were beautiful with all of the plants. Close to the beach and downtown, but quiet. I was sad to leave and if we ever return, I would not hesitate to stay at Casa Mariquita again. A big thank you to the wonderful staff for making our stay so pleasurable and to Alicia for coming back to the hotel to help us.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
497 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#13 of 20 in Avalon
360 reviews
0.2 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
281 reviews
0.2 km away
El Terado Terrace
El Terado Terrace
#10 of 20 in Avalon
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mariquita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mariquita Hotel

Property: Casa Mariquita Hotel
Address: 229 Metropole Ave, PO Box 1021, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Avalon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price range (per night): $258 - $658
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Mariquita Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting beautiful Catalina Island, you will find a gem of a hotel called The Casa Marquita. Located a short walk from the bustling shops and restaurants on front street, Crescent Ave, the Casa Maraquita offers a quiet and comfortable place to stay. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Casa Mariquita boasts classic Spanish architecture keeping with the traditional charm of Avalon, Santa Catalina Island.Built in 1990, Casa Mariquita Hotel is among the newest built of all Catalina Island hotels. We offer a variety of Catalina Island hotel packages so that you can get the most out of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Mariquita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mariquita Avalon
Casa Mariquita Hotel Avalon, Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing