We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation !”
Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chabil Mar
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Chabil Mar landed over and beyond expectation beginning with the friendly staff who catered to our every need, offering helpful information about the area and things to explore and were courteous beyond measure.
The view from Villa 11 is amazing, framed by trees overlooking the infinity pool and out into the Caribbean. The villa is updated and well appointed with artwork and upgraded 'everything', yet comfortable and cozy.
The white sandy beach is private and clean and offers an over water cabana that you can swim from.
The golf cart rental is an extra bonus as the property is situated nicely between the village and the small airport. Everything close enough to walk or bike to, but the cart came in handy!
The entire experience was wonderful! Many thanks and great appreciation to everyone!!

Room Tip: Villa 11 offers amazing views from, both, the deck and the master suite, has lots of space, and is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LHS-STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chabil M, Manager at Chabil Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

A great big "Over and Beyond Expectations" back at you, lisahstephenson. So great to have met you.

It is nice to see in a review so many aspects of what was enjoyed at Chabil Mar, from the convenient location near the Village, to the Villa amenities, the beach, pools and pier and, of course, the service from the staff.

We do so appreciate you taking the time to post this wonderful review and most of all we appreciate having met you and showing you an awesome time.

We hope you will come back to visit us again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017

The hotel location was perfect - far enough away from the actual village, but close enough to get there with a 5-10 minute bike ride.
The staff is great. They are very personable and do everything they can to make you feel welcome and answer any questions.
Our room on the second story was fantastic - lots of space and everything in the kitchen was in great condition. The resort has a backup generator which works great and supplies electricity to the resort when the entire village has no power. This is especially important for the Air Conditioning.
We would highly recommend the hotel - yes it is a bit more expensive, but it is definitely worth it! Thanks for everything Chabil Mar!

Room Tip: 2nd floor - Villa 17 is great. Both of the infinity pools are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bsdvmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chabil M, Manager at Chabil Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

First, let us say thank you for choosing Chabil Mar for your Placencia, Belize vacation. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our proximity to the Village where you got to the gift shops, restaurants, local culture and nightlife whenever you wanted. Our staff, of course, is so pleased to read how much you enjoyed the interaction with them. And, lastly, we are glad you were so pleased with your fully equipped Villa.

Thanks to you, bsdvmsu. We look forward to a repeat visit!

Cheers from all of us at Chabil Mar, until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Beautiful hotel! The staff is amazing, so helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and lovely. A quick trip to town where you meet with the Belizian hospitality. There is no restaurant on the grounds, but you can literally eat anywhere - the pool, the bar, your room. We reserved the pier for dinner one evening - highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kblunsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chabil M, Manager at Chabil Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Ahhh, kblunsky, thank you for this review. You touched on so many of features that have at Chabil Mar to make your stay enjoyable and unique, from the ease of accessing the Village to mingle with the locals to our beautiful grounds. Glad you liked our dining offering, making the entire resort your kingdom so you pick your own special dining location. We sure do hope you will come back and visit with us again someday. We would love to greet and meet you all over again.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

The resort is very clean and the staff was wonderful. The food was very good. I went fishing and the chef cook my fish for our dinner one night. The bartenders were great and they are very friendly. Was not crazy about the village because a lot of places were closed for the off season. Really only went into the village for a half a day, stayed at the property and enjoyed the pools and beach. We did take a trip snorkeling and that was great also. The landscaping is beautiful at Chabil and I would go back in a heart beat. Have dinner on the pier and enjoy the breeze. Overall great accommodations.

Room Tip: Villa 18 was perfect for us. I think all the villas had nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank koneil2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chabil M, Manager at Chabil Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Hello and thank you, koneil2. We are so pleased you enjoyed Chabil Mar. We are glad that you got to take advantage of the great fishing and snorkeling in Belize. Placencia is a very good jumping off location for those experiences as well as the jungle and Maya archaeological sites. Perhaps on your next visit you will blend in a little of those experiences?

Thank you for your feedback regarding the landscaping. That is a personal pleasure of mine about Chabil Mar, given the lush gardens, flowers, variety of tropical shrubs and trees, not to mention the awesome topiaries our garden manager creates.

We do hope to see you again soon. Cheers from Chabil Mar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

A wonderful honeymoon by the beach. Beautiful peaceful and well apportioned. Helpful concierge, staff, and restaurant. Upgraded rooms are spacious and enjoyable. Many options to enjoy yourself on the beach, walking into town, or signing up for a tour

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MrRosenzweig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chabil M, Manager at Chabil Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

MrRosenzweig, we do love our honeymooners at Chabil Mar. Thank you for choosing us and for your wonderful review. Perhaps you can honor us with an anniversary visit? Until then, we wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.6 km away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
654 reviews
10.6 km away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
649 reviews
1.0 km away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
7.1 km away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#7 of 20 in Placencia
96 reviews
32.4 km away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#8 of 20 in Placencia
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#1 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: $396 - $847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chabil Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing