We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay...not amazing.”
Review of Conch Shell Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Conch Shell Inn
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel was in a great location. Easy to walk to most places. The hotel was noisy at night. It is close to bars and right on the beach, so you can hear people outside. I slept with ear plugs. The hotel was clean and not fancy, but for the price, it was worth it. I would consider staying here again if I was on a low budget.

Room Tip: I stayed on the lower level. I think the upper level has more to offer, but I never saw the upper le...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niklar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Conch Shell Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

Overall the Conch Shell is a wonderful place, if you want to be right in town where all the action is. We were there for 3 weeks (end Feb./ beginning March) and this included Carnival, where we could stand on our verandah and watch it all without leaving our hotel (a tricky undertaking when everyone's throwing paint at each other!). We loved the relaxed vibe and the owner was very attentive and friendly, going out of her way to make us feel welcome and cared for. We had to move downstairs for 2 days (our room upstairs was unavailable for those 2 days when we booked) and perhaps to make up for this the owner Joan offered us 2 days at her beautiful beach house north of San Pedro, which we enjoyed immensely. (It's called the "Blue Dolphin". If you have a large group and perhaps a special occasion I would recommend renting her house. It's fabulous!) The manager at the Conch Shell, Eleanor, was wonderful and accommodating, and kept the place pristine.
We loved the upstairs rooms, with the coffeemaker and microwave, and amazing view from the verandah. Our downstairs room was fine too and had a bigger bathroom (missed the coffeemaker but you can buy coffee 2 doors away, so no problem) .Not as good a view though. Both floors have such a great breeze from the sea that A/C seemed unnecessary, and there's a window in back too so you get a cross draft.
There's a lot going on on the beachfront, but of course this makes it very convenient for water taxis, excursions, restaurants, etc. and you can swim close by in the "green circle". Don't be afraid of the occasional nurse sharks or even stingrays--some are tame, and get out of your way anyway.
It's a great spot for people watching, gazing at the sea, setting out on excursions, reading and getting a good night's sleep due to the VERY comfortable beds. We had a fantastic holiday there and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The staff very pleasant but can't fix the 80 deg temps in the room at night. There was one night spent without sheets on the bed and no hot water. Stay away from people selling food on the beach!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonytr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConchShellInn, Owner at Conch Shell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Conch Shell Guest,
During your one week stay the country of Belize was celebrating "Fiesta de Carnaval"!!
More specifically, the island was celebrating a more intensified version called
"San Pedro Carnival", which is why you may have noticed large sheets of plastic covering
all benches and statues in central park and a majority of businesses!! It is indeed a true celebration starting at 3pm everyday with "Fat Tuesday" being the craziest!! We had been sold
out for months as this is a big tourist attraction and with the community and local group parades it can, and especially the last night, is noisey!! We received many photos from guests having a fabulous time!
Having 10 rooms, 3 chose to use AC during carnival week! Our manager and maintenance checked your unit and also switched it, everytime saying it ran very cool on the lowest setting?
We personally checked on the other two guests using AC and they said "it was working fine".
At check in our manager will now turn on the AC and check back after 1 hour to confirm "all is well," personally with our guests and make sure there is no confusion with operation.
We did indeed have a new commercial washer installed during your week and the hot water was turned off during the process, the next morning it did run out of hot water and turned on immediately after we were informed, we are very sorry for our unfortunate mistake.
Our policy is to change sheets after three days or there is a card in the room to place on your pillow should you need your sheets changed, there is a maid onsite from 8-5daily if full and if any guest needs anything there is a 24hour answered "button" next to the office.
Being a small island we typically know all the "walking food vendors" and have enjoyed great ceviche/stuffed jalapeno's/coconut tarts! I personally have not met the vendor selling "special fudge/brownies," however I do now advise our guests to inquire what makes them "special" as
that is "problematic" to say the very least!
All the best!
joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I booked my stay at the Conch Shell Inn almost exclusively based on Trip Advisor reviews.

I wasn't disappointed, at all. Stayed in a ground floor unit, and everything was as it should be. Extremely clean, with the beachy vibe I had hoped for. A table and chairs right outside my door, and I could walk directly into the sand.

Joan and her staff were very accommodating, and the hammocks were a good place to lay out and read.

Exxcellent location, although San Pedro is so small you're not far from anything.

My only concern was the scratchy towels.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a better view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWMtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My first visit to San Pedro and the stay was great! Joan was very accommodating during our visit even inviting us to go with a bunch of her family on a snorkeling day and visit to Caye Caulker. We had a great time and the location can't be beat. The rooms were very cool at night due to the breeze coming off the water and clean. Thanks Eleanor for keeping everything neat and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.3 km away
Spindrift Hotel
Spindrift Hotel
#44 of 53 in San Pedro
85 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
114 reviews
0.1 km away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#25 of 53 in San Pedro
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
289 reviews
0.2 km away
Hostel La Vista
Hostel La Vista
#8 of 32 in San Pedro
118 reviews
0.3 km away
Blue Tang Inn
Blue Tang Inn
#1 of 21 in San Pedro
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conch Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conch Shell Inn

Address: 11 Foreshore Street | Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#29 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $53 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Conch Shell hotel awaits you. We are located in the heart of San Pedro Town and are surrounded by the best dive shops, restaurants, bars and tour operators. Enjoy one of our 10 Reef watching renovated rooms. Choose from upstairs rooms with mini-kitchenette and TV or Our Downstairs rooms with mini-fridge. We also have wireless internet available to our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Conch Shell Hotel San Pedro
Conch Shell San Pedro
Conch Shell Inn Belize/San Pedro, Ambergris Caye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing