We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Ranked #3 of 35 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

We had our annual family reunion this year at duPlooy's and had a spectacular time. There was something for everyone from kids to granny. My favorite memory we made was tubing on the river that runs around part of the perimeter of the lodge. The staff were excellent with their service, food and touring advice (Tikal and cave exploration!). I highly recommend duPlooy's to anyone who wants to spend some quality time and reconnect with their family.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Vito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017

Would have rated excellent except for a few minor observations. Excellent location, comfortable eco lodge that will get you as close as possible to a jungle like setting. It was low season so we practically have the whole place to ourselves. Staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and can book any excursion with excellent guide (therefore worth the price). Going tubing down the river or a swim at the end of the day is just wonderful. Close to airport if you don't want a 2 hrs car ride to Belize city and 1.5 hr water taxi to Ambregris Caye. Botanical garden is beautiful but needs work. Water pressure was a bit low during our stay so some folks may not be too happy. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Loved the hiking. Bird feeder gives you close looks at birds. I am giving low stars because the staff at the bar didn't listen to any of our reasonable requests considering dietary restrictions, neglected us for most of our meal, and then didn't charge my debit card until 5 months later (caused me to overdraw). Wouldn't say no to this place but I want to warn you to be very clear with your orders and pay cash.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for your comments. It's unusual that our staff gets a negative comment so when I show them this review, I'm sure that this won't happen again, but I do want to apologize to you.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed at duPlooy’s for 5-nights this past July, and cannot stop raving about our experience. From the Botanical Gardens, to the property in general, friendly staff, AMAZING food, and well organized excursions, it was truly a wonderful trip. Upon our arrival at the airport, we were greeted by a staff member of duPlooy’s who drove us to the property. He was extremely knowledgable and told us loads of information about Belize, San Ignacio, and activities we can do during our stay.

When we arrived at the property, we were greeted by the friendly front desk associate who took us to our room. We stayed in the Treehouse which is in a great location, next to the office and near the dining area. We were a bit worried about the heat at nighttime, but were surprised how much the breeze, ceiling fans, and standing fan helped keep us cool for a good nights sleep.

On property we were able to take advantage of the horseback riding, river tubing & swimming, the Botanical Gardens, amazing food for breakfast, lunch & dinner, and yummy drinks at the bar. For off property excursions, we did Xunantunich, ATM, and Tikal with extremely knowledgable and friendly guides. We also took advantage of scoping out the town of San Ignacio and visited the Belize Iguana Project, and the AJAW Chocolate and Crafts store which was a blast! duPlooy’s motto is, “Make Sure You Stay Long Enough”, and I wish we had! There is just so much to explore in this area and wished we had more time! Wether it's on the property or off, be prepared for an everyday adventure.

The duPlooy story is extremely unique and interesting. To think that they literally built this property from the ground up to what it is today it truly remarkable. It’s really refreshing to come to a place like this where you can enjoy the true nature of this country. From the sounds and sights of the animals, to the thousands of stars that you can see at night… duPlooy’s did not disappoint and we look forward to our return someday!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ajshappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

I was traveling with a group. We stayed here for three nights. Excellent food, excellent service, beautiful surroundings. The mornings on the deck provided views of toucans and other native birds. Morning walks through the botanical gardens were wonderful! We also explored in the area. Wonderful!!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
1.4 km away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,261 reviews
2.1 km away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
649 reviews
4.6 km away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
714 reviews
8.8 km away
Vanilla Hills Lodge
Vanilla Hills Lodge
#1 of 35 in San Ignacio
224 reviews
6.2 km away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#4 of 35 in San Ignacio
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to duPlooy's Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Address: Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range: $282 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — duPlooy's Jungle Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge Resort, on the Macal River, an organic property since 1988, now powered by the sun, may just be the Eco-Lodge you are looking for.duPlooy's offers the original "Create Your Own Vacation' package as well as set packages for individuals and groups and custom packages which include other locations in Belize. Whatever you are looking for, we offer a great venue for your Belize Vacation for Families,Romantic Getaways and Honeymoons, Adventure Holidays and more. There is excellent Birding on and around the property as well as many on-site activities.Included with your room: continental breakfast, entrance to adjacent Belize Botanic Gardens, access to trails, use of canoes and tubes from our beautiful Macal River Beach,incredible bird watching from the deck with complimentary morning coffee, delicious meals from locally-sourced meats, eggs and produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your duPlooy's Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duplooy`s Jungle Hotel San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing