We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
US$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$235/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village Inn(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$295
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Singing Sands Inn(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maya Beach Hotel(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Vacation Hotel(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
247
42
13
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
247
42
13
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager leomaya beachlaid backspent a weekbeach housefront porchnice docklocal beerwatch the sunrisesmall kitchenlow seasonother resortsceiling fanbelize citysea grassisabellacabana
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2017

This place is the BEST!! The facility consists of several beach huts and a restaurant. All of the huts have views of the ocean. Our hut had a big front porch with chairs, a large living area with a twin bed fouton, there is a counter separating the "kitchen area" from the living area. There is a fridge and a large sink. Further back is a large lighted vanity and the toilet, sink and shower. In the upstairs loft is a double bed and a single bed. The huts are large and airy.
The place is run by a wonderful gentleman name Leo who sees to your every need including booking trips for you. I cannot say enough good things about him. They have a loose leaf binder with a whole list of side trips. Besides Leo is his sister Isabella. She is totally the mother hen and will see that you want for nothing. The rest of the staff is equally accommodating.
They serve breakfast , lunch and dinner. The food is reasonable in price and delicious and there is a big selection. There is no tipping. The have a tax on the food and drinks. The monies from this tax is distributed to all of the employees A great idea in my opinion. There is also a library and you can borrow bikes and fishing rods.
The only downside is that it is about 1/2 hour from Valencia town. We didn't mind as we really just wanted to relax. There are also several other resorts you can visit and a store down the street.
Highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rcmontex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParrotBelize, Owner at Green Parrot Beach Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write an honest review of your stay at the Green Parrot. We would be pleased to have you stay with us again if you should ever find yourself on another trip to Belize. Until then, safe travels and keep in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

On our Belize trip in June/ July we stayed at the Green Parrot for 5 nights. We knew it was off-season and didn't mind the quieter atmosphere, what we didn't know was that we were the last guests of the season, but they sure let us know they way they treated us.
Half of the time the office was locked and whatever we needed assistance with just had to wait. They then unexpectedly stopped serving dinner the 3rd night without letting us know even though we were asked to tell them if we decided to eat somewhere else so they could plan accordingly for the night? Without a car we felt rather lost when learning at 6.30 pm that the restaurant would be closed and Leo, the manager, just laughed it off, telling us maybe they are open next door (we went to Maya Beach Bistro which is also a hotel and the food was so much better than at Green Parrot, so blessing in disguise I guess).
We tried to book a snorkeling trip with them which got delayed due to bad weather, later we learnt that other companies were indeed going out. I understand that weather is not in people's hands and maybe Leo wanted to avoid a bad boat ride for us but since he was not available to book any other activities with him, we ended up booking with splash in Placencia and had a wonderful experience with them. Mostly I wanted to feel like Leo was trying to book something for us but it seemed as if he hadn't even talked to whoever does the snorkeling trips to him and just made the choice on his own? Plus, he was not around to help us make other arrangements.
On other terms, the beach houses have quirky charm that I liked while being a bit dated and could be in better shape (our shower had stains, the toilet seat was missing screws to hold in place, the appliances are quite dated). You get to fall asleep to the sound of waves which is a huge plus, then again, many places around here will offer that... The location is gorgeous, yet again it was dragged down when we realized how much trash washed up from the ocean. Of course, I don't blame the hotel for that but they didn't really do a great job in cleaning it up. They only seemed to pick up bigger pieces and not every day which is a shame but might be due to us being there end of season, maybe they care more the rest of the year. Some of the beach chairs were broken and it combined with the lack of service we started to get frustrated.
The kitchen staff that we met was really nice for the most part but the food selection that we were offered was not that great. Plus, the included continental breakfast changed from being fry jacks with fruit to being plain toast with fruit to french toast with fruit without lettings us know (again, talk to your guests!). One morning the waitress first tried to convince us that the free coffee was decaf to then change her mind to they don't have decaf at all. Really, sometimes we couldn't tell what was going on there.
Overall, not a terrible place but the service did really not match the price we payed for it, not even the off season price.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Good: Nice, clean, roomy cabin on the beach with beautiful well kept grounds and good manager.

Bad: It's a good 25 minutes drive to town

Ugly : No AC !!! We knew about it, but underestimated the heat and humidity.

Room Tip: If you can get along without AC then you have found a great deal.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank anh7tam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParrotBelize, Owner at Green Parrot Beach Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thanks for staying with us. We do appreciate your business. Sorry for the warm weather and distance to town - we can not do much about either one of those issues. Safe travels and we would be pleased to have you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

Ever want to be a beach bum? Live in a thatched cottage, walk the beach just out your door, swim in the sea and doze in a hammock? Peaceful living at its finest. No frills, no jet tubs or jet skies, but there are sea kayaks and bikes for free. Meet your neighbors, play volleyball with the locals, pick up a guitar or drum and join in the fun. Our hosts treated us family, except they did all the work cooking, cleaning, arranging excursions to Mayan Temples and snorkeling adventures. They knew everyone by name and our preferences. Good local cuisine both at the Green Parrot or walk up the beach to try something else. Do try the local beer which you can ask be served in a bucket of ice to keep it cold too the last drop.

Room Tip: We liked the more rustic thatched room cottages, but all the cottages have great views and ocean access.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParrotBelize, Owner at Green Parrot Beach Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

We do appreciate your business and for taking time to write a review. We are pleased that you felt welcomed by our staff and that you took home with you some good memories. If you ever come back this way again, we would love to have you back with us. Until then, safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Good price and right on the beach. The cabana was a great size with plenty of room for our family of four. During our couple of days there, we were turned off by an awful smell of sulfuric smell. Kind of ruined what was a nice location for us. Kids enjoyed the hammock at the cabana as well as the couple on the dock. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SemajT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParrotBelize, Owner at Green Parrot Beach Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thanks for staying with us. Not sure what the sulfuric smell you mentioned was. The only guess is it was sea weed that had washed in. We do appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews