We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain Morgan's Retreat
Ranked #23 of 57 Hotels in Ambergris Caye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

If you go make sure you are on the updated side. Some of the rooms are dated. The staff though is amazing and friendly. I loved them. The resort itself has multiple pools. I loved the beach view. They were under renovation when I went and the kitchen was closed but they made accommodations for food. It is a little far from the city so be prepared to rent a golf cart so you can get around.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Jonae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you kindly for your review of Captain Morgan’s Retreat. We appreciate your kind words about our staff – they were well-received. It is our pleasure to report our restaurant is now open with exciting new options and local favorites. Many positive updates are currently being made to all our units. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

Recreation activities were quite limited at the resort. There were very few guests. Resort restaurant was closed for part of our stay. Roads adjacent to the resort were marginal. They had a few old bicycles for us to borrow. I think the resort may be starting some renovation.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidduba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We are indeed in the process of renovating and upgrading Captain Morgan’s Retreat. Apart from the work we’re doing on our rooms, casino and general store, we have purchased new paddle boards and kayaks (which are free to use), new bikes, and we have snorkel equipment for use on day trips free of charge. We do however regret our kitchen having to be closed. We were taken by surprise by a maintenance issue at our restaurant, and unfortunately this forced us to reduce our kitchen service. But we’re happy to say we are very close to re-opening! Thank you for visiting and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

The cabin we rented was nice, clean and close to the beach. All downhill from there. A week before we were set to leave we recieved a notice that there kitchen was good to be closed during our stay. On such short notice we could not find other accommodations so we stayed there anyway. A ride into town for meals was offered on THEIR tight schedule. So much for a relaxing vacation. We opted to rent a golf cart from them at triple the going rate for golf carts on the island. They definitely take advantage of you being so far from town. If you do stay there also beware of the towel cards. If misplaced they are an added 25.00 dollars each. ( for something that we never used). There are many great places to stay in San Pedro unfortunately this is not one of them.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rickh523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainMorgansBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank-you for your feedback
We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your beach cabana during your stay.
We do however regret the issues you encountered as a result of our kitchen having to be closed. We were taken by surprise by a maintenance issue at our restaurant, and unfortunately this forced us to reduce our kitchen service, as well as some of our weekly events.
While breakfast, lunch and dinner options were still available for our guests, (as well as free shuttle into San Pedro for the dinner), we do wish there was more that we could have done.
Our golf carts are provided for the convenience of our guests so they do not have to go into town and rent one from a private operator. Ours also come with gas and insurance, and a guarantee that we’ll pick you up if something goes wrong with the unit.
Our towel deposit is only a deposit and is returned upon check-out, or whenever you bring the towel back to the front desk.
We hope you might reconsider and come and visit us again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Our experience at captain Morgan's was amazing. We were there during the "slow" season and it was great. There were not very many people so we were able to get a very personalized and individual experience.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brad_quiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you kindly for your recent review of Captain Morgan's Retreat. From all of the staff, we want to once again congratulate you on your honeymoon! We are delighted to hear you were able to enjoy our peaceful retreat. Our goal is to always provide a unique experience for each of our guests and we are happy you were able to experience this first hand. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

First Trip to Belize and we traded our Marriott for a 2 bedroom trade through interval. After reading reviews i started to doubt my decision to stay here and was reassured by staff that the reviews were from private owners on VRBO. When we pulled into the resort i knew i made a mistake to stay here but was going to give it a chance since we were committed for a week and brought another couple with us. At check in we were give a room on the north end by pool and the air conditioner in the shared living room did not work so we had to relocate to the south end by the pool, The resort was empty (usually they are closed in September) and this is the first year they have been open for business, In the first room we were assigned There were workers staying in the casitas and it was a very uncomfortable feeling to have the men workers staring at you in the pool. Also our balcony looked down on their room and They had clothes hung out in the open and it looks so trashy. We moved to the south building due to the air-conditioner being broken and it was a better situation. The room was pretty clean but you could see drink rings on the glass tables and and fingerprints on the stainless appliances. We were on the 3rd floor and the stairs were always covered in lizard and raccoon poop- It was disgusting, no on ever cleaned it up!!! There was trash behind our building that the staff was burning so we had the unpleasant smell of rubbish burning every day. Since there were only 14 rooms booked the restaurant and bar had an extremely limited menu. (Breakfast was a ham (1 slice ham) sandwich and was terrible and t also took over 45 minutes. We only ate here once, way too many good restaurants to eat here. We felt like we were in a deserted town, not a vacation atmosphere at this resort. It was an eerie feeling to walk around at night. The beach was kept nice and clean and the pool at the south end was pretty clean. This place needs is so run down and needs a lot of updating, everywhere you look you can see buildings in need of repair. The room was large and worked well for 2 couples. The water smelled like sulphur and we had to keep all the bathroom doors shut so the smell did not take over the condo. All The staff (especially Anna) was friendly and the Shuttle service was good. Will not return to CM.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank peyton0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainMorgansBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for writing a TripAdvisor review, we appreciate your feedback. There is a lot of activity underway at Captain Morgan's as we maintain and refresh the resort back to the standard our guests have come to enjoy. We're already getting some great early reviews. We have taken steps to ensure that working hours and our work teams disrupt our guests as little as possible during this time. However, we are happy to hear that the move our staff was able to make for you worked out nicely. We have taken the opportunity to review your observations and have gone over them with our maintenance and cleaning team to ensure that the issues are attended to. Our housekeeping staff typically does an outstanding job. We think the burning smells you encountered were the result of neighboring properties for the dates in question. Thank you for your kind words regarding our team, they were well-received. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you might give us another chance and stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambergris Caye hotels
9.6 km away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 55 in San Pedro
157 reviews
6.5 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#28 of 55 in San Pedro
834 reviews
12 km away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#41 of 55 in San Pedro
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.6 km away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#17 of 55 in San Pedro
907 reviews
0.8 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Morgan's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Morgan's Retreat

Address: 3 1/2 Miles From San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#20 Family Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#30 Romantic Hotel in Ambergris Caye
Price Range: $308 - $706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Morgan's Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a private 1,100-ft. beach, first-class accommodations, unforgettable tours, activities, and all the amenities you could ask for, Captain Morgan’s Retreat is a Belize resort worthy of consideration for your next Caribbean vacation. Located just a short boat ride north of San Pedro Town on the island of Ambergris Caye, Captain Morgan’s Retreat offers cozy thatched beach cabanas, spacious villas, and luxury condos, combining comfort perfectly with paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Captain Morgan's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Morgan`s Retreat Hotel San Pedro
Captain Morgans Retreat San Pedro
Captain Morgans Retreat Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing