We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramon's Village Resort
Nearby Hotels
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Caribbean Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Banana Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
White Sands Cove Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$329
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Caye Casa(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,417)
Filter reviews
1,417 results
Traveller rating
898
348
99
49
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
898
348
99
49
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspineappledive shopbelizean princesspurple parrotdive staffdive masterambergris cayegolf cartblue holethatched roofgreat divingbeachfront roomdive sitesin townfishdive vacationhoneymoon suite
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 1,417 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Myself, my husband, and our two daughters stayed here for a week and just returned five days ago. We already miss it! The staff was tremendous, the place was beautiful, and everyone was so accommodating.
ROOMS: We had a sea view room, our own private cabana with a thatched roof. We loved the deck from which we could see the beach and water. We spent a lot of time out there. The beds were comfortable, the shower was great, and we appreciated that the sink was separate. The decor could use a little refresh, but all-in-all, we were very comfortable. It was clean.
STAFF: From the moment Marco picked us up at the ferry dock to the time he brought us back, we were well cared for. Everyone was so friendly and responsive. When our air conditioner broke the first full day we were there, they had someone fixing it within a couple of hours. We appreciated the prompt attention. Can't say enough about how well we were treated.
FOOD: Just like the rest of the staff, everyone at Pineapples was so friendly. Jorge, Luis, and everyone else (sorry, I'm bad at names) took great care of us. They helped us pick meals that met our special dietary needs. We especially loved the fry jacks in the morning, their open-faced won ton appetizers, and the black bean soup. We did have a plan with 7 breakfasts and 5 dinners included. While it was great to have it all prepaid, I wouldn't go with a plan again. You are in the heart of the town, and we had fun exploring on the afternoons and nights we ate out. But we probably would have breakfast there almost every morning. That was our favorite. The fresh squeezed juice - yum!
LOCATION: You are in the heart of San Pedro here, but you wouldn't know it. The jungle keeps away the traffic noise. It was so quiet at night. There are several grocery stores, a ton of restaurants and shops, and many activities all within blocks. The town is very safe, and we never worried about walking around in the evenings after dark. The only downside is that you are almost right across the street from the airport. The planes start coming and going pretty early, but with all the relaxation and fresh air, we slept well and got used to the planes so they didn't bother us.
AMENITIES: My daughter and I got massages at the spa. Wonderful. Great way to start our vacation. Still, we walked down the beach later in the week and saw much cheaper massages. I don't know if they were good or not. There is no poolside or beachside service, but we didn't mind it. The resort isn't large and there really are no lines, so it wasn't a problem for us. There is no TV in the room, but that was fine with us. We talked to each other, relaxed, walked on the beach and the dock, and played games. We never felt bored. We did appreciate the great wifi. I was even able to get a little bit of work done, and we kept in touch with family and friends at home. The pool was wonderful - my daughter's favorite spot. The water is in the shade, so it was a little cool, but not bad once you got used to it. We enjoyed it very much. Tropic Al's was great. We really appreciated that the alcohol wasn't pushed. You can get beer or wine, but that's all. This isn't a party place, but somewhere quiet and relaxing, which was perfect for us.
BEACH: The sand itself is nice. There are plenty of chairs. We really never had a problem finding a seat. The one negative is the amount of seaweed that washes up. They have crews out there cleaning it, but it's a losing battle. But we were able to swim off the dock, so that worked fine.
EXCURSIONS: You can book snorkeling, diving, and fishing trips right on the dock. We snorkeled to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley. We wished we would have done another trip. But Belly and Jonathan were great. Our youngest daughter is disabled and can't swim, but Jonathan put a life vest on her and pulled her in the life ring while he led the tour. That's going above and beyond the call of duty. They even had her beside them when they chummed the water for the sharks.
Thank you, Ramon's, for a memorable vacation. It will go down as one of our best. We look forward to returning in the future!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are good. Even the jungle rooms are not far from the water. We loved our sea view room.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LizTols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamonsVillage15, Guest Relations Manager at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

What a wonderful review. Thank you so much, both for being our guests and for your report on TripAdvisor. We are extremely proud of our staff here at Ramon's Village and your experience with your daughters snorkel trip is just one of the many reasons why. We will be looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Our family of 5 stayed there for 4 days in mid-March. We overall had a great time, as Belize is fabulous, but we will not return to Ramon's. We will also try Caye Caulker next time instead of Ambergris Caye, as the golf carts are extremely loud, drive fast, and lead to polluted air. It was more of a city atmosphere than we had anticipated.
Specifically for Ramon's:

PROS: The grounds are beautiful. Banana trees, lush vegetation, and meticulously kept paths all lead you to feel you are in the jungle instead of just off the main road.
The pier is very fun to jump off of, and snorkel underneath.
The location is very close to town, and is an easy walk.
The beach was the best on the island that we found, and the staff did their best to keep the very smelly, ever present algae seaweed contained. Keep in mind, Belize is not known for their beaches.

CONS:
The dive staff seemed uninterested and not enthusiastic.
We went on a full day reef fishing trip and our guide was not very friendly nor enthusiastic. We tried several times to engage conversation. We were originally promised a 9 AM - 4 PM trip, but then were told we would come back at 3-3:30 PM, and when we boarded the boat, the guide told us 2-2:30 PM return time. We did not appreciate the inconsistencies.
The beds were extremely uncomfortable, with polyester bedding and poor mattresses. I woke up in pain every morning from the mattress. Please have down pillows and cotton or a down duvet.
The airplanes are loud.
One of the women at the front desk was snarky and rude. The other woman was lovely.
The pool is shaded (pro), but not heated. My children were shivering.

Overall, we will definitely return to Belize. We found the people of Belize to be kind, friendly, even always wanting to hold our toddler, and lovely overall. We were very surprised though at how miserable the majority of the staff at Ramon's seemed.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank rellies02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamonsVillage15, Guest Relations Manager at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

We are very sorry to learn you did not enjoy your vacation experience at Ramon's Village Resort. As the island has grown the population has spread out creating the need for transportation. We too do not care for the gas powered golf carts and are possibly the only hotel in the island which uses electric powered carts. We wish more would choose to do the same.
The seagrass you mention is a relatively new problem not just for San Pedro but the Mexican Yucatan and most Caribbean destinations. It is fortunately seasonal and should soon be behind us. Meanwhile we will continue to remove it as needed so our guests can enjoy teh beach.
We will investigate your comments concerning the fishing trip and desk clerk.
I must admit to being confused by your comments concerning the bedding and pillows as we commonly have guests asking for the where they can buy the same mattress or pillow. I am also confused by the comment about the staff seeming miserable as most are proud to work at Ramon's Village and are complimented regularly by our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

There is a lot to like about Ramon's Village. Its location offers a unique pairing (for San Pedro) of being both in town and on one of San Pedro's nicer beaches. Amenities include a restaurant and beachside massage tents. Attention to detail among the grounds and rooms is apparent.

But Ramon's is lacking the finer points of the four-star resort that it purports to be and that one might reasonably expect it to be, given the rates of the nicer rooms. For example, when I arrived, I overheard another guest call the front desk asking about room service, to which the attendant responded he "didn't think they had that." (They don't.) About 15 minutes later I witnessed a guest complain to the smoothie bar attendant that she had been given the wrong change, in Belizean dollars instead of US, what she thought was an obvious attempt to dupe her by the staff. Other issues: no drink service at pool or beach; multiple instances of them "running out of beach towels" (how does that happen at a beach resort?); spa is minimal; issues with staff not being responsive or prompt.

We thoroughly enjoyed the boat charter we booked.

All-in-all, Ramon's is a nice, enjoyable three-star property.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamonsVillage15, Guest Relations Manager at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you for being our guest at Ramon's Village Resort. Guests at Ramon's Village Resort do regularly enjoy room service. We are training a new desk clerk and will make sure they are aware of that. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We also provide our guests with drink service on the beach and pool deck, as well as beach towels which can be checked out at the Front Desk. We had an issue with a washing machine which has now been repaired, so hopefully won't have any additional problem in that regard. The conversion of US and Belize currency is sometimes confusing. I hope this incident was just that and assure you we would not tolerate that sort of behavior from one of our employees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

This Is a beautiful resort, while I didn't stay there I did have several meals my waiter Jorge was the best! I happened to forget my wallet on my last night there and Jorge locked it up in the safe. When I returned the next morning to retrieve it he remembered me and said he tried to catch me with no luck. Very honest man, all my money was there and I was so thrilled and relieved! Thank you again Jorge!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjj2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamonsVillage15, Guest Relations Manager at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you for dining at Pineapples On The Beach. We are glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for letting us know about your experience and we will be sure to thank Jorge for the job he does. We hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Ramon’s was the bomb! Quiet, peaceful, great, clean rooms. Pineapples restaurant was wonderful. Central beach location. Within walking distance to downtown San Pedro. Walking distance to other beachside restaurants. You can book all your snorkeling, diving, fishing excursions from Ramon’s dive dock. There are NO TV’s in the rooms but very adequate WiFi which is throughout the whole resort, even reaches to the beach. Lots of repeat vacationers at Ramon’s. If you are looking for loud music and party people you won’t find them here. Just a quiet, relaxing time.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamonsVillage15, Guest Relations Manager at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

And that is how a vacation should be. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be one of those repeat guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews