We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Phoenix!”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We loved everything about our stay at the Phoenix! Here are the highlights:

1) Room & Amenities are top notch. We stayed in a 2 bedroom / 2 bath condo that was amazing. Ocean view, huge private deck, full kitchen, king beds, spa tub . . . the Phoenix even provided us with a cell phone.

2) Staff are very friendly and helpful. We quickly got to know the front desk staff, security, and owners. Everyone was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful.

3) The Phoenix knows the best tour operators. We booked several tours through the Phoenix and quickly discovered that the Phoenix knows who the best tour operators are and makes sure their guests go with the best. They even booked an overnight tour for us to Tikal and our flights to/from Belize City.

4) Great location! The Phoenix is on the northern edge of the main San Pedro area. Everything was within walking distance and we didn't need to rent a golf cart.

We loved our stay at the Phoenix and only wish we were headed back again soon!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marvin_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 731 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2011

We came to the Phoenix after reading the reviews here on tripadvisor, and it has a excellent rating for a reason!!! This place was amazing!!! From the moment we stepped in the door, tired after a day of traveling, I was introduced to a drink that I came to adore for the entire trip...The Fruit Punch!! Ricardo at the pool bar knew exactly what I needed when I asked daily for my favorite!! The staff was fun, friendly and always available.
I had the opportunity to experience things I had never done before nor seen. The Phoenix was wonderful as far as booking tours and getting things arranged and with all they recommended, there was no disappoint.
Our first trip was to Lamanai Mayan Ruins with Nate our tour guide. He was wonderful and made the best stewed chicken with beans and rice I have ever had!! What I appreciated most about all of the Belizean people I had the chance to spend time with was their love and respect for their country.
As we walked the Mayan ruins, it was very important that we made memories with pictures and our minds..not to touch or take.
Nate was an incredible guide, I learned so much and gained a great interest in Mayan culture.
Our second big excursion was with Lil Alphonse for snorkeling. I have never been snorkeling before-was a bit nervous-but with Alphonse and Russell, it was an incredible experience.
We saw everything!!! All sorts of different fish, eels, coral of all sorts, nurse sharks, stingrays, sea turtles and on the way back to the dock-a pod of dolphins, we were able to see a mother and her baby!! Alphonse is another local belizean who has a passion for what he does, enjoys sharing with others and asks again to respect the environment we encountered.
He was there to educate, teach and have a good time.
We spent the rest of our days taking advantage of the hotel and exploring the town; which I found to be very safe.. I was a bit skeptical...but it did not take long to fall in love with the locals. I enjoyed their carefree sense of mind...they are truly happy in all that they do and are happy to share it with you.
My favorite place to eat was Warmagumas for their burritos...oh my, I have never had a burrito that tasted that good in the states!!! A must do.
Much thanks to the staff at The Phoenix for being so attentive and caring, helpful and so kind. I can not wait until we return someday...and when we do...we know where we will be staying.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a view of the sea....I have no complaints...I woke up every morning, walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine Roman... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I can't say enough about how wonderful both of our stays have been at The Phoenix. We first visited The Phoenix in January of 2011 for vacation. We were recently engaged and had chosen another country for our destination wedding. After our stay at The Phoenix we were so impressed we decided to change wedding locations and actually get married on Ambergris Caye at The Phoenix.

I'll spare the details of the 11 or so months of planning with Stacey and Mark, but I will tell you they made our lives incredibly easy. They were both so professional and all around amazing.

We had around 80 guests with us and I can't count how many times during our stay and after we've been told how amazing everyone's experience was, how great the staff was, how awesome the rooms are, etc.

Back to the overall experience. The service here is unparalleled. The hotel - namely Stacey, Mark and the front desk staff - will take care of any and everything you need. From reservations at restaurants and golf cart rentals, to planning your entire day of fishing or catamaran excursions, trips to the mainland, etc. I don't know about you, but when you're on vacation it is so nice to have staff willing (and capable) of taking care of your plans so you can sit back and relax. They're fantastic - and spot on - with recommending local places and restaurants too.

We were always greeted by name with a smile and a "how are you today?" The gardeners are even friendly. The resort grounds are incredibly well manicured and downright beautiful, so wandering around from room to pool to the Red Ginger puts you in a good mood in and of itself. There is a security guard at the beach entrance 24 hours a day, so you feel completely safe -- not that the surrounding area makes anything unsafe, but it's a nice added bonus when you're in another country.

The rooms are probably the biggest surprise. They're HUGE. Most are 2-bedroom suites, with a few 1- and 3-bedrooms suits. They are beautifully and well furnished, down to a wine opener and great lounge furniture on the patio. Rooms and bathrooms are huge, living area is huge, and having a huge balcony overlooking that Caribbean ocean can't be beat. Have I mentioned the suites are huge?

Housekeeping comes daily and they are super friendly and professional. They do a fantastic and quick job and are never in your way, so you always come into a clean and tidy room that looks as if you've never been in it. There are large safes in the room for those wanting a little more security for belongings.

The restaurant Red Ginger and spa Sol Spa were both equally as impressive. Having eaten at Red Ginger 10+ times over both stays I never had a bad dish. The food and service are both fantastic. Kelly, the owner and Aaron, the manager with the Red Ginger go out of their way to make the experience a great one.

Carrie at Sol Spa will bend over backwards to accomodate your schedule, and she and the entire staff are so so personable. The spa is beautiful, relaxing and everyone is super professional. I've had several massages, facials and mani/pedis and each was awesome.

I could go on and on... We've left -- and our guests have left -- having the best experience of most of our lives, thanks to The Phoenix. We're turning this into an annual trip and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Belize. Please go and enjoy! Stacey, Mark, Gabriela, Pam, Rose, Danny, Ted, and Maurice... We miss you guys already but we'll see you soon!

Room Tip: Every room has a fantastic view of the Caribbean. Some of the 2nd and 3rd floor balconies are larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This was our second trip to the Phoenix (5/5 previous review), so we knew what to expect. However, this time we brought 80 of our friends and family with us for our wedding. I have to say that the whole crew at the Phoenix really blew us away with their attention to detail and the effortless way in which they know how to take care of their guests. Being the wedding couple, they went far out of their way to make sure our wedding was a vacation rather than work, and we appreciated that greatly. Stace, Mark, and the whole crew bent over backwards for us, and it would be tough to imagine a better experience.

Every review talks about the service. The front desk staff are wonderful and take the initiative to solve problems so their guests don't have to. Run out of cell minutes on the local cell phones provided to you, but too busy having fun? They've got that. Need to move a spa appointment? They have that too. Dinner reservations? Easy. Want to take a boat out? They know the best. After being there for a week they felt like family. They know your name when you walk in the door and say it when you're leaving.

The rooms are very nicely appointed and the beds are more comfortable than the bed I have at my house. I sleep better here than I do anywhere else in the world. They're meticulously cleaned by the small army of people employed by the resort. The floorplans and generous size make it easy to share rooms in the 2 bedroom suites without tripping over the other person or couple.

We love the location because unlike a lot of other resorts on the island, this one is right in the middle of town. The really nice thing is that the resort is designed so when you're it doesn't feel or sound like you're in the middle of town, but when you want the town it's right there through the door. The buildings serve as a sound barrier to the town so when you're sitting by the pool you can't hear anything but the water. It gives us our perfect combination of exploring the town on foot and relaxing at the resort.

We had an active, energetic, and (frankly) high-maintence group with us and we received so many compliements from our group on our choice of the Phoenix. At least two dozen guests are already planning return trips.

I can't recommend the Phoenix strongly enough. They were great when we were there with 8 people and great when we were there with 80. I bet they'll be great for you as well.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms have incredible views, but our personal favorite was A2 with it's massive w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jljones78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We came to the Phoenix as part of our Honeymoon. We arrived after 5 days on mainland Belize having travelled all the way from Ireland. We walked through the door and we were looked after from that moment until the minute we boarded the plane for home...

We weren't into the trips/excursions having spent time on the mainland. We used our 10 days to relax and unwind...and boy did we do that! Lying by the pool, enjoying the poolside bar...

The room was wonderful...so much space...lovely stuff...always well maintained, service was always excellent.

The highlight was always Red Ginger! There are many restuarants on San Pedro who want your custom. None come close to Red Ginger. None! The braised ribs are to die for! My mouth waters now as i speak of it. Great service. And it was very handy having the best restaurant in town at the bottom of your stairs! (Caliente is also very good but nothing beats Red Ginger)

Overall, incredible honeymoon thanks to the Phoenix...thank you so much...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.4 km away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
356 reviews
3.2 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
4.6 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
3.8 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
475 reviews
5.7 km away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $432 - $736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro, Ambergris Caye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing