We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great house - great location - great time!”
Review of Decked Out House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Decked Out House
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Had the top two floors for Christmas week... Lots of room, enough bathrooms, very clean, and the decks/hammocks/bicycles provided made it all the more enjoyable. The house was well known locally, and we were picked up on the dock(s) for several of our adventures.

The owners were very responsive to the few minor issues we had (needed a bicycle pump, and one of the toilets was loose in its mount - FIXED the same day we reported it).

Walking distance to banks, food stores, and Placencia, itself - many, many choices of restaurants, bars, and attractions.

Couldn't ask for a better base of operations in Placencia.

Room Tip: The second floor bedrooms have A/C, but the third floor has a wonderful breeze with the windows/door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anarion55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

A big part of what made our Christmas in Belize so excellent was having a home base where we were truly comfortable. We could spread out, lounge about on various decks. There were plenty of chairs outside by the dock and in the sand, plenty of hammocks - at least one on every deck! Plenty of floor space, plenty of bathrooms. Large spaces to gather together, small places to escape for privacy. The canoe and the kayaks were really fun to play around with at the lagoon. We swam around off the dock or just hung around in the water - perfect temperature, pretty clear, nice sandy bottom. We loved the village of Placencia and it was just close enough to get to easily (maybe two minutes on the bicycles, five on foot) and far enough to be a bit off the public track and in the quiet zone. There are six bicycles in the garage - there were seven of us so the first thing we did is pedal with one runner into town to rent the 7th bicycle. At US$35 for the week it wasn't painful. Then we all had our own and we pedaled all over the place. Such a great adventure. It was a lovely bonus that the rooms on the 3rd floor have their own frig, table and so much space. The main kitchen would be great for cooking - all the right space and equipment. We didn't bother to cook, though, because we had so many restaurants to try out! (See other reviews.) The huge table in the main kitchen where we could gather in the morning with our cereal and coffee etc., was just right. Linda was quick to respond to emails during the months leading up to the trip and while we were there. Two thumbs up for Decked Out House!

Room Tip: We rented the whole place but it might be relevant to remember that the 2nd floor has the air condit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobnob_Hobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed at the house with 15 people ranging from 9 - 75. The three seniors stayed on the 3rd floor suite and lived like queens up there. Six kids slept in the family room and loft. The kids had more than enough room for all their stuff to be spread from one end to the other. They were able to sleep with doors wide open and there were also lots of ceiling and portable fans to keep the air moving. Two couples slept on the second floor with the ac. but they didn't dare speak of it too often! My husband and I slept in studio and we had tons of room. It was great room to keep all the drinks for you walk right out to the deck where the we swam, kayaked and canoed. We cooked and ate together and it was no problem with such a large group. We could also have privacy in so many places around the house outside and in if anyone chose. The towels were plentiful and it was handy having a washing machine so we could pack light. The location was awesome. Linda and Darryl were both excellent with our group for at times we were worried about all the clothes and sand everywhere but they were very patient and helpful always. I cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank candace d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This place is simply superb. We rented out the whole place (spread over three floors) for about 10 nights. The accommodation can't be faulted. It is a wonderful airy building with excellent views and only 5 mins walk from everything that Placencia has to offer. It is quiet too as it is far enough from the town centre so one is not disturbed. Darrell was always on hand, but never intrusive. He was a great source of information and help to us. If I go back to Belize, this is where I am going to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I took five friends for a birthday celebration in Placencia. From our arrival to our departure two weeks later the visit was wonderful. Linda has done a superb job of making the house comfortable and well equipped for visitors. I would be remiss if I failed in mentioning as part of equipping the house Darrell our host is terrific. If we needed anything Darrell could provide. Excursions. got that, info on where to eat, no problem, a fourth hand for UNO, he was in. Thanks to both of you for a great time.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oregoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
10 km away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
680 reviews
10.6 km away
Belize Ocean Club
Belize Ocean Club
#7 of 20 in Placencia
722 reviews
6.3 km away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 20 in Placencia
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
7 km away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
822 reviews
7.1 km away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decked Out House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decked Out House

Address: 32 Harbour Place, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Placencia
Price Range: $86 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly Placencia Village vacation rental, which is named for its designer decor and numerous spacious decks. Swim, fish, kayak, or canoe off its private dock. The configuration and size of accommodation is customized to guest’s needs, size and budget. Rent studio, 2,3, 4+ or 5+ bedroom apt/house with kitchen(s). Main floor level offers luxurious great room which has a sit down dining for up to 18 guests. The house has 16 beds of various sizes. Maximum accepted guests is 18.Complimentary are bicycles, DSL, kayaks, canoe, and TV. Decked Out House offers a convenient village location - walk to shops, sea and resturants in just a few minuts. . ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing