We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beachside getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Oceanside, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect beachside getaway”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Last week we stayed at Avila Lighthouse Suites because our usual preferred hotel, Apple Farm in San Luis Obispo was booked. We did not know what to expect since Avila has changed so much since we lived in the area 20 years before. Let me tell you we were very pleasantly surprised! We received a fantastic rate for this suite which consisted of two rooms- a family type room with couch, TV, etc and a bedroom with two queen beds. The room was impressively clean, and let me tell you, I am picky about that. It almost looked like noone had ever used the room before. We had a lovely view overlooking the pool on the second story and great view of the ocean. Beds were comfy, rooms were very quiet and there were more than enough towels, including pool towels in the room. Two clean robes hanging in the closet which my girls love. Another great feature of stays at this hotel? A free breakfast with plenty of things to choose from including: fresh fruit, yogurts, pastries, fresh-made waffles, cereals, breads and more. My only complaint about the room was that there was only one small garbage in the room, and with 3 rooms (including bathroom) there should have been more. In light of all other concerns, that one seems silly though. The reservation process was smooth, and they even gave us a better rate than quoted when calling the hotel direct as my husband had seen something cheaper on Expedia (though the room was no doubt in a lesser location). At checkin we received fresh, hot cookies (nice touch), and there was a nice covered and secured garage to park in. The area was perfect for our stay. The town is little, but there are several good restaurants (definitely look up Custom House), the beach is right there and there are several shops, places to wine taste, etc. And the beach- it's right there in front of you, complete with long pier for walking. Next time we return to the area, I will want to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barb099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    161
    65
    18
    14
See reviews for
391
220
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

At check-in the lady was very rude, and it went down hill from there. Our room was ok, but the pool was filled with young kids, so definitely not for adult enjoyment. Went out one day and when we came back after 4:00, room still hadn't been cleaned. Called front desk - more rudeness. I wrote a letter voicing my concerns when I got home, which was totally ignored! Get the feeling they just don't care about their guests. I go to Avila or Pismo Beach two to three times a year, and won't stay there again. It's back to the La Fonda for me.

Room Tip: If you are bringing kids, it doesn't matter what room you get. If you are just adults, pick a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Rainy day...not much to do at Avila Beach. The room was really nice and clean.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Came here on a group tour and didn't expect much, received more. The views are great, a low-key atmosphere. The bathroom and bedroom parts of the suite were spacious and well-appointed. Living room area would have been cramped had we planned to use the space for sleeping. Breakfast just your basic best-Western make-your-own-waffles type stuff. Had a quiet and comfortable sleep.

Room Tip: second floor room was nice and walked out to garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank califbikegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel in March 2012. Our room was average but had a lovely view. The service was also average and the breakfast was a very basic buffet comprising of make your own waffles, yoghurt and bright coloured pastries and cereal.

Room Tip: Ask for a front line view over the beach rather than the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
1.6 km away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
680 reviews
0.2 km away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
861 reviews
8.6 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,415 reviews
4.7 km away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
833 reviews
8.4 km away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Lighthouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Lighthouse Suites

Property: Avila Lighthouse Suites
Address: 550 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Avila Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
Price range (per night): $316 - $814
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Lighthouse Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the sand, the Avila Lighthouse Suites is perfectly nestled in the quaint beach town of Avila Beach between the mountains and the sea. Our all-suite beachfront hotel offers comfortable and spacious two-room suites, each with a private balcony or patio to admire the beautiful views. Guests enjoy a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, parking, spa services at our on-site spa facility, beachfront heated pool and Jacuzzi and family play areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avila Lighthouse Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Lighthouse Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Lighthouse Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing