We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Independence Square
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Reviews (51)
    Filter reviews
    51 results
    Traveller rating
    13
    24
    7
    3
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    13
    24
    7
    3
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsparking passthe rooftop hot tubralph lauren storegreat locationin townbus stationcommon areasgood sizeshops and restaurantsski triphotel jeromegusnoisedenvermountainsunitscouch
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    44 - 49 of 51 reviews
    Reviewed 1 October 2007

    We booked this room at the last minute and weren't disappointed. The room was nicely appointed with sofa, 2 lounge chairs, a small table and chairs. There was a microwave and small refrig. It was nice to relax and look out the tall windows toward town and the mountains. Check in was fine but not terribly welcoming or friendly. Parking can be an issue as we hunted for a place to park on the street. There are no
    designated spaces for guests to park. It is not a bed and breakfast atmosphere--it's more like a small hotel. It's
    convenient to walk all over town and is just down from the
    gondola if you are there during ski season. Breakfast was a typical continental breakfast--juice, yogurt, bagels, coffee. Book room 203 if you like lots of windows and light.

    • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check-in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank 96traveler
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 July 2007

    We stayed at Independence Square B&B over July 4th weekend because everywhere else was booked. There were some nice aspects -- our room was very clean and most things were in order. The jacuzzi on the roof
    was kind of nice to watch the fireworks from. But while there were no
    major problems, there were a litany of annoyances.

    When we arrived, the air conditioner was off and our room was in the 80s and stifling. We left the air conditioner on high for several hours and returned to find it still hot; only the fan was working. Power cycling the air conditioner worked and it seemed to function ok after that but the next day the maids left all the windows shades open so our room was boiling when we got back anyways. The drain in the sink didn't work, the coffee at breakfast was so old as to be inedible (and I am not picky) and when we got up to the jacuzzi for the 4th, it was so hot we could barely get in, and had to spend 10 minutes mixing the water. The second day we got to breakfast there were no napkins and we had to wait 5-10 minutes for the desk clerk to get off the phone to ask for them. The yogurt they served at breakfast was past the sell-by date. This is not a "B&B" -- while there is a "common room" on each floor, they're not used and as another reviewer stated, breakfast is not exactly lovingly prepared.

    Overall, for what you pay in Aspen, I'd hope for some more attention to detail. The location is good if you ski, but I can't recommend this place unless you get a stellar price.

    • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check-in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    2  Thank Beth77
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    pennyoak, web marketing manager at The Independence Square, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

    Hello, and thanks for your review.

    It has been some time since your stay at the Independence Square hotel in downtown Aspen, but our management team felt compelled to respond to give you an update.

    The Independence Square is a historic hotel located in the heart of downtown Aspen, and was built in the late 19th century. It is one of the few places in Aspen that offer "lodge" (or traditional hotel-style) rooms. While not a large a the modern hotel room, the Indy offers convenience and variety (each unit is decorated differently) right on the Cooper Avenue Mall and only one block from the gondola.

    Frias Properties of Aspen now manages the Independence Square. There's an entirely new management team in place and many of the units have been remodeled. Also, many of the units now feature air conditioning! We have also improved the quality of the daily complimentary continental breakfast.

    If you ever decide to come back to Aspen, give the improved Independence Square a look, or call one of our vacation specialists directly at Frias Properties, Aspen's leader in vacation rental lodging.

    Thanks again, and happy travels!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 July 2007

    The location can't be beat. The rooftop jacuzzi is worth the entire cost of the stay. The rooms are simple but more than adequate. I find it funny someone from England would call the rooms small and the breakfast chilly coming from the land of tiny rooms and dreadful food.

    • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check-in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    1  Thank RayPays
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    A TripAdvisor Member
    colorado
    13
    Reviewed 15 September 2005

    My family stayed for a weekend in a deluxe room at the Independece Square over HBO Comedy Festival week. The accomodations couldn't have been better. The roof top Jacuzzi and the Aspen Athetic Club were our favorite places to relax. The location is centrally located in the midst of town activities, shops, and restaurants with excellent views. During the winter they provide a free cheese and wine hour! Who doesn't love that!

    The baked danishes, fruit, and yogurt hit the spot every morning. We will stay with the Independence Square every year.

    • Stayed: February 2005
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    A TripAdvisor Member
    Oxford, UK
    110
    Reviewed 12 June 2005

    I stayed here for a week in Febuary 2005. Apart from the location which was good this hotel has very little else to offer. The rooms are very tired and smell. They are also of a small size and not well appointed. The included breakfast is not worth the trouble unless you like cold eggs and stale baggles. Some of the reception staff were quite rude and unhelpful also. Despite my poor lodgings I still loved Aspen and would recommend paying a little more to stay in a real hotel where they actually care.

    My week previous at the Crestwood at Snowmass could not have been more of a contrast with great staff and great rooms

    • Stayed: February 2005
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    pennyoak, Manager at The Independence Square, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

    Hello, and thank you for your review.

    It has been some time since your review, but our management team felt compelled to write and give you an update about the Independence Square hotel in downtown Aspen.

    A lot has happened since your stay. Frias Properties of Aspen is now managing the building and the units. Frias is Aspen's leader in vacation rental lodging. Under the Frias flag, the Independence Square has flourished. We have a completely new staff, and many of the rooms have been remodeled. We have also improved the complimentary continental breakfast served daily.

    The Independence Square is a historic building, built in the late 19th century. True, it does not offer the size that today's modern hotels offer, but it's location and significance cannot be matched. If you ever make it back to Aspen, we hope you'll give the improved Indy Square a chance.

    Happy travels.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews