We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$349
US$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Parrot Beach Houses(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$295
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Singing Sands Inn(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turtle Inn(Placencia)
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Maya Beach Hotel(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$119
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belize Ocean Club(Placencia)
US$389
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (871)
Filter reviews
871 results
Traveller rating
782
73
15
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
782
73
15
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenwasher and dryergolf carthoneymoon suitemonkey river tour with percysplash dive centershuttle serviceplacencia villagefree bikeshowler monkeysdestination weddingthe entire staffbarefoot barresort is beautifulclose to townmayan ruinsfish
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 871 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

The hotel location was perfect - far enough away from the actual village, but close enough to get there with a 5-10 minute bike ride.
The staff is great. They are very personable and do everything they can to make you feel welcome and answer any questions.
Our room on the second story was fantastic - lots of space and everything in the kitchen was in great condition. The resort has a backup generator which works great and supplies electricity to the resort when the entire village has no power. This is especially important for the Air Conditioning.
We would highly recommend the hotel - yes it is a bit more expensive, but it is definitely worth it! Thanks for everything Chabil Mar!

Room Tip: 2nd floor - Villa 17 is great. Both of the infinity pools are perfect.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bsdvmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chabil M, Manager at Chabil Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

First, let us say thank you for choosing Chabil Mar for your Placencia, Belize vacation. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our proximity to the Village where you got to the gift shops, restaurants, local culture and nightlife whenever you wanted. Our staff, of course, is so pleased to read how much you enjoyed the interaction with them. And, lastly, we are glad you were so pleased with your fully equipped Villa.

Thanks to you, bsdvmsu. We look forward to a repeat visit!

Cheers from all of us at Chabil Mar, until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Beautiful hotel! The staff is amazing, so helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and lovely. A quick trip to town where you meet with the Belizian hospitality. There is no restaurant on the grounds, but you can literally eat anywhere - the pool, the bar, your room. We reserved the pier for dinner one evening - highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kblunsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chabil M, Manager at Chabil Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Ahhh, kblunsky, thank you for this review. You touched on so many of features that have at Chabil Mar to make your stay enjoyable and unique, from the ease of accessing the Village to mingle with the locals to our beautiful grounds. Glad you liked our dining offering, making the entire resort your kingdom so you pick your own special dining location. We sure do hope you will come back and visit with us again someday. We would love to greet and meet you all over again.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

The resort is very clean and the staff was wonderful. The food was very good. I went fishing and the chef cook my fish for our dinner one night. The bartenders were great and they are very friendly. Was not crazy about the village because a lot of places were closed for the off season. Really only went into the village for a half a day, stayed at the property and enjoyed the pools and beach. We did take a trip snorkeling and that was great also. The landscaping is beautiful at Chabil and I would go back in a heart beat. Have dinner on the pier and enjoy the breeze. Overall great accommodations.

Room Tip: Villa 18 was perfect for us. I think all the villas had nice views.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank koneil2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chabil M, Manager at Chabil Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Hello and thank you, koneil2. We are so pleased you enjoyed Chabil Mar. We are glad that you got to take advantage of the great fishing and snorkeling in Belize. Placencia is a very good jumping off location for those experiences as well as the jungle and Maya archaeological sites. Perhaps on your next visit you will blend in a little of those experiences?

Thank you for your feedback regarding the landscaping. That is a personal pleasure of mine about Chabil Mar, given the lush gardens, flowers, variety of tropical shrubs and trees, not to mention the awesome topiaries our garden manager creates.

We do hope to see you again soon. Cheers from Chabil Mar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

A wonderful honeymoon by the beach. Beautiful peaceful and well apportioned. Helpful concierge, staff, and restaurant. Upgraded rooms are spacious and enjoyable. Many options to enjoy yourself on the beach, walking into town, or signing up for a tour

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MrRosenzweig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chabil M, Manager at Chabil Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

MrRosenzweig, we do love our honeymooners at Chabil Mar. Thank you for choosing us and for your wonderful review. Perhaps you can honor us with an anniversary visit? Until then, we wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

We spent four nights here in mid July (myself, husband & adult son). The property is very clean, the landscaping beautiful and the service is terrific.

There is lots to do or you can do nothing at all and just relax and enjoy the palm fringed beach and pools (which is mostly what we did after spending a busy three days in San Ignacio).

Loved having the space of a two bedroom condo and the washer/dryer was very much appreciated. We ate most meals on the property. Food was great and loved having it delivered to our condo, poolside or on the beach. There are kayaks and paddle boards for the use of guests.

Placencia is a low key village which we adored. We took one excursion to Laughing Bird Caye for snorkeling. Highly recommend it if you have the time. The water is clear and the 2 acre island has stunning beaches.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Harley0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chabil M, Manager at Chabil Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you very much for your review, Harley0924. Interestingly, one of our themes about Belize and Chabil Mar is "do it all or do nothing at all". So glad you got to do a little of both. So glad you enjoyed the meals at Chabil Mar. Our chef and staff appreciate that you wrote about that. Yes, Laughing Bird Caye, a National Park, is a very nice island and one of the most popular destinations for visitors to Placencia, among the more than 200 offshore islands of Belize. Did you get a chance to kayak to the Village for lunch? That is great fun too.

We do hope you will come back again soon. Cheers from all of us at Chabil Mar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews