We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banana Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ambergris Sunset Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Tang Inn(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$290
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
106
73
24
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
73
24
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloor fandouble bedrecommend hotelsmall fridgedogs barkingquiet roomwater coolertrade windscoffee makerminute walk into townpeanut butterclean bathroomsound of the waveswonderful breezeair conhotel is locatedambergris caye
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2016

The place met and exceeded our expectations. Thomas and Javier were great. Only downside was transportation unless you like to walk and ride a bike. Stayed for 4 weeks. My wife to my surprise wants to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank drich2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim S, Owner at Hotel del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Thank your for staying with us at Hotel del Rio. We so appreciate your response and the people their will be glad you enjoyed them and the place. Thanks Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Hotel del Rio was exactly what I was looking for in a budget caribbean hotel: fantastic location on the beach that was close enough to town to walk but far enough away to feel secluded, attentive staff that went out of their way to provide us with recommendations and advice, and clean well-maintained rooms (although the buildings themselves are in need of some repairs).
This is NOT a luxury hotel - this is a budget hotel in the caribbean. Do not expect luxurious towels or amenities. The luxury is being able to look out at the ocean for an affordable price!
I had the Cabana Chica - faces the beach. It had all the necessary basics and the location was the best on the property (in my opinion). Like all caribbean islands, there are bugs and lizards and what not but considering the location not very many. The in-room fans did a great job of keeping the room cool. You can also get a great cross-breeze by opening the window shutters (when its not raining). There were a few holes in the screens but only one or two mosquitos got into the room for the duration of the stay.
I stayed during the low season and so the hotel was mostly empty. Nice and peaceful. There is a central courtyard with a picnic table and hammocks that I imagine people hang out in when its busier.
Overall, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Cabana buildings overlook the beach and have great character.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim S, Owner at Hotel del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Thank you so much for this great review and for stay with us at Hotel del Rio. Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015

You can't beat the location of this spot. It's ON the beach - we literally watched the sunrise come up over the dock/ocean from our bed. It's outside of town enough that the noise won't bother you, but definitely close enough to walk. We even walked there from the airport. Owners were very helpful, wifi worked in the room. Rooms are pretty basic, and no AC in the hut we booked, but the fan and ocean breeze are all you need. Would definitely stay there again if I go back.

Stayed: August 2015
2  Thank tmk1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim S, Owner at Hotel del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

Thank you for your Great Review on Trip Advisor. We hope you will stay with us again. Jim Seale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

The good: fantastic location. It is near San Pedro, but far enough away that you don't have to deal with the noise and drunk people. We were there during the Costa Maya festival, which seemed more like spring break for central america, but Hotel Del Rio was far enough away that we didn't have to deal with a lot of the loud music and overall business.

The dock in front of the hotel was amazing. Shallow enough to swim and we would go out every night to star gaze.

the grounds were nicely upkept and beautiful.

The staff was incredibly friendly.
The air conditioning worked great.

The bad:
The bed was incredibly uncomfortable. The mattress we had was REALLY old. In fact, I tried not to think about what I was sleeping on.

The wifi didn't work in the room for about half the trip.

we had warm water the first night in the shower, but not the other four nights. Which I ended up feeling okay about, but my husband and our other friends were not a fan.

We went with another couple, and though our room was fine, only one outlet worked in their room. We had mini fridges, but theirs didn't work because of the lack of outlets.

Overall, it wasn't a bad experience, but I am not sure I would stay in those rooms again. It wasn't a bad value for the price that we paid.

Room Tip: seems like the cabana rooms are nicer, but they don't have A/C
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kassineal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim S, Owner at Hotel del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel del Rio. We appreciate you. Jim Seale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Highly recommend although it was quite hot in the room. More needs to be done about the cockroaches if possible. Everyone was so nice and loved the location! The staff attempted to do everything possible about any complaints that we had such as bring us fans and spray for bugs. Overall great value and had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim S, Owner at Hotel del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

Thank you for stay with us at Hotel del Rio on your recent stay in San Pedro. We appreciate you. Jim Seale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews