We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully Warm Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portofino Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2017

The staff is just as previous reviewers claim; they are WONDERFUL! From greeting us with drinks to every encounter thereafter- always smiling and calling us by name! We stayed in the honeymoon suite which they decorated beautifully for my birthday~ VERY SWEET! The food & drinks were fantastic, as well!
The thatched roofs are unique but be forewarned, I think it makes it a little more difficult to cool the room- don't get me wrong, it was never hot- just couldn't get it cool & crisp like we're use to at home. The island, in general, was LOADED with mosquitos when we were there...I came home with about 30 bites (no exaggeration) and that's with spraying OFF religiously. Not sure if the resort could realistically do anything about this problem or not but it was definitely a negative. Overall, we had a nice time and appreciate how generally sweet & happy the staff were:)

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcan2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good Day,

It was our pleasure hosting you both here at Portofino Beach Resort. We were all very happy to make your birthday an extra special one. I'm really sorry about the situation with the mosquitoes but as you know this is the tropics and we don't have control over that.

Looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thanks,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

Fifteen of us traveled to Sam Pedro for my daughter’s wedding. I’ve heard people speak of paradise, but my definition of the word has changed a little since visiting Portofino Beach Resort. It was beautiful beyond words, as you would expect paradise to be, but what changed my perception was the staff. I have been to many resorts but I’ve never been to one that was so accommodating. From day one the entire staff became like family. They went above and beyond to make my daughters wedding on the beautiful beach, and our time there, extraordinary. I cannot thank them enough. The rooms are huge and gorgeous, the grounds are, at times, awe inspiring and always wonderful. The food is very good and the exotic drinks better. A special thank you to Stephanie who fulfilled our every wish and to Marcelle for his dances with me, the mother of the bride. Thank you Raphael and Marco for your wonderful service and for making us laugh. You always seemed to know before we did when we would need a table for 15. I do have a few tips, if you decide to go into town, do it on a week day, early in the day, when it is less crowded. The road into town is a bit difficult to travel at night. There was a nice breeze most of the time we were there, when there wasn’t the mosquitoes were plentiful. Bring repellent! Our time at Portofino was truly too short, but I will never forget it and I I hope we will see you again.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Mrs. Lorrie,

Greetings from all of us here at Portofino.

It was a pleasure hosting your entire group and for making your daughter's dream wedding come true. Thanks you very much for your kind words and for taking the time out to write us such an amazing review.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay.

Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Went on a mother/daughter trip during Belize's slow season and spent half our time on mainland in the rainforest and the other half at this beachfront resort.
Although the resort is a good discount away from town via golf cart or water taxi, it is a beautiful and quiet place to relax and enjoy the blue water in Belize. There is a dock with dive and water sports, excellent full service restaurant, pool and beach to enjoy.
Rooms were well clean and service was excellent. Staff will help with anything you need including golf cart rental and reservations for other restaurants and excursions. Bikes and kayaks were available free of charge.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank georgial23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Georgia,

It was our pleasure having you and your daughter here with us. I'm happy to know that you had a great time with us.

Thanks again for choosing Portofino Beach Resort.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Two nights we went to Portofino by their water taxi. They picked us up and we had a wonderful dinner. The first night we had two types of lobster. My husband had it with garlic butter and mine was grilled. The second night my husband had the same thing but I had the Caribbean Pasta dish with shrimp and calamari in Chardonnay sauce. Very delicious. We had great service and the night ride on the water with all the stars was terrific! The ambiance was amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Catherine,

Thanks for visiting us while here on the island, i'm happy to know that you enjoyed both dinners.

Whenever you're here in Belize again feel free to come visit us.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Our time at Portofino was certainly nice and enjoyable, but the value to experience ratio was so insanely low, we couldn't get it off our minds.

The Good:
- Friendly, accommodating, prompt service prior to arriving (called a few times to ask questions and change some details and it was wonderfully easy)
- Large, clean rooms, pretty details, great housekeeping
- Air conditioning that made you forget the oppressive humidity outside
- Not a bad seat in the house (that being said, a beach front room--same price as a beach cabana--gives you more sea views, but it's all good)
- Quiet, private resort
- Friendly staff, especially Henry was so kind and helpful to us
- Pretty pool

The Neutral:
- Some complaints about the seaweed, but we spent a lot of time by the shore all over Ambergris Caye and you'll find that seaweed piles up on every beach. At least Portofino rakes it away. The beach is quite clean otherwise.
- Food was nice enough
- Lots of sun, and not that much shade, but the rooms are nice and have a good view, so we never felt bad spending some time indoors
- Free boat transport whenever Moe goes into town, but it wasn't all that often

The Bad:
Omg the prices were just ridiculous! But seriously. Yes, San Pedro and the rest of Ambergris Caye was all quite a bit more expensive than we'd expected, but Portofino still managed to beat everyone on this point. Many people may be looking at Belize as a nice tropical alternative to the more expensive islands like the Grand Caymans, but I can promise that we spent just about as much as we would have on a fancy island as we did on our vacation here.

All prices I mention below are in USD.

A day rental of a golf cart into town is $75.

No dinner entree was less than $26 and it was typically very simple rice, sauteed veggies, and a meat. Most dishes were above $30. We avoided ordering the crab and lobster tail because we knew we'd get a few mouthfuls for $36.

The drinks....oh the drinks... A small glass of wine was $10, poured from a bottle that cost $6 in the US. Cocktails were $10 - $12, and it's a stretch to call them cocktails instead of watered down mixers. My boyfriend asked for a martini once and they poured less than half a glass including ice, and it was more olive juice than gin. Look, yes, alcohol prices are high in San Pedro (I know because after all that, we went out and bought our own alcohol and mixers to avoid the scam), but we come from NYC, the land of expensive drinks, and it was just ridiculous.

Shop around different diving/snorkeling companies instead of Action Divers. We did a 2-tank dive with White Sands for $60, and Action Divers wanted to charge $90. We also briefly took a kayak out on the water and wanted to borrow fins. That was $10 each.

Overall, we had a really nice time, but we were so constantly disappointed by the prices that Portofino was asking from us. The resort really needs to take a look at what it is offering and charge something more reasonable, or guests will be taking their money to other parts of Ambergris Caye to get good value.

Room Tip: Beach front cabanas, themed rooms, and lower mansion all have rooms above, which can get a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Kasey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Cassie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detail review. It was indeed a pleasure hosting you at Portofino Beach Resort and despite of your “negative” feedback on the prices we are happy that we were still able to provide you and Robert with a pleasant experience.

The cost of receiving products and services to the island is undeniably very high. In our restaurant our chef’s select only the best in fruits, vegetables, and premium meats which are often flown in on a weekly basis. It is unfortunate that import duty and taxes are even much higher on alcohol in Belize; however, we try our best to keep our prices to par with most of the restaurants & Bars in San Pedro while at the same time offering our guests a secluded, intimate and personalized service and attention to detail.

We do thank you for your feedback and wish you safe travels further.

Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
6.1 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
13.7 km away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
363 reviews
4.2 km away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
880 reviews
1.3 km away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
976 reviews
4.3 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Address: 6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#23 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $374 - $1,601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by its warm and friendly hospitality, Portofino is the epitome of barefoot luxury, unpretentious and relaxing… for most; it will be an experience of a lifetime. Our small, boutique resort offers just 17 beautifully appointed rooms, ranging from charming beach cabanas to spacious suites, dotted amidst swaying palm trees, in a private setting with unmatched personal attention and the modern comforts of home. It is a haven of tranquility, where guests will enjoy the subtle sounds of the nearby waves lapping over the reef, gentle breeze, breathtaking sunrise, star studded night sky and spectacular views of the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, intimate wedding, honeymoon, family and friends.Portofino offers leisure options to suit every taste. Relax in our fresh water outdoor swimming pool; enjoy a great book from our book collection or simply indulge yourself in a massage on the beach under our hand thatched palapa hut. Explore the underwater world with snorkel equipment or skim along the surface in our complimentary sea kayaks. Delicious meals prepared by our resort chef can be served in the privacy or your beach cabana or suite, on our private dock with a romantic setting or at the Portofino Restaurant. Sip on amazing tropical cocktails at the Green Parrot Beach Bar or perhaps a late afternoon snack from the Green Parrot Bistro. Take advantage of our DVD library and unwind in front of the flat TV screen in your room. Or, simply take in the view. In short, relax and enjoy! Reception in the main building is manned by professional and knowledgeable staff. From, activities bookings and directions to itineraries and dining reservations, our friendly and professional staff is eager to assist you. Access to PORTOFINO is by boat only, and therefore we offer a complimentary meet and greet service at San Pedro Airstrip and boat transfer to the resort, an approximately 20 minutes ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portofino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel San Pedro
Portofino San Pedro
Portofino Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro, Ambergris Caye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing