We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning!”
Review of Hotel Atitlan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Atitlan
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This hotel has the most incredible views! It is just beautiful. We stayed two nights in room 223 which had an amazing view of the lake and volcano. The grounds are beautifully maintained and as you walk through the hotel, they have beautiful statues and decorations. We ate the buffet breakfast each morning for about $15, which included an omelet and egg station, and it kept us full until dinner. Internet is free in the lobby and $10 for your entire stay in your room. There is a nature reserve next door where you could spend several hours walking around. Hotel is clean and the staff very professional and pleasant. This hotel spoiled us for others we visited during our week in Guatemala.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celmo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 435 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

Beautiful hotel right by the lake Atitlan, great accommodations and location. Excellent location, outside hustle and bustle of downtown Panajachel. Highly recommend it. Incredible views of the lake and the volcanoes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveToTravelNJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

The gardens here are groomed to perfection, there are birds in aviaries, a pool and jacuzzi, and our room looked out to the lake and volcanoes. Sunset from the bar was sublime in delicate shades of pink and blue. There is a nature reserve up the road as well which we enjoyed and we never did get back to Panajachel after the first visit. It seemed everything we wanted was at the hotel. I got laundry done at the hotel and it was the most expensive of my trip around Central America! The staff in the restaurant were not very attentive and provided slow service but reception was very efficient. I was concerned about the treatment I saw of some stray cats near the restaurant. I hope they were either better tolerated or humanely dealt with, not attacked by the large guard dog on site.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanleeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012 via mobile

You can feel the pride and the love that has been put into Hotel Atitlan over the years. The gardens, rooms and grounds are tended to perfection are a perfect compliment to the incredible scenery. The food is excellent in the restaurant and the doting staff are very professional. We would have liked to stay longer. There is always next time. Thank you for some great memories!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Altstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

If you are a nature lover, please try seating down inside the jacuzzi at sunset with the lake and volcanoes as a view. You will love the sight. Rooms are beautifully decorated, clean, amazing service and a helipad in case you don't want to drive to Atitlan. There are losts of birds on the premises to take pictures and you can organize a boat tour of the lake from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors so you can see the sunset or sunrise from a better position. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ESolorzanoLemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
1.4 km away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
497 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
261 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
222 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
0.2 km away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#9 of 29 in Panajachel
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atitlan

Address: Finca San Buenaventura | Solola Lago de Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range: $233 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Atitlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated by Travel + Leisure; "World's Best Awards 2011".This charming hacienda-style hotel is a formerworking coffee farm situated on the shores of Lake Atitlan, with a picture perfect view of volcanoes San Pedro, Toliman and Atitlan. Highlighting numerous unique Guatemalan traditions with its colorful and vibrant interior, each room is individually decorated with hand-woven fabrics and carpets, handcrafted furniture, paintings and tile floors. All rooms have private balconies and breathtaking views of the lake. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi overlook the entire lake and the hotel's magnificent wedding, tropical and rose gardens. The Botanical Gardens of Hotel Atitlan are a true garden lover's paradise. Bird-watching is a popular pastime within its botanical gardens. Enjoy a cocktail or a refreshing tea from the selection of tea infusions by the fire in the hotel's bar, and dine in an elegant setting where you will savor regional and international cuisine. You can't miss this beautiful Hotel!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atitlan Hotel Panajachel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing