We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Top Rated Service & Awesome Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Terado Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Terado Terrace
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“Top Rated Service & Awesome Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I had read about the reviews before selecting this hotel to stay with my family. I must say they exceeded our expectation with their extraordinary service. The location is minutes from all the village activities with clean rooms and comfortable beds.

Given the make of our family and my elderly mom, Alvin went out of his way to upgrade our room to help my mom with an easier access. That meant a lot to us and made our stay so much more relaxing.

They have a courtesy taxi that picks you up from the landing and to my surprise for a minimal fee they took our luggage to the landing baggage area at check out time so we can spent the rest of the day hands free.

This hidden family owned gem is the one I will visit the next time I plan our trip to Catalina.

Room Tip: We stayed at the townhouse & loved it. I imagine the other ones are just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    110
    45
    18
    14
See reviews for
125
172
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Aloha! We have had the most remarkable stays on the isle of Catalina at El Terado Terrace. A quaint little island should have a quaint little hotel and El Terado Terrace is it!
We stayed at the El Terado in May 2011 in the two bedroom townhouse and found the experience precious and perfect... Everything was spotlessly clean and well taken care of. We took advantage of the back patio to have our open air meals. Very quiet, just the sound of the occasional golf cart cruising by. Ivan, the manager, was a gracious and accomodating host. The hotel is located up the hill a brisk walk, but we found that the walk to downtown and back was invigorating and a good way to burn those calories from the ice cream and goodies we would consume during the day. We have stayed here twice in the past few years, and we will continue to keep coming back. Stay in the two bedroom townhouse if you have a family. Catalina Island is truly an experience everyone should have. It is like stepping back in time. So much to see and experience. Just love this island and El Terado Terrace!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coco-n-gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Two years ago, my wife and I wanted to get away for a weekend at Catalina. After a lot of research, we found El Terado Terrace and decided to go for it. Although it may look like it is hidden away from the main areas in Avalon, it is actually a short walk from downtown. When we looked at the other hotels right on the street, we couldn't help but think that we made the best choice -- not only because the hotel is clean, large and comfortable, but also because it is quiet and secluded -- but yet close to everything you want! We loved it so much there, we're going back soon. We're looking forward to it!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiyong K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We just spent a girls weekend in Catalina and stayed at El Terado Terrace. We stayed in one of their 2 bedroom townhouse. Ivan the Hotel manager was very accomodating the whole weekend. I recommend this hotel to every one. We will do this again this next year. Thanx Ivan!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiancaGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Our one night stay at the El Terado was more than we expected. We love to walk and where delighted by the proxity to downtown. We really appreciated the quiete nights rest, away from the hustle and bustle of the harbor!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cracicot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.4 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Terado Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Terado Terrace

Property: El Terado Terrace
Address: 230 Marilla Ave, PO Box 1295, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price range (per night): $169 - $406
Hotel Class:3 star — El Terado Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Islands Best Hotel Value, no other Catalina Island hotel offers full size suites & townhomes at hotel room prices. All new spacious suites. Deluxe Hotel Suites with granite counter tops, fully equipped kitchens with full sized refrigerators and stoves. Large 37 inch flat screen TVs and classic Catalina art by a local artist. Choose a king or two double beds. Simply the best value on the island. No other Catalina Island hotel even comes close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your El Terado Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Terado Terrace Hotel Avalon
El Terado Terrace Mini Hotel
El Terado Terrace Avalon, Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing