We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$359
Hotels.comUS$359
PricelineUS$359
TravelocityUS$359
FindHotelUS$359
TripadvisorUS$359
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,326)
Filter reviews
1,326 results
Traveller rating
1,092
146
34
30
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,092
146
34
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nachos croissants pies welcome basket wine reception at noon parting gift bottle of champagne snack basket free snacks happy hour costco members wine tasting double shower wine hour spa room crackers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 1,326 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2022 via mobile

We could not have enjoyed our stay more. Stayed in one of the kitchenette rooms with a balcony. Parking under building was important on a crowded Saturday, with elevator right into the lobby. Welcome basket with free soda and snacks. They feed you! Chips and salsa bar+ in the afternoon, wine and charcuterie in evening, pie la mode before bed, and to-die-for fresh baked croissants and coffee in the morning. Everything clean, with lovely decorations. Great staff. One short block from the beach. Outstanding! (TV choices were thin— basic cable—but we didn’t care)

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank zxg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2022

It was such a pleasure to welcome you to Avila La Fonda Hotel! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark with our comfortable suites, plentiful amenities, and excellent beachside location. Thanks for your kind words, and please allow us another chance to serve you at our lovely property!

Sincerely,
Steff Prado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2022 via mobile

This property is an homage to Spanish villas from long ago, which is aesthetically pleasing; however, it makes adding more modern conveniences troublesome and cumbersome, like air conditioning, which, in the case of our room is a portable unit that takes up floor space, lessening its beauty. There’s a Keurig coffee maker in the room that seems unnecessary because coffee is always available in the lobby area. We had a wonderful private patio that we used a lot, but wasn’t cleaned for a long time until I borrowed a broom to clean it myself. The staff was super attentive and rectified every issue very quickly, but if I pay $500 a night I feel proactivity should come first. No TV channel guide was in the room, no instructions for lighting the outdoor fireplace; I felt like I was constantly having to figure stuff out. The croissants at breakfast were great, as well as the wine and cheese afternoon and the pie in the evening. The location was ideal.

Room tip: Bring a small vehicle if available.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank warrenbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2022

Dear Warren,
Though we're excited you were impressed with our aesthetics and service, we do understand that we have room to do even better. Our team is committed to positive change and will use your feedback to address your concerns and ensure our future guests have a much more enjoyable experience. Thank you for your time, and we wish you well.

Sincerely,
Steff Prado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2022 via mobile

This was our first time staying at the La Fonda Hotel. We decided to stay here to celebrate our 10th anniversary. The staff made our stay so special. This hotel really has thought of all the extra touches from the welcome basket, champagne, nightly pie and ice cream and fresh croissants and coffee every morning. We enjoyed our stay here so much. I would highly recommend staying here. We will definitely be back soon!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AlissaAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2022

Dear Alissa,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Avila La Fonda Hotel to celebrate your anniversary. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our delicious on-site food and beverage options and had pleasant interactions with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Steff Prado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2022

We love Avila Beach and La Fonda! Exceptionally polite and helpful staff. Confortable rooms, and thoughful amenities. Only a block from the beachfront. We come back each summer, and highly recommend this property. We love adding our thoughts to the trip journal on the desk in the room. :)

Room tip: We love having a king with balcony on the second floor that overlooks the foutain and courtyard facing First Street..
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z4670AImichellew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2022

Thank you for making our day with your wonderful headline - "Wonderful Boutique Hotel"! That's when we know we have lived up to our own high expectations. We are thrilled you enjoyed everything about your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again at Avila La Fonda Hotel.

Sincerely,
Steff Prado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2022 via mobile

Our 4th trip to LaFonda was even better than before! Best staff, comfortable lovely room, great amenities…all around, our favorite small hotel in the world. We love the quiet cozy lobby, the fresh pie every night, and the one-block walk to the beach and fun of the Avila waterfront. Couldn’t ask for anything more.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cindy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2022

Dear Cindy,
Thank you for your loyalty to Avila La Fonda Hotel; it's always a thrill for us to welcome back a valued guest. We are so glad that you appreciated our friendly team and delicious offerings and pleased that our accommodations were the perfect fit as usual. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Steff Prado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews