We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Economy Inn(Arcadia)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desoto Motel(Arcadia)
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$150
US$138
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte(Port Charlotte)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$94
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
US$98
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte(Port Charlotte)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte(Port Charlotte)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
10
14
7
10
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
14
7
10
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstent campersoff roadbrick paversdriving aroundatv trailsbath housean adultspring breakbingobuddytoysrvcirclespeedtongatorsplay
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My husband, 11 year old daughter and I stayed at Peace River Campground for two nights and a day (they only charge $10 to stay until sunset on the day of departure). We were in a travel trailer and stayed on site #19. If you are looking for a crisp, clean concrete pad to put your RV on where there are no kids, no dogs, no life and no noise... do everyone there who loves the place a favor and stay at Riverside Resort. Or pull your rig into a cemetery. However, if you are looking for a place that feels like camping... with beautiful trees, paths through the woods leading to the beautiful Peace River, good, honest, hard working (mostly blue collar) folks who enjoy a couple of beers and riding an ATV... THIS IS YOUR PLACE. We don't personally have an ATV or golf cart, but sure wish we did. Everyone respected the rules and it was quiet during quiet time. But there were families with kids and dogs and ATVs and campfires having a great time. REAL PEOPLE. There is a nice breakfast on Saturday and Sunday mornings for cheap. Bingo and an ice cream social on Saturday night. Bingo was fun and you can win a good amount of $$ if you play a few cards. Where else can you have a bowl of ice cream and play about 8 games of bingo for $3 per person? We had a really good time there.
I think the rates may be a little on the higher side, but it is truly the only campground of it's kind in the area. George and Johnnie have the market cornered and they know it. :)
You should at least try it once. Unless you are a snob. Then please stay away and let the rest of us have some fun.
Also, try Slim's BBQ in Arcadia if you head into town. Good stuff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FiremeyersWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

There have been complaints about this place but i have none. I have been in the wilderness portion for two weeks and will stay two more. Its very quiet and peaceful here. On the weekends there are a bunch of yahoo's riding there four wheelers around at the posted speed of 9.5 mph. More silly than annoying. During the week i am virtually alone. The staff knows i am working and is diligent about keeping an eye on my stuff. Free showers. Laundry on site. Informal breakfast on weekends, nice people, great river, what more could i want. Yes they sell wood and charge for guests but they are a business. If you want absolute quiet on the weekend it might not be for you. Otherwise 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nhjunque4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I were looking for a place to camp by the Peace River and hunt for sharks teeth the next morning. We pulled into the Peace River campground thinking it might be nice. If you enjoy ridiculous prices, drinking, ATVs running right by your tent, noisy neighbors, and absolutely no natural beauty, then this is the perfect place for you! We were shocked that they intended to charge us $30/night for a PRIMITIVE campsite. Access to running water was quite a distance from the campsite and only port-a-potties for restrooms. They also informed us that they were the only place to camp in the area and the nearest campground was in Naples... at least 60 miles away. THIS WAS A LIE!!! We high-tailed it out of there. After stopping at the nearby canoe outpost, we learned that you can camp for only $10/night right on the river at a local county park. We decided to park our vehicle at the park and kayak to a campsite along the river. It was beautiful, serene, and isolated... 100x better than anything the Peace River Campground offered.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, this place is terrible!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank OverStreetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My family went to PRC the week BEFORE 4th of July and it was empty! After our trip, I heard that this place is always packed but this was the perfect time to be there. There were about 10 other campers there and we were spaced out perfectly. We took an RV so we didn't have a bunch of 4-wheelers driving around our site near our stuff. We were close enough to the bathrooms, which were decent. Our dog pee'd on a blanket so we used the washer/dryer near the bathroom and all worked well. Good place to take the kids.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Live_Love_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is at least our 6th or 7th time at Peace River Campground. A few years back we use to go with friends and rent a primitive site...tents and sleeping bags. That sort of thing. Now however, we meet up with a family member who has and RV and lots of toys (golf carts, ATVs, motorcycles, etc). We had a great time... visited over Labor weekend. My only complaint for this trip was how crowed it was - but I can't hold that against PRC, after all it was Labor Day weekend. My one recommendation would be to never go to PRC and rent a primitive site. The ATVers and motorcycle riders have taken over that part of the grounds. People ride hard and FAST from sunrise to sunset. While me and my group had a great time on all our toys, I can't imagine that the people we (and everyone else) were zooming by in tents enjoyed it as much.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjbenitez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews