We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location--wonderful to have extra room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kokomo Beach Suites
Ranked #25 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 March 2009

One of our problems is that one of us will wake up early or have problems sleeping so having the extra seperate room is great. He could watch tv late at night--or I can get up early and read. Location could not be better--while we are very active, some our favorite memories were just sitting on the prch and watch the world go by.

Unfortunately the wifi was not working when we were there--but by leading over the porch rail, we were able to connect with the wifi in the related hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2009

We stayed at the Auxillou Suites as part of our Belize vacation in May. The suites were large and well-furnished, and very comfortable. The rooms face east and have a lovely view of the rising sun each morning. You can see the reef from the porch, and the water taxi stop is about 50 steps away, making trips to the mainland very convenient. Caye Caulker is so small that everything is pretty much in walking distance, but the Auxillou Suites are literally right in the middle of it all. The hosts wer very friendly and they arranged all our day trips for us. Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jds98235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

Unfairly Treated by the Auxillou Beach Suites, Caye Caulker, Belize

Here is our story:

We made reservations in August for 7 nights at the Auxillou Beach Suites – arriving Nov. 30, and staying 7 nights, through the night of Dec. 6 and checking out the morning of Dec.7.

We arrived Nov 30 and checked into our suite. It was a nice unit - one of four suites that make up the hotel.

On the morning of Dec 6, the landlady, Wendy, asked me if we were about ready to move to the new location. I told her I didn’t know what she was talking about. She said we should have gotten an email telling us that we were going to be moved to another place on the island because of the noise and dirt that was going to be caused by construction on the adjoining place. I told her that we had received no notice and this was the first I had heard about it. There had been the starting of construction over the past few days and it did not cause any significant problem for us, so we were a bit confused about why we were being moved now, but went along with it. As we were preparing to move, we found out that the people in the suite immediately above us had been told the same thing. A taxi picked us all up and took us to another hotel further down the beach and away from the center of town, where we wanted to be. We were checked in and shown to our room, which was greatly inferior to the suite we had at Auxillou. It was one small room with a bathroom. We needed to go back by Auxillou to pick up something we had forgotten, and noticed they appeared to be cleaning our suite. We also saw someone that had been a customer of the adjoining place sitting outside the door of the suite immediately above ours. This was the suite from which the other people had been moved. We also had been told that all guests were going to be moved, but when my wife went by the Auxillou later that day she noticed that the guests in the suite next to “ours” were still there and she spoke with them. They said that they had not been asked to move and that new guests had checked into “our” suite after we left. After this discovery and speaking with the owner of the hotel we had been moved to, we found out that the owners of the Auxillou had lied to us.. The Auxillou had called the other hotel several days before the move and asked for two of their least expensive rooms for us and the other people. This hotel had suites comparable to the Auxillou and told the Auxillou they could put us in those units, but the Auxillou declined saying they just wanted the least expensive rooms. We also found out that the person we had seen sitting outside the Auxillou unit above ours had moved into that suite and that relatives of that person had moved into the suite we had and the other upstairs suite.

Construction noise was never the problem. The Auxillou had double booked the suite we were in and simply wanted us out of there, perhaps because we only had one night left to be there and they had another group of people coming in who would be there for more days, and probably because the new patrons were paying more. The Auxillou simply dumped us in the least expensive rooms they could find, and most probably made a profit out of moving us.
Obviously, in retrospect, we could have simply refused to move, but at the time we never dreamed that their motives could be any less than honorable. We feel we were unfairly treated and cheated by the owners/managers of the Auxillou Beach Suites and would warn others going to Caye Caulker to avoid doing business with them.


Jack and Betty Richardson
Grand Junction, Colorado

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank bjrichgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokomoBeach, Owner at Kokomo Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Hi Jack & Betty,
I am very sorry to hear of this happening to you! The hotel is under new management now and has been completely renovated! We would love to have you back if you return to Caye Caulker... and can guarantee you would love your stay with us! :)

Thanks,
Stacey
Kokomo Beach Belize

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

It's a wonderful place to stay. The location is central (next to the Water Taxi, easy walks to either end of town), the rooms are comfortable and well-equipped, and the service is beyond great!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pipermkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2008

This place was amazing, right on the waters edge with a nice size bedroom, living and kitchen area with all the amenities! The staff was very nice and did a wonderful job of taking care of us. This is where you'll want to stay in Caye Caulker!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.2 km away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
285 reviews
0.7 km away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
94 reviews
0.4 km away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
0.3 km away
Yocamatsu
Yocamatsu
#6 of 32 in Caye Caulker
19 reviews
0.8 km away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokomo Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokomo Beach Suites

Address: | Beachfront, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range: $160 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokomo Beach Belize is located only fifty feet or so from the breathtaking Caribbean Sea on the tranquil island of Caye Caulker, Belize. These are individual one-bedroom suites tastefully decorated to blend in with the island atmosphere. Each fully air-conditioned unit features a private bedroom, private bath, hot/cold water, living room area, cable TV, kitchenette and each has its own spacious deck space. Our ultra spacious units each with a approx. 500 sq ft of inside space makes them the most spacious yet affordable vacation units on the island. Warm furnishings make them a home away from home. This is the premier property on Caye Caulker. Come enjoy our breezy verandahs and starlit nights in relaxed comfort. Welcome to a beautiful island escape. These are beachfront condos that are among the best on the island. Step out from your deck and walk on the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kokomo Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokomo Beach Hotel Caye Caulker
Auxillou Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing