We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get any better than this!”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My wife and I just returned from our second trip to the Phoenix in the last 3 years and we enjoyed this trip even more than the last! We arrived on a Saturday and had to spend one night in a 2 bedroom suite since our room would not be available until Sunday. The staff had written in flower petals "welcome back" on our bed prior to our arrival and it might as well have said "welcome home."

Wow, that one very small inconvenience was totally worth it....we ended up in room A-9, which is the top floor one bedroom suite that was originally designed a 2 bedroom. Subsequently, the room is enormous and has 270 degree views of the water from the living room and kitchen area. We would HIGHLY recommend this unit if you only need a one bedroom as it is clearly the best at the resort.

The staff was friendly, unobtrusive, and readily available for any request you could possibly imagine. Red Ginger was a truly delicious experience the 3 times we ate there and we fortunately went on a Monday (half price wine bottles, try the Montelena Chardonnay!) and on a Wednesday (tapas and sangria night). Poolside service is great, although I spent more time under water than bellied up to the bar.

The resort is immaculately maintained and our housekeepers did a great job cleaning up each day. Security was great as well, as witnessed by two random tourists showing up at the pool and making themselves at home. They were politely asked to leave and this lets us know that the staff does really notice who the guests of the resort are!

Scuba diving with Chuck and Robbie's was fantastic as usual and we saw wild dolphins our last dive! We went with Amigos del Mar for our Blue Hole/Lighthouse Atoll trip and were blown away at the Half Moon Caye wall...best dive site I've done in the Caribbean.

San Pedro just fits us like a glove, with great dining options, plenty of arts/souvenir stores, and most importantly, GREAT PEOPLE. I don't know what it is about this place but the locals are just laid back and friendly, always willing to help you out if the need arises. Of course, the Phoenix is quite a different reality than just beyond its borders...there is relative poverty next door but you'd never know it if you didn't leave the resort.

We will be making this resort an annual excursion and quite possibly looking to retire in this area once the occasion calls for it. LOVE this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Halluxone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 691 of 998 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

sometimes you stumble on a place that is perfect in every sense of the word. The Phoenix is that place for me and my wife. We celebrated our 5th anniversary there last week and it was truly amazing. This trip also marked our 4th stay at The Phoenix and it just seems to get better every time we visit. Every single employee - from management, to staff, to the groundskeepers who maintain the perfect landscaping... they all greet you with a smile, they say hello, and cater to every request. The weather was spectacular all week so we were able to enjoy walking around the entire town, fly-fishing, and eat / drink in some great restaurants. The Phoenix staff arranged several great outings for us including a trip to the Marco Gonzales Mayan ruins right there on the island of San Pedro. Our room (suite!) was perfect and we enjoyed morning, noon and night views of the Caribbean. FYI, every suite within The Phoenix has a perfect view. We can't wait to return! Thanks again to The Phoenix and your entire staff - you made our anniversary one to remember.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BoDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We spent four nights from March 31st to April 4th (room 3A) and thorougly enjoyed our stay. First the positives: Beautiful room and the kids loved the fact that our room was right next to pool. The 2BR condo was very nice and had everything we needed. I think an upper level room would have a fabulous view which i would have liked but having a lower floor was ok. Granite countertops and well appointed kitchen. 3TVs plus plenty of videos to watch at night. My 11 and 13 year old teenagers loved the pools. The beds were very comfortable and plenty of pillows. Fans in every room. I also received plenty of help from the staff. They were very attentive and helpful. I was lazy and had the staff book everything for me and it was perfect. Since i didnt have to worry about it, i was ok with the price. Went on a snorkle adventure with Alponse and he was superb. Again this is the guy if you want someone who knows the different types of fish and coral. I have snorkled throughout the Caribbean and this is the first guy that was really into his job. Enthusiasm was phenomenal. Book him, if you want to know everything that you are looking at. Also did a fly over the Blue Hole. Good but you should book that directly. we also went on an all day fish and snorkle day. That was highlight of the kids' trip as we caught snapper and then went to a private beach and ate what we caught. Ate dinner at Hidden Treasure and liked it. Book a reservation and they provided free pick up. (i think all the bigger restaurants will do that. No real reason for a car.)
The negatives:
I killed a big spider in my walk-in shower on day 1. Day 3 it was finally cleaned up. We ate in the room every day but soap for dishwasher was not replenished until day 3. Dish towell not replaced until day 3. I even put it on the foor after the first day. They picked it up and put it on the counter even though it was filthy with grease. Counters were not consistently wiped. I didnt complain becuase it wasnt the end of the world but i had hoped for more.
Keep in mind no real beach. People were friendly, good snorkling but Belize is not the place for a lay on the beach trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saltpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The two bedroom suite we stayed in was gorgeous and it really lives up to its world-class top ranking on TripAdvisor. The balcony wrapped around the entire suite and overlooked the pool and ocean. Huge mahogany doors, high ceilings, washer/dryer, and beautiful kitchen were impressive. The hotel itself should change its external appearance because from the street it doesn't look at all impressive - you have no idea how great it is once you get inside! The hotel rents out kindles and iPads and we had some of the best drinks we tasted at the pool bar. The kids had a blast swimming and didn't want to leave.

The Red Ginger restaurant was also great - one of our best meals on the island.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The Phoenix Resort is a great lodging option with superb customer service. There is good reason for why this hotel consistently receives such awesome reviews and I can only second the comments made by several other reviewers. Once you pass through the portal (lobby entrance) you enter a tranquil oasis of sedate elegance, comfort and luxury. The hotel has a prime, waterfront location in the heart of San Pedro. To be frank – and some may disagree - San Pedro is a bustling, dusty and somewhat unappealing little, coastal town. Hence, the stark difference between the circumjacent area outside the hotel and the swish environment within the hotel which is obvious but a welcoming experience. As an example – and this must NOT deter you from selecting The Phoenix Resort – directly across the street from the hotel is the police station along with the fire station and next door on the south-side of the hotel is a hardware store. Bear in mind though that most of the other hotels in San Pedro will likewise be surrounded by commercial activities and/or local residences that may be bland or unattractive. Basically, a sensation of calm and order envelops you once you are within the confines of the resort. Customer service, quality and the overall setting is what makes the place. For us the positive experience began before we ever arrived while booking the hotel. I had questions and exchanged several emails with their representatives. I found them to be communicative, helpful and enthusiastic. In this day and age, it is nice to interact with people who are genuinely committed to assisting their customers. The hotel’s website is very informative and we recommend that prospective customers check it out including doing the virtual tour. The resort itself is not very large – which is a good thing. It consists of four three-story buildings constructed in a u-shaped pattern around the periphery of the property with most rooms facing or overlooking the sea and/or the interior grounds. Congruous to a fortress, this configuration shields the central grounds from the surrounding urban area and creates the impression of a seaside resort in a tropical paradise. The grounds consist of the pools, jacuzzi, pool-side bar and sunbathing/lounging deck along with gardens. Though the resort is situated right on the shore there is no beach in front of the property. Instead, there is a waterfront promenade lined with palm trees that links the beaches extending both northward and southward from the hotel along the shoreline. Guests can utilize the beach just north of the property as well as a pier that the resort shares with a neighboring hotel. The beach is comprised of hard, coralline sand that is very compact. The beach is not very wide and the near-shore waters contain a fair amount of sea grass. One is better off going out on the pier and entering the water via the dock ladder to swim or snorkel. While the water around the pier is certainly pleasant for swimming, snorkelers will not find much to look at under water. Also, you will have to keep an eye out for boat traffic. We actually spent most of our time at the pool. At this point, to keep things in perspective, a comment needs to be made about the nature of the beach and the general character of the shoreline in San Pedro. Both are fairly consistent for at least a few miles both up and down the coast. The beach remains hard and compact and never gets wide. In fact in some spots it is almost none-existent. Though we encountered many people walking along the beach we did not see many using it for sunbathing and/or swimming. Additionally, the beach is transected by many piers jutting perpendicularly out into the water to support dive operators, facilitate sport fishing and water-related activities, accommodate water taxis and ferries or simply provide moorage. Therefore, all the waterfront hotels in San Pedro are likewise impacted by these activities. After having walked about four miles up and down the shoreline (several times) and observed the appearance, setting and condition of many other hotels we can definitely say without hesitation that The Phoenix Resort possesses the best visual appeal, has a lovely setting and embodies the highest quality available. No other hotel comes close although a few have their own, distinctive character and rustic setting, and undoubtedly some people will find them appealing or at least satisfactory. The rooms at The Phoenix Resort, referred to as suites by the hotel but in actuality condo units, are spacious, modern, appropriately decorated with quality fixtures and furniture, and airy because of the high ceilings. All rooms will have either a balcony or patio depending on the floor. Essentially, it is like renting a trendy, fully-furnished apartment equipped with kitchen, laundry and hot-tub. We were in a one-bedroom suite on the second floor of “B” Building that provided a view of the entire central grounds and pool area as well as the ocean in the distance. Housekeeping service is good. The only disappointment with the room was the minimalist aura generated by the lack of wall décor combined with white walls and ceilings – in other words, too much “whiteness.” However, not all rooms are the same and we were informed that some of the other rooms would have more “color.” The management team is courteous and attentive and they seem genuinely concerned about their guests’ welfare. Not only do they make an effort to be helpful but, they also make you feel welcome. At this point I would like to compliment the hotel staff/management for arranging a bottle of wine (gratis) in our room upon arrival to celebrate my wife's birthday. I had made a note in our reservation and they followed through in a wonderful way. The front-desk personnel are equally competent and very willing to assist you. They have the ability to arrange a myriad of tours, outings and water-related activities but the prices on some excursions can be high compared to the rates quoted by outside agencies or the vendors themselves. We had the hotel arrange a sunset cruise which turned out to be a disappointment because of poor handling by the cruise operator. Though not the hotel’s fault – the staff and management felt bad and “comped” the cruise along with giving us a generous voucher to their restaurant. For me - this is customer service at its best and, again, I must give them kudos for their handling of the matter. The quality of food and service rendered by the on-site restaurant (Red Ginger) is excellent and prices are reasonable. Lastly, the central location of the hotel in San Pedro means that it is an easy walk almost anywhere within San Pedro and guests can avail themselves of all the dining, entertaining and shipping options extant in town. Moreover, there are several mini-markets nearby where one can shop for food and beverages to take back to the room and prepare your own meals and drinks. The inclusion of full kitchens in the rooms makes this feasible and is another positive attribute of The Phoenix Resort. After all this positive commentary one may naturally ask – what are the negatives? There are none per se. But, there are a few things you may wish to consider. They are subjective in nature and may be inconsequential for some. Though called a resort and located on the waterfront, the hotel neither offers a lot of onsite, outdoor amenities nor free use of any water sports equipment. Secondly, the resort has 30 rooms and they claim that all offer a view of the Caribbean Sea. Yes, this is strictly true. But, in a few cases the orientation or alignment of the room (floor plan) within the building is such that you will have to go out on the balcony and turn your head to directly view the ocean. If you remain within the room itself, the “sea” view will not be directly visible. Instead your field of view from within the room will be either of or overlooking the central grounds and pool area. The affected rooms are notably located in the “A” Building. Generally-speaking, our fellow guests were mostly adult and well-behaved. It is our observation that most guests are seeking the quiet and calm proffered by the setting of this hotel. Reading, relaxation and/or conversation seemed to be the preferred pastimes at the pool and sunbathing area. However, unfortunately, during part of our stay there was a group of couples who would freely imbibe of their preferred libations in the afternoons; the consequences of which is that they became a little animated and felt compelled to share their music (boom-box) with everybody else. While not exceedingly loud or annoying it was inconsiderate and unwanted. The issue was that the staff at the pool bar made no effort to ask the boisterous crowd to tone it down a bit. This episode, which occurred more than once, combined with the lack of action by staff contravened the tranquil ambiance and prevailing decorum that we felt defined the hotel. At a hotel of this stature, I expect the staff to be attentive and concerned about all their guests and where appropriate take discreet steps to intercede without other guests having to say something. However, to be fair, this predicament can happen anywhere. Finally, I wish to make a comment about the room rates which are not cheap – particularly with the addition of the lodging tax (9%). Let’s be clear, the rates charged by this hotel are on the high end of the spectrum for the locality. There are several less-expensive lodging options in San Pedro and around Ambergris Caye. Moreover, I have stayed in hotels and rooms of equal quality elsewhere in the world for less money. And while I think the rates are a little high, they need to be put in perspective with the rates charged by competitors of comparable rank as well as the cost of constructing, operating and maintaining a high quality hotel in a developing country burdened with infrastructural, political/bureaucratic and cultural challenges. At this juncture it is important to recall the old adage that you get what you pay for. One of the benefits of higher pricing is that it generally ensures a better level of clientele. Apropos our stay, the hotel did not appear full and we enjoyed a certain level of tranquility and intimacy that may not have been experienced at lesser-priced and/or lower grade hotels. We highly recommend this hotel because of its tranquil setting, restful atmosphere, clean and well-appointed rooms, quality facilities, good food, and excellent customer service.

Room Tip: If you want a "sea" or "ocean" view make sure to check location/floor plan or sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank bjaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.4 km away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
358 reviews
3.2 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
4.6 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
3.8 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
479 reviews
5.7 km away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $477 - $765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro, Ambergris Caye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing