We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
106
73
24
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
73
24
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloor fandouble bedrecommend hotelsmall fridgedogs barkingquiet roomwater coolertrade windsminute walk into townpeanut butterclean bathroomsound of the waveswonderful breezecoffee and juiceair conhotel is locatedambergris caye
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Really loved the location, on the beach but up away from the busiest part. Lovely looking place with cabanas and main palapa. We actually stayed in a more modern but simple upstairs room which had fan and aircon. Enjoyed chatting to other guests over breakfast of fruit, toast and coffee. Friendly staff that helped us book day sailing and snorkelling trip and a taxi. And they prestocked our fridge with water and beer for our arrival!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BevandMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldelrio, Manager at Hotel del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We stayed in one of the one-room palapas and absolutely loved it. It was a very unique experience and perfect for our time at the Caye. The room consists of a double bed, a couple small tables, a lamp, a ceiling fan, a floor fan, and a mini fridge. The fans kept the room surprisingly comfortable and cool. The room was stocked with bottled water, linens, an extra blanket, towels, shampoo, conditioner, and soap. It even had a hair dryer which was unexpected. In the office there is a water cooler that can be accessed any time, along with a basket of sunscreens and insect repellants. We loved the view from the porch, the cinnamon coffee in the mornings, relaxing in the hammocks, and sitting on the dock looking out at the water. The room was very clean and we saw no insects. The windows are wooden slats that can be adjusted open or closed, and have screens.

Downsides to Hotel del Rio are very minor and easily can be planned for:
-the bathroom has a door, but the ceiling is not closed so the palapa is all one room. If you are shy you may want to ask your travel companion to step outside.
-our palapa backed up to a side street. It was NOISY at night with lots of dogs barking and motorcycles and carts flying by with loud music. Closing the slats helped a lot, as did running the floor fan for some white noise. With earplugs it would be just fine.

The greatest amenity was the staff. Joyce was amazing. She was happy to answer any questions regarding coordinating excursions and travel arrangements, dining recommendations and anything else. I would recommend Hotel del Rio to anyone looking for something more than a regular boring hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gatoinnacan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldelrio, Manager at Hotel del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

The property is small and intimate. Very spacious, functional rooms, with refrigerator, desk with chair, ceiling fan, and portable floor fan. Hammock in a room downstairs, spiral staircase that leads to a loft bedroom upstairs to two twin beds. This property lies between several walkable bars and restaurants. Hurricanes is like a building away (great restaurant). I highly recommend the property, if I ever came back I would come here. The beach directly across from the property is not necessarily swimmable, because it’s close to mangrove, but still scenic and walking distance to multiple piers.

OK my only complaint. The continental breakfast was a little laughable. It was literally 2 loafs of Bread, a jar of jelly and peanut butter. I saw a little Tupperware with sliced up pineapple. That was it.

The coffee was great tho! I had two cups of that. The office personnel was great, helpful and friendly.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Tyrant37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldelrio, Manager at Hotel del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We had to schedule a last-minute stay here and were able to secure a room for same-day check-in, which was a huge relief. Price was reasonable and room was spacious with a great private balcony (we stayed in the 2nd story room in the building at the center of the property). Unfortunately the room was not very clean but that was understandable since we came last minute; they cleaned everything right away once we asked. Housekeeping and the staff were very friendly and happy to give recommendations for fun things to do in the area. We rented a canoe and golf cart through the hotel office and had lots of fun. We also had several loads of laundry done and it was done promptly and with care.

For the price, it was a great deal. The mattress was hard and pillows were not very comfortable, but we didn't mind and still slept well. There was a considerable gap in the door so bugs could have got in, but we only had a couple mosquitoes and nothing ickier than that (perhaps we were just lucky). The shower had a decent amount of hot water but did take a long time to heat up. The kitchen was well-equipped and we were able to make a nice breakfast for ourselves one day.

All in all a nice place to stay for a good price, would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Second story room in the central building has a fabulous private balcony with an ocean view.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldelrio, Owner at Hotel del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

This place is awesome and worth the price. We Ioved the view from the upstair and definitely had a room the AC. The sunrises are gorgeous and you are right on the beach.

There is a store right around the corner and please try the Hungry Grouper!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tone F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews