We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, great people.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Terrazas Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Las Terrazas Resort
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Tybee Island, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place, great people.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We went to Belize primarlity to snorkel and enjoy the water. The water is incredibly beautiful and so are the people. Everyone was so nice, talkative and genuine. Never did I feel we were getting the "tourist smile job". Some of the great people - Mario, Noreen, Wallace, Nigel, Roldolfo and more. Went out on two snorkel / fish tours with Gasper and Tap - greate guys too - conch, lobster, snapper. Brought them back and Alex (Head Chef) of Las Terrassaz made them superbly for two nights of dinners.

The only compaint I had was not with the resort or people, but the beach. It is very shallow and lots of turtle grass. So really to enjoy the snorkeling and water (beside Kayaks) you really had to get on a boat at about $200 a pop 1/2 day.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    120
    31
    4
    6
See reviews for
243
325
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AvidTraveler
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Las Terrazas is fabulous!! Ambergris Caye is one of the most beautiful places on earth. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back.
Things that we would recommend:
1. Rent a golf cart. Las Terrazas is 3 ½ + miles from town---and you really need transportation if you want to go out to dinner at night. The water taxi upon arrival is wonderful, but would not recommend the water taxi every time you go to and from town. It is actually quite scary after dark. For parties of 2 or more, the golf cart is quite reasonable compared to water taxi fees. Also you do not have to plan your time around the water taxi schedule.
2. Recommended places to eat include:
a. Caliente---reasonably priced and awesome food
b. Sunset Grill—romantic and fun, you can feed the tarpon here
c. Caramba—reasonable and good Mexican food
d. Sail Away Café—best place for an awesome cup of coffee in the morning
3. The entire hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and attentive. Whenever we had a question, the staff was able to help us out.
4. For snorkel trips---avoid the dive shop right beside the hotel. They are much more expensive than the dive shops in town. We went through Searious Adventures and were very satisfied with the cost and the service and the range of trips available.

Belize & Las Terrazas were simply wonderful. We absolutely loved every minute & plan to come back soon!

Room Tip: Recommend a room by the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidTraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Well,
Where to start, prior to this trip I had been to Belize using one of Captain Ron’s properties. It was great that time around, but this time 100X’s of times better. My wife and I travel a fair bit, and I have had the pleasure of being many places in the world. Belize is by far my absolute favourite Caribbean destination.

We were married several months earlier and had planned to skip a part of Canadian winter and head south. Las Terrazas was the PERFECT choice. Initially we had booked for 2 weeks, but due to Continental Airlines being incompetent we arrived a day late.
Upon arrival you are greeted @ the airport by a taxi, we had Mosquito and his new helper. Followed by a 5 minute ride to a dock where one of the staff on a boat picks you up. Our first encounter was with Mario, very friendly and smiley. When you arrive @ the biggest dock on the island (the resort) you are greeted by smiles and drinks, this is always good. Your bags are taken for you and you're escorted to the check in. Upon checking in, post a walk down a dock with incredible views of the beach and surrounding area, you are taken to your room. This is where we found a nice touch was it was shown to us and we were told "Welcome to your HOME for the next 13 days", very nice.

We had one of the 3rd floor 2 bed/2bath suites with a pool on the balcony. FYI - ANY and all pictures on the website are fully accurate and not "done in perfect lighting" or "airbrushed" by any means. What you see on the website is what you actually get, (in all honestly possibly a touch better). Anyhow, it was an amazing room with all the amenities as listed on the site. There are several grocery stores in town that you can purchase your groceries and have the delivered; we had them sent as the road IS a little bumpy for you to have eggs and glass bottle rattling around. There were no extra costs, so why not.
The beach itself is beautiful, for those with an issue with the sea grass in front of the beach there is a cleared swimming area at the end of the dock, nothing to complain about there. Beaches are groomed daily and very well kept, and the pool is amazing and clean as any pool need be with tons of chairs to sit in and not 1000 other tourists to fight off for space either.

The "O" restaurant on site is AMAZING. The food, the staff, the drinks, all FANTASTIC. There is a nightly special and generally we got whatever the special was for dinner, and lunch, but had 99% of what was on the menu, and it was all great. Now, we had previously purchased a 5 day mean plan, so we could get a taste of the food and just relax the first day or two. I am on the fence whether or not I'd do it again, the liquor is NOT covered nor was any of the lobster/sea food. The food is not super cheap here, but it is not mind blowingly expensive either as previously guests have mentioned. At the end of the day I had no issues whatsoever with paying the prices for the quality of food you get. The staff throughout the resort is all fantastic. Special Thanks to Miguel and Wallace for taking care of us and always smiling. I'd like to mention more, but a week after vacation the post vaycay depression is deleting names. The manager Dave was more than attentive and would always wave when you saw him and though we never had an issue, I am sure it would have been resolved quickly.

The power went off 1 night we were here for maybe an hour max one evening. I don't see the big issue, you are in the Caribbean, get out of the Condo and enjoy the candle light and stars. We used the golf carts to go to town several times and to explore the island. The roads are not your fancy paved, smooth as glass roads, you’re on vacation, have an adventure, it is about a 15 minute drive to town on a golf cart and lots to see on the trip and plenty of places to stop for food/drink. Upon one of our excursions in the evening about 3 miles to the NORTH of the resort the amount on the frame of our cart broke, it was a long walk home, but things happen, no one to blame, could happen to anyone. We stopped @ the store en-route back, purchased a case of beer (long walk makes you thirsty) and they were nice enough to drive us back to our cart. The resort dealt with the issue and there were no accusations nor accrued costs. We walked to town twice from the resort on the beach, it takes a good 2-3 hours (with washroom and refreshment breaks of course), but is a nice walk.

We did the deep sea fishing, and did well caught a multitude of Dorado, Snapper, Trigger, Grouper, Barracuda fish and had a fantastic day, this is just luck, sometimes you get skunked, sometimes not, but we had a blast. Also did a tour of xuanatunich ruins and cave tubing, the tubing was great as was the Myan ruins, if we were to go again I’d do the Lamani tour instead as the river ride there has a lot more wildlife on the tour as many other travelers had told us. Our guide for the tours was Wayne from SERIous adventures and he was fantastic and kept the libations flowing. Also managed the sunset catamaran cruise, it was fantastic, and a definite must do if looking for a touch of romance to start off an evening. My wife got certified in Scuba Diving from the White Sands shop (in partnership with the resort and a 2 min walk on the beach) Found they were MORE than accommodating and an absolute must do for anyone who enjoys snorkeling, the cost is VERY minimal when compared to home and you get 4 open water dives out of it in Belize (350$-ish) Highly recommend. On out walks up and down the beach and touring the island one of our favourite parts was the fact due to the lack of ALL INCLUSIVE resorts on the island you could stop anywhere, swim in the pool, eat the food, drink the drinks and pay and be on your way. A great way to get a feel for the choices of properties on the island. After a long day we had booked our couples massage, AWESOME, none better than being relaxed like this after a long day and going to your room, relaxing with a beverage and staring out @ the Caribbean. Also a must do for a real relaxing time.

Much of the time spent in town was for lunches and shopping, now, ladies, the shopping in Belize is NOT the same as Mexico, Cuba, and Dominican Republic. Things here are not all negotiable and 5$. There are street vendors in town and the odd place, they are who you may be able to negotiate with, and the majority of goods are ash trays, bracelets, belts, and figurines. But if you are planning on sun dresses, and clothes and a new wardrobe for under 50$, this is the wrong place. Things here will cost you 60%-100% of what they will @ home. We ate at most the places in town, Blue water Grill is a great place for a romantic night in town and great food. Fidos is generally the PLACE TO BE most nights, with live music playing and a great atmosphere and buckets of beer for cheap. Not to mention the water taxi is right outside and simple to get to. Another favourite restaurant on the trip was “AJI” is a short walk 20-30 mins, south of the resort on the beach, and has plants bent and formed around to from a roof, FANTASTIC food, drink, service and atmosphere. Even stop by for breakfast or lunch one day, it is all good food.

As for things to bring, leave your jackets and sweaters @ home, in Feb. When we were here the coldest we saw was about 25 degrees Celsius on our trip, you are happy in pants and a long sleeve dress shirt. Bugs for us were only an issue the one night, and there was no wind and we were walking the beach @ night. Sun screen is a must, as is burn cream, because it is going to happen regardless. We were on our honeymoon so budget was not a huge thing we kept our eyes on, though we weren’t completely out of control, but all the same with any vacation, expect to spend 100$ a day on random things, whether it be tips for staff, food here and there, a trinket for your better half (who will smile to get it) or some sort of memento.

At the end of the day this trip was one the best we’ve ever taken, we had our ups and downs, but there was never a negative issue with the resort. Ambergris Caye, Belize is by far one of the safest places in the world to travel and we SHALL be back again.

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms with a pool on the balcony........where else do you find that? At the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazer_Beam_Oil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We just got back from an amazing trip to Belize and Las Terrazas Resort. The staff was extremely friendly and eager to help us in any way we needed. The resort was very clean, safe and well kept up, and the beach on the resort is absolutely beautiful. The pool was perfect, and the pool chairs were so comfortable, we fell asleep in them daily.

O Restaurant is wonderful, we ate there multiple times and were always extremely impressed with the food. The blackened snapper is amazing! (And the prices are definitely reasonable). The chef would come out and greet the tables every night - he was great and so personable!

The location was great - the water taxi gets you into the town of San Pedro within about 10 minutes max - it picks you up right at the resort. You can also walk by beach to a bunch of different restaurants near the resort. We did an excursion to the mainland to the Mayan ruins, which was amazing, and the tour boat picked us up right at the resort. It was so easy.

I also must say they make the BEST pina coladas! :)

The dive shop affiliated with the resort, White Sands, was also really great. It's located right on the beach in front of the resort, so very handy to go diving. The White Sands staff was also incredibly nice and knowledgable about the area, and the staff member Carlos that took us out was able to point things out to us that we would have never seen on our own.

I can't say enough great things about this resort, and will definitely go back in the future (and have some family members planning a stay here next year!). We had a great experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tifftiff57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We spent 12 days at Las Terrazas and had an amazing time. The resort is very beautiful and well maintaned. The beach was kept clean and was a pleasure to spend time on. The restaurant was lovely with a great view from the roof. We ate a number of meals by the pool as well. While there are limitless lovely resorts in this area, what made this one stand out for us was the terrific staff at Las Terrazas. We were made to feel very special while we were there. All the staff were attentive and provided fabulous service. They treated us to all the best. Maurice and Manual at the front desk answered all of our questions and made arrangements for us to participate in a variety of activities. Ivan provided great service not only in the restaurant, but each time we saw him. Alex is an amazing chef who went above and beyond to make us fabulous meals, some that were not even on the menu. He came to talk with us each evening to make sure we'd enjoyed our meals. The food was definately five star. Patrica kept our room clean and tidy during our stay. I hope each of them know how much their friendly, helpful, and professional interactions went to make our stay an outstanding experience. They are what makes this beautiful resort such a special place to stay. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
10.4 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#4 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
2.6 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
8.8 km away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#7 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#9 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.7 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
5.7 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Terrazas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Terrazas Resort

Property: Las Terrazas Resort
Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price range (per night): $507 - $1,168
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Terrazas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest luxury properties on the island of Ambergris Caye, Las Terrazas is a Preferred Boutique Resort and the only member of Preferred Hotel Group in Belize. Located just 3.5 miles north of San Pedro, Las Terrazas Resort invites you to experience exceptional, spacious townhome-style accommodations and gracious Belizean hospitality at our oceanfront retreat. Situated on one of the most beautiful and secluded private beaches, our Ambergris Caye resort is an exhilarating tropical playground where you can discover Belize; "Mother Nature's best kept secret." Experience world class attractions such as diving and snorkeling, the lavish Serenity Spa and Wellness Center, fishing, zip lining and cave tubing, Mayan Ruins, or relaxing on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Las Terrazas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Terrazas Hotel San Pedro
Las Terrazas Resort Belize/San Pedro, Ambergris Caye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing