We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
147
108
34
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
108
34
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscuba schoolmicrowave and fridgegolf cartin townsea grassdiving shopthe cottagesair conditioningcable tvseparate bedroomthe wi fisnorkeling toursrent bikesbeautiful poolwater pressureoffice staffdowntown san pedro
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Upon arrival, the first thing I find out is that it will be $10 extra a night to get a key to make the A/C work. this key is attached to your room key forcing you to turn off the A/C when you leave the room. there is also a warning sign posted threatening additional charges if you separate the A/C key from the room key.The temperature is also set at 22 C. you can't change it. The owner went cheap on every aspect of the room decor and fixtures. The restroom fixtures were especially cheap and had the smallest, saddest little toilet I've ever seen that required 2 to 3 flushes to do its job. The owner also added a huge eyesore of a retaining wall which completely destroyed the beach and the view. There was such a cheap feel to everything at this hotel. The furniture in the sitting area is very uncomfortable and the TV is arranged so that you can't watch from the bed. I guess it saves the owner a buck or 2 if you don't watch TV at night.
The restaurant was tasty, but extremely over priced just like everything else at the hotel. Out of the 6 times I ate there, they got my order correct twice.
I also had the hotel do one load of clothes. It cost $13.50 US....
The only friendly people at the hotel were the maids and the male barkeep. Everyone else acted like you were bothering them if you asked for anything.
Overall, I feel completely ripped off and disappointed with this hotel.

Room Tip: There are no good views due to the ugly retaining wall
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Luie1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ophra S, Public Relations Manager at Royal Caribbean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hi Louie,

We're extremely sorry you had such a bad experience with us. We would like to compensate you and invite you once more to see the wonderful things we could do to let you have a great experience with us.
Thank you for the tips about the Decor in your taste. We will take that into account.
About the Seawall, many resorts in the area must have them in order to keep the seaweed away. It is a natural by-product of the Caribbean Ocean pease understand.

Hope you do come again soon to have a corrective experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

Delicious food! Wonderful service! Fun atmosphere! The owner said she took over in February 2017; she was very friendly! Quiet location out of town to eat dinner on the water. Run punch and shrimp kabobs were wonderful .

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank amandaporopat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ophra S, Public Relations Manager at Royal Caribbean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

We really appreciate the good review.

We are so happy to see the people like the restaurant.
Being outside of town let's our guests have some quiet from the hustle bustle of downtown but not be too far away from it so they can just take a 15-minute walk and get to the center of San Pedro.
We're happy you like the location as well.
Hope you come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

You really get the "Bang" for your buck. We had a fabulous 5-night stay. A very clean well kept cabana. Looks just like the photos. Excellent bed, bedding, and pillows. Awesome Air Conditioning! Even had a Kitchenette, Cable TV and free Wi-fi that worked no matter where we were on the grounds. Beautiful large and very clean swimming pool right on the beach. The grounds were lovely. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Bicycles and Golf Carts for rent at premises. Restaurants, Bars and diving shop right next door. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ophra S, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Caribbean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you Pam! We look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We chose this hotel because of the scuba school that we wanted to get certified at. That school has since moved into San Pedro for more walk in traffic. I would argue the best part about this hotel is that it is quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of San Pedro. Great staff, clean rooms, hot showers, clean towels and linens.
The cottages are quiet and quiet large. It was nice having a fridge and microwave. Definitely go to Robins if you stay here, it is just a short walk up the road. The one mistake we made was not taking a taxi from the ferry to the hotel. It is quite far from the ferry. You can rent bikes from the office and ride into San Pedro. If you want to experience the "spring break" type feel of San Pedro, you may want to stay further north. Otherwise, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephMR16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ophra S, Public Relations Manager at Royal Caribbean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

The description is quite accurate.
Simple cabana and in itself is pretty cozy inside although the bed was extremely uncomfortable and the AC made a horrendous noise during the night which made for very unrestful sleep.
Office staff was rude when we arrived but was thorough with scheduling tours or calling taxis for a pickup. They overcharged us for the bike rental. We paid initially then they charged us upon checkout as well.
Some of the appliances didn't work (water boiler, toaster). The wifi is HORRIBLE. The pool was quite nice though! A decent size and a bar right next door. Overall, the place was okay. Nothing special nor "royal".

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Misty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ophra S, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Caribbean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

I would like to correct the misrepresentations in this review. Royal Caribbean Resort provided complimentary A/C that you did not pay for. All A/C has a modest sound. The A/C in the cabanas is of the highest quality - 23,000btu that produce high quality, quick cooling air with efficient energy use. Of course all the appliances work. However, they were not plugged in. They remain unplugged when there are no guests for safety purposes. The 2 bicycles that you and your boyfriend rented were charged only at check-out. Kindly review your bill for confirmation. We are glad you enjoyed the private cabana and resort facilities and found them as advertised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews