We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The funkiest place on Caye Caulker!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kokomo Beach Suites
Ranked #26 of 33 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 July 2011

CC is so fun, chill and laid back... Kokomo Beach is at the perfect location on the island with the best views and the most amazing rooms! Bright, colorful & funky... very cool decorating! The best place to stay on CC!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2009

Between the time we booked (Dec. '08) and confirmed our reservation the place changed owners; now it's part of Tina's Backpacker Hostel. Some of the suites have become higher end dorms but the upstairs suites are 1 bedroom units with a separate living room and kitchenette.

The location, on the beach near the docks, is perfect and the sunrises were beautiful. We loved having a kitchen so we could prepare some of our own meals, shopping at the local groceries and buying fresh barracuda steaks from local fishermen. The rooms were spacious and clean.

My brother-in-law's family stayed at Sailwinds right next door (our balconies were attached) and had similar rooms with the addition of free purified water.

Our favorite meal out was at Wish Willy (my husband's favorite meal of his life) and we had good experiences diving with Frenchie's. Our last full day on Caulker we went on a Raggamuffin snorkeling/sailing trip to Hol Chan Reserve and Shark Ray Alley and really loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hopefulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

I don't think anywhere you stay on Caye Caulker will be bad. If you're their, you're not their for a luxury suite, you can go to San Pedro. It's a beautiful island, it's laid back and the vibe is amazing but it's not a resort town and I love that. The Auxillou is newly owned by Tina's Backpacker's Hostel which is a few doors down. It's only 4 suites and now the bottom two suites are being used as part of the Hostel dormitory. The suites themselves are pretty nice although I don't think anyone could have slept on the "pull-out" (futon) in the living room since it was lumpy and you could feel the wood bars while just sitting on it. It's somewhat awkward as when you approach the hotel there is no service desk or anything. It took a while of just looking lost before someone told me to go to the Hostel down the beach to check in. It would've been helpful to have some sort of sign or something. It's kinda like renting a condo, not being in a hotel. If I had known, I would've just rented one of the other condos on the island. The only downside is that you have to bring your own hammock. Would've been nice to already have them their cause now I have a $60 hammock that I can't use at home... Oh well. Also there's a club/restaurant right behind that can thump the music out on Weekend nights. Also construction is going on which can kinda ruin the mood, if you're just wanting to sit on the porch and read. Granted, construction is happening all over the island and there's not much you can do about that.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seemoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

One of our problems is that one of us will wake up early or have problems sleeping so having the extra seperate room is great. He could watch tv late at night--or I can get up early and read. Location could not be better--while we are very active, some our favorite memories were just sitting on the prch and watch the world go by.

Unfortunately the wifi was not working when we were there--but by leading over the porch rail, we were able to connect with the wifi in the related hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

We stayed at the Auxillou Suites as part of our Belize vacation in May. The suites were large and well-furnished, and very comfortable. The rooms face east and have a lovely view of the rising sun each morning. You can see the reef from the porch, and the water taxi stop is about 50 steps away, making trips to the mainland very convenient. Caye Caulker is so small that everything is pretty much in walking distance, but the Auxillou Suites are literally right in the middle of it all. The hosts wer very friendly and they arranged all our day trips for us. Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jds98235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.2 km away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
285 reviews
0.7 km away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
94 reviews
0.4 km away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
0.3 km away
Yocamatsu
Yocamatsu
#6 of 33 in Caye Caulker
19 reviews
0.8 km away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokomo Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokomo Beach Suites

Address: | Beachfront, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range: $159 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokomo Beach Belize is located only fifty feet or so from the breathtaking Caribbean Sea on the tranquil island of Caye Caulker, Belize. These are individual one-bedroom suites tastefully decorated to blend in with the island atmosphere. Each fully air-conditioned unit features a private bedroom, private bath, hot/cold water, living room area, cable TV, kitchenette and each has its own spacious deck space. Our ultra spacious units each with a approx. 500 sq ft of inside space makes them the most spacious yet affordable vacation units on the island. Warm furnishings make them a home away from home. This is the premier property on Caye Caulker. Come enjoy our breezy verandahs and starlit nights in relaxed comfort. Welcome to a beautiful island escape. These are beachfront condos that are among the best on the island. Step out from your deck and walk on the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kokomo Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokomo Beach Hotel Caye Caulker
Auxillou Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing